The Inbox Runneth Over -- Issue #3 -- a curated list of casual pieces, fun features and other tidbits and treats

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

TIROcover003.png

The Inbox Runneth Over

is a private curation project begun by @enchantedspirit to honor the exceptional posts she finds in her Steemit travels. The content here will feature a good number of posts from The STEEM Engine group in Discord. Their customary post is titled The Daily Whistle Stops.

@enchantedspirit is the curator there, and in that work she finds quite a few posts that are casual, interesting, well-written, helpful or just fun to experience (sometimes writers, sometimes musicians, sometimes artists), but because they are up against such stiff competition that day in submissions to The STEEM Engine they can't be included in The Daily Whistle Stops. They also tend to be short, easy to read, easy to digest ... or maybe they just offer something special.

So, she brings them here and finds them a home -- because they deserve more than just a quiet decline and death ... an experience that is already all too common in Steemit. (I know I don't need to tell you that, but it's true!) Sometimes, there may be outside content, too ... from other intriguing people she follows. Sweet little "feature story" experiences and fun artistic moments of all kinds have their place in life -- and on Steemit, too. Please stop in and visit these guys ... and if you enjoy their work, show them you care.

I ... and they ... thank you more than you'll ever know.

You can find The Daily Whistle Stops at @thesteemengine -- and there is information there and here at the bottom of this post telling you how to apply to join. There is also another curation project run by both @enchantedspirit and @catweasel on his blog. It's called The Magnificent Seven and it, too, features exceptional content we find on our Steemit journey. Each of these projects has its own theme, tone and focus. You will find things in both that are worth your time and effort -- and excellent new people to follow. I offer all these suggestions with pride. I know they will enrich your day.

break1.gif

Note -- there is one exception in our line-up today. All but one post here was written by the awesome content creators in The STEEM Engine group. That one though may not be on his own for long. Awesome content creators are like magnets for me. Once I latch on, I don't let go. If you write -- or draw -- or otherwise produce -- awesome content ... be aware. I am looking for you!!

break1.gif

Serious Stuff

Sadly, a lot of people don't know about the role of the Witnesses on Steemit ... or the people behind them. Some have never voted for Witnesses, and yet that's among the most important things you can do to direct the growth, health and future of Steemit.

@jasonshick is doing a series of interviews to help the Witnesses become better known. The Witnesses themselves may be relatively invisible, but their work certainly isn't. Learn more about another of them here. (And there are links to others inside.)

DQmcqDK4CgjnNErxVRCfMz6r32X9NRbKF7qGCEHCtcTH9Te.jpg

Meet Our Witnesses
@gtg (second round of interviews)

@jasonshick

cws.gif

Delegated steam -- steam you borrow or lease from a wealthier account to give your SP more power -- is an interesting, useful, popular and controversial feature on Steemit.

There has also been a recent rise in the number of people using it. So this post from @pisolutionsmru ponders what he would so with a nice amount of delegated Steem. It's kind of like wondering ... what would you do with an extra $500 ... or $50,000 or $5M dollars.

See what he has to say and give it some thought. You might learn something interesting about yourself and your values.

U5drj8amzkEHaWktFtUfDXrmJy22T6k_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

What will 500 delegated SP help me do?
@pisolutionsmru

cws.gif

Family, Food and Features

I have lived where trees dropped blossoms like this. Now I live where they drop seed pods like this. Sometimes the elm seeds here are so thick it's exactly like snow. Not every year though. I don't understand that part.

DQmWCNteSjBDT2ekEATzDGtDffYQ3kRAgLchAbXeQh4U7gu.jpg

Trees Dropping Yellow Blossoms
Like Snow in Panama -- Tree Tuesday

@apanamamama

cws.gif

When I was little, my parents started with the "marking height on the doorframe" tradition. By the time my younger sister and brother came along, they didn't care any more. Here are some suggestions from @redwellies that can make the job easier and maybe hold your interest. Some pretty nice stuff inside!

DQmZ6gC36Fe3BAt2kzzVuXyLTgpoSYAdCyUprcXZ4zrEBEZ.jpg
Image Source

Baby Keepsake #1:
Wall Growth Charts You'll Love

@redwellies

cws.gif

This is a really sweet idea ... and I'm not even that fond of children. (FIVE of them ... OMG!!!) Look at what @crosheille has put together!!

