Why I am Thankful to My Struggle with Obesity....

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I have struggled with obesity for a long time, since I was 9 years old to be precise. It was when I was in grade 3 when I realized I was fatter than most kids my age and did not look just as pleasant or attractive as believed by some of my relatives. My friends at that time never really insinuated this in any way and were quite nice, but some relatives I had found fun in humiliating me about my obesity. I wasn't obese at that time just chubby but they enjoyed calling me fat since it was funny for them. I remember being quite conscious about my weight then and when I turned 11, I started trying different ways and regimens to lose weight.

I used to lose a few pounds and then gain them back and this struggle with obesity kept going on for a long time till I started my BBA Hons. It was then that I became truly motivated to lose weight and adopted a healthy lifestyle to achieve the goal and in about 4 months, I lost about 10kgs. I weighed 65kg then and looked quite good. Of course, I had plans to reach 56kg which is the appropriate weight as per my bmi, but I again lost motivation. Well, that's not exactly the topic I am trying to talk about today.

What I am trying to say is that I have had issues with my weight for a long time. However, throughout this time, I prayed silently for some miracle to happen so I never gain more weight ever and I have complained a lot for why I wasn't born skinny. I used to find skinny girls really lucky for they had something I did not- a lean, slender body. So I was never happy that I had this struggle in my life to get to where I wanted to be until now...


Image Source

For the past 3 months, I am feeling more at peace with my body. I am about 20kgs overweight. All the weight I had lost during my bachelors was gained when I conceived my baby and even though I did lose some weight post pregnancy, I gained it again shortly after due to my unhealthy lifestyle. However, with time, I slowly moved on to accepting my body and loving it for what it is. And this has only helped me become more motivated to adopt a healthier lifestyle. I am now quite happy that I had this struggle with weight loss in my life because had this not been the case, I would not have understood many important lessons in life.

I understood that the world is unkind to those who have some sort of complexes and those who don't fit in with the rules and structure set by the society.

I understood that there exist many stereotypes in the society and only a certain type of people are deemed attractive by it. There is less place for the fat, chubby, dark ones here and those going through some other problems.

I understood that to make your place in the world, you need to first accept yourself because your voice is what matters the most to yourself. If you are unkind to yourself, the world will be unkind to you so to get respect from others, respect yourself first.

I Understood the importance of accepting, embracing and loving yourself and being comfortable in your own skin because only when you learn to do that, you find it easier to move towards any sort of improvement.

I also understood the difference between those who genuinely care for you and love you, and those who are with you for some ulterior motive.

I understood how to be kinder to people because the lack of compassion I received me helped me understand that one reason why the world is like that is because people haven't received enough love and compassion from others. Now that I am kinder to others, I draw more kindness towards me.

I understood the importance of loving people for who they are because that's what builds their self-esteem and this lesson is coming in quite handy now that I am raising my own son.

I also understood that to get a good fruit, you need to put in a lot of labor. So to reach any goal in my life, I have to struggle for it and for that I need to be determined.

I also realized that without a compelling reason to do something, it would be difficult to pursue that goal for long.

I have learned all these beautiful and meaningful lessons from my struggle with obesity and it has only shaped me into a somewhat better, forgiving, accepting and kinder person. This is why I am extremely grateful to my struggle with obesity for it as helped me grow better. I hope I am as I choose to believe.

Have you struggled with the same issue or any other? What has your experience been with it? What are your thoughts about this piece? Looking forward to your meaningful contribution as always.

Love and light,

Sharoon.


I am running a writing contest with 5SBD up for grabs for the winner so if any of you would like to participate in it, click on the following link:

Shary's Writing Prompt Contest #4 and Results of Contest #3


Here are some of my articles that may interest you:

Every Once in a While, it is Okay to Slow Down a Little...

What is Matriarchy? What Do You Think a Matriarchal Society would Look Like- @ecotrain QOTW

Reintroducing Myself...

How to Keep Your Eyes on the Goal...

A Discovery I made about Myself with Self-Awareness...

Celebrate the Inner You- Happy Women's Day!

When Things Don't Go as Planned...

After Deep Darkness Comes a Beautiful Dawn...

Stop Listening to People and Focus on Yourself

Listen More, Feel More and Experience More to Become More Aware and Wise...

@ecotrain qotw- What is patriarchy? Is a patriarchy the same as a society led by men, or is it more, a society led by fear and a feeling of scarcity, that happens to be an environment in which the masculine takes charge?

How Positive Stereotypes can Make Life Difficult

Why is it so Hard to Apologize for Your Own Wrongdoings??

Confessions of a People Pleaser...

You are My Funny Valentine <3

To Sleep or Not to Sleep, that is the Question....

Who am I??

One Smile and a Deep Breath to Quickly Fight Stress

Why I am Grateful for My Hardships...

Why Do We Attach Unnecessary Meaning to Everything??

Why is it Okay to Be a Little Selfish, Focus on Your Needs and Communicate them to Loved Ones

Batman & Jesus: Why do we fear debate?

My Scar Stories- Reminders of Many Different Memories


I am a part of the wonderful @ecotrain that aims to make this world a better place so do join it if that's your aim too..


U5dtK1Bwh1JUB4WMQpFBKbgKCufsZiN_1680x8400.png



Appreciator Footer.png
Animated

@thesteemengine

DQmaTqHTyDj5fmWU8Y3aPtfCudt7Qo43q2EQ4h5SBVj8vyQ_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

You are so cool! I love this post, it continues to show what an awesome, deep and kind person you are. We all change what is beloved and approved of with what we approve of and love. It really touched me when you said the fat, chubby dark ones or ones with other issues aren’t accepted. It’s a sad happening that I like to work to shift! All humans have gifts to share with the world and we need to have eyes to see that. Your post is a step in the right direction, as is raising your son in this way ❤️

I understood that to make your place in the world, you need to first accept yourself because your voice is what matters the most to yourself. If you are unkind to yourself, the world will be unkind to you so to get respect from others, respect yourself first.

Well said!! 💙

Cool and wow are like my two most favorite words and amazing too so I can't tell you how happy I got when you called me cool. Hahaha, my little joys :P I am trying to be kinder with each passing day- it is difficult at times but I am working on it because I feel kindness is something we need more of it and hopefully, this will one day help us accept each other more. Thank you soo much for your support and for being a big inspiration in my life.

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

I am so grateful for this kindness. <3

I have upvote you, do not forget to upvote back

interesting blogs and posting follow now have a nice day

This post is so brutal and heart wrenching. While I'm not obese, I understand what being regarded as unattractive does to a person's psyche. I have two beautiful sisters. All my life I was compared to them and found wanting.
It was with age I came to understand that the problem wasn't me but my 'beholders'.
Keep going girl, don't let anyone get you down.
Thanks so much for this.

Aww thank you so much for the kind words and for sharing your input with us. Yeah I have been compared to one of my sisters a lottt too and I have talked about it in a few other posts. I think all of us really pretty in our own ways and I have nice features, but since I am darker and fatter than that sister, I was mostly labelled the ugly duckling lol.

In my youth I was blessed with being "a bad food converter".
I could eat and eat and always stayed at 65 kg at 183 cm.
Now, because of sedentary lifestyle (thank you steemit! 😉), age, sweets, etc., I have gained weight.
When I visited some friends I stepped on their scale and was surprised that I am still just below 80 kg, I thought it would be more, so I still feel blessed, that despite my poor lifestyle choices I am still not too heavy.
But now, with spring coming, I definitely have to hit the gym again and do more cycling.

Oh wow, you are one lucky man!!! I think you lose lots of calories just by being witty and making fun of friends here :P Jokes apart, seriously, you are one lucky man. I have to cut back on all my intake of calorie rich especially fried food and exercise at least 30 minutes 6 days a week to lose weight fast and this is soo difficult to do, but I am trying.

Beautiful post. I wasn't overweight growing up, but had such a distorted body image that I destroyed my health and metabolism by severe dieting until I DID gain a bunch of weight from all the stress of yoyo diets for decades.

I think it is good to be healthy physically, but it is just as important to be emotionally healthy as well. I think it's awesome that you've looked inside yourself and have discovered so much from this journey. I've learned a lot from accepting myself this past year and found that doing things that I KNOW are sustainable (even if it doesn't create the fast results I used to need), is just so much healthier for me in every way.

Great post!

Thank you for sharing your story with me @byn. Yes, you are right, being emotionally stronger and healthier is more important than being physically fit because if you are emotionally stable, physical fitness will come sooner or later (if it is your goal). Thank you so much for the lovely words. You appreciation means a lot to me!

I am really obliged. Thank you so much <3

This is so important, being happy with yourself and accepting who you are, it is not an easy thing to do as we all have our hang ups, but once you do it really does change how others see you. You do inspire people Sharoon, your honesty and gift for reaching out to others is amazing. You have this great way of making others feel just as important as you and that to me is rare. Lots of love xxx

Aishlinn, I think thank you is such a small word in front of all the support and encouragement you show me. I am honestly honored and blown away! xoxo

Honestly speaking, I wasn't too bad before I joined steemit. I was kind and nice, but I wasn't as helpful, as accepting and as unbiased as I am now. The credit for that has to go to Steemit for bringing in such amazing people in my life that have only helped me grow and improve.

I understood how to be kinder to people because the lack of compassion I received me helped me understand that one reason why the world is like that is because people haven't received enough love and compassion from others. Now that I am kinder to others, I draw more kindness towards me.

This is such a great lesson to learn. I too struggle with gaining weight during pregnancy,lost it and now back to gaining because I eat to de-stress. Sometimes I would think why don't I be more disciplined to lose weight or at least get fit and tone those fat into muscles. I can get very discouraged too but then I think back in my younger days when I was too thin, it wasn't like I was happy with myself either. Then I know, it is an issue of my being happy with myself. Still working on that though but your piece here definitely is a great help! Thanks @sharoonyasir :)

This is such a beautiful comment! I wanna hug you. You know, being happy or even at peace with yourself if not too happy is so important because that's when you let go of the labels you put on yourself and accept yourself for who you are. Now if you do not like who you are, you can change it, but you won't do it by criticizing yourself. I am so glad you are working on being happier with yourself. Good luck and love on this journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 60995.33
ETH 3364.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52