Mystery of the snowbank: A fifty-word short story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Mystery of the snowbank

photo-1513633220151-48d746a2ce7a.jpg
(Image credit: Unsplash photo by Noah Silliman)

Snowflakes fell onto Joanna’s cheeks and eyelashes. She laughed and chucked another snowball.

Lucille threw one back, but Joanna ducked. “Race you!” She ran toward a snowbank. They scrambled to the top, Lucille beating her by a mitten.

As they wrestled for domination, the mound shifted beneath them and groaned.



Thanks for reading!


I'd love to know what you think. My goal was to start out light and happy and shift the mood toward something dark. All good stories have a "shift," but it's really tough to carry it off in 50 words! And that is just one reason why I love this challenge.

To learn more about 50-words....

The most recent #fiftywords prompt post is here: Fifty-word story round-up and fresh prompt.

And here's a post about the awesomeness of this challenge: Fifty-word challenge: FAQs, ideas, motivation and showcase.

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Oh, damn. Jayna goes dark. I like. Love your characterisation in such a short piece.

Thank you, @anikekirsten. I learn so much from you and @negativer! 😀

If only Joanna's threw snowballs into @jayna because irritated with the story is too short .. of course joanna's said my story is still long ...heheh..

Warm greetings from me @jayna

Thank you for your funny comment!

Woo boy...groaning snowbanks are never a good thing.

Sounds like we need a part 2 here as well :)

Ha ha! Maybe. We have been five weeks snow-free here. I can't believe I even went there!

Again a lovely 50-word story. As I was reading I couldn't help but thinking... there must be a twist, this is just to cozy! Loved the ending :)

Thanks so much, @nobyeni! I love twisted endings. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.34