DQmWH2vbWZHAQUjzJ3UHhpkqfJJG24sfM3dBBByj2kMwkKh_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

Oh the Torture!
Waiting to Find Out the Gender of Our Fifth Child
Our First Gender Reveal Party!

@crosheille

cws.gif

I would garden if I had time. If I actually had a life, I'd do a lot of things. Gardening is just one. Instead I have to live vicariously through @pumpkinsandcats. She makes it easy. (Also she sounds like my kind of woman. I love pumpkins. And cats. A lot.)

U5dqrcuxNbtqxt2wFJ4L13DED2kjT6r_1680x8400.jpg

Peppers and Broadbean Seeds -- Day 1
The Container Garden With PumpkinsandCats

@pumpkinsandcats

cws.gif

So, here's an interesting question. For everyone, actually, not just women. What makes you feel beautiful? Give it some thought. Come up with some answers. Those might surprise you. Srsly.

DQmf9eCWMDHQXeYnW9jZcE5YgVUqXHXv4JrSidUjwtuJMBA_1680x8400.jpg

A Collaborative Message To All Women
What Makes You Feel Beautiful?

@sharoonyasir

cws.gif

Love that lasts is way too rare. @moderndayhippie talks about the real life example of his parents. The story and pictures are sure to warm your heart. What a wonderful experience!

U5duDPcgyvWGWnJDib5iCJd49wAZth2_1680x8400.jpg

Now that's love!
@moderndayhippie

cws.gif

Ok ... I already had "a little talk" with @eaglespirit. I told here to stop posting recipes like this -- because I love to cook and I seriously do not have time for this!!! She said ok. But then she went and put up something about chicken soup. I see I'm going to have to track her down and "talk" a little more sternly. You might want to avert your eyes.

DQmcjHFHhK7SvxofNnHBzJmFrfj5ZPJvj47vGQCk35LuKAP.jpg

Roasted Lamb With Anchovies
@eaglespirit

cws.gif

Travel and Culture

Candy, anyone? Seriously ... all kinds of candy. Some I never even thought of are in this post. (I really should get out more.) I like really fine chocolates. Chocolate-covered cherries ... and marzipan. And I also like salt water taffy. Banana. Also vanilla and strawberry. Sometimes peppermint. And Werther's Originals. Those things are awesome. I don't even like butterscotch ... or caramel. But those things are awesome. Are you listening @catweasel?

DQmTXruzxzdR4TJvfmwfkHbtEgEdwVnZTPGwAm9Jy5czMk9_1680x8400.jpg

Sweet Memories
@watersnake101

cws.gif

Churros. You find them everywhere here in New Mexico. Like @eonwarped, you owe it to yourself to try some. Someday. Don't get raw ones though. Those sound awful. Even sauce won't fix that. Ewwwww.

DQmdR3etQebvaWhVoHf1rwWcsAAK8StdjNuXYHuFY4iyXWa_1680x8400.jpg

Chasing Churros
@eonwarped

cws.gif

I will never take this cruise, so it was great to experience it this way. It could have a place on your Bucket List though. Maybe this post will help you decide.

U5dtZTUgVvNyTaoyMrZWbXNyEuo5j7S_1680x8400.jpg

Shibaozhai Pagoda, Yangtze River
Zhongxian, China

@coldsteem

cws.gif

I talked briefly to @donnymurph last night ... about how much this little "adventure" might have cost him if he'd been in the United States. It's not like India has a monopoly on iffy street food. Keep the Gatorade handy, @donnymurph. If you make a habit of roaming the earth, it could literally save your life.

U5du7orVfLWbAr7w3ukBQh2U1xx3iSy_1680x8400.jpg

Banged up in an Indian hospital!
@donnymurph

cws.gif

Improve Yourself / Improve Your Life

So if you (unlike me) have a life, you might want to improve it. @bitdollar has some suggestions ... about what may become a way of life in the future. See what you think. The idea is sure exciting!!

DQmZtagn7XgoNxG2x8iSHcdT1QsqjfK82dED49DoBjLMgAu.png

Steemit is the Future of Paying People
to Advanced Your Evolution!

@bitdollar

cws.gif

This is the one outlier. The one post in this whole array that isn't from someone already in @thesteemengine group. That's just because I haven't cornered him long enough to make it happen.

He keeps dropping by my posts ... tantalