The man in hiding

in #fiction6 years ago

This is a #fiftywords story post on the theme of Crime, based on the weekend prompt by @miniature-tiger. This one definitely stretched my skills! I am not well-versed in crime or crime writing. But I do love this challenge of telling a story within the 50 word limit. In fact, all three of my contributions to this challenge have all been exactly 50 words: Mermaid Dreams, and Time to say goodbye.

The man in hiding


man-152593__340.png
Photo credit: Pixabay

First just burns. That got their attention. They saw a pattern. Then better explosives. People losing fingers, hands. Finally one death, then two. He would make them stop building their futuristic technologies with his Industrial Society and Its Future manifesto. Another death.

They will come for him. They will come.



Thank you for reading. In case you'd like to revisit this period of history, here's my information source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ted_Kaczynski.

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Impactful and impressive use of 50 words. I like it. Clever and intriguing. I get the real sense of a marge bigger story at works here, just from the words you have used here.

Thank you, @naquoya! I love these little challenges. It's so interesting to me to try to create a whole little world or vignette in almost poetic fashion. I'm not a poetry writer in general, so I guess this is as close as I will get!

Well done with the fifty word challenge! We did not know about Ted Kaczynski, so this post has also been educational for us.

Oh, I'm glad you had an opportunity to learn something you didn't know about. Yes, the "Unabomber' had the FBI twisted in knots for years. I remember it pretty well, since I was coming of age through all of that.

Here's a quote from the FBI famous historic cases site: "How do you catch a twisted genius who aspires to be the perfect, anonymous killer—who builds untraceable bombs and delivers them to random targets, who leaves false clues to throw off authorities, who lives like a recluse in the mountains of Montana and tells no one of his secret crimes?"

It was such an enormous relief when they finally tracked him down after almost two decades of letter bombing. In the end, it was his brother who helped to solve the case.

Of course it had to be someone he knew to help catch him. Thanks for the extra info. Love a bit of crime reading.

Wow...you captured the whole story in just 50 words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43