The farmers' market

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

This post is a contribution to the #fiftywords challenge. I'm keeping it going until such time as @miniature-tiger is ready to host it again! The prompt for this one is "spring." Check it out here.

The farmers' market

farmers-market-skeeze.jpg
Image credit: Picture by Skeeze on Pixabay

Brussels sprouts heap next to round green bulbs of kohlrabi. Fat purple and red carrots embarrass their common orange cousins. Colorful peppers spill from hallocks--red and yellow, crinkled and sleek. The farmer’s wife, who held down the fort as he plowed snow all winter, praises the heavens for spring.



Thanks for reading! You know I love your comments and upvotes!

Here are more of my 50-word short stories:

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

This is so nice! Spring time is so delicious. Well done, @jayna!

Oh my! That photograph has me aching for gardening season in Minneapolis. Getting closer... I'm enjoying following your blog and reading your stories :)

Thank you! Oh I know. It takes so long to get to garden season here. I usually plant around Mother’s Day.

Silly me, I was not following you until now! Thanks so much for connecting and reading my blog. I look forward to reciprocating!

I know it can be hard to keep up with so many blogs, so many Steemians... I really do think it will be great to meet some locals in person and actually be able to talk to people who know what Steemit is. I'm introducing friends to it in various ways, bit by bit. But currently the only Steemian I know in real life is my significant other.

Well, That was up-lifting. Thank you, Jayna:)

Thank you, @prydefoltz! I’m ready for some renewal! 😊

Yes bring it on ... please. It is very quite and slow around these parts. Love to have a few more eyes on my blog if you have the time, stop in:) Would be much appreciated.

I will! I’m so glad we have connected and I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts!

I do appreciate you, Jayna:):):)

No, I am not a stalker F Y I.
"Fat purple and red carrots embarrass their common orange cousins." was such a cute line though!

You crack me up. Thank you!

I try :P And you're welcome!

Such vivid imagery! It's a stark contrast to all the white I'm seeing over here. Spring can't come soon enough.

By the way, I had to google "kohlrabi" and "hallocks". 😳

Thanks! Our snow is finally melting here in Minneapolis. Evidently the farmer’s market opens April 1st.

Glad I could introduce you to some new words!

well done! I enjoyed that. You sure do have a way with words. I'l followed you -can't wait to read more of your work.

Thank you for your nice comment! Much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56616.63
ETH 3026.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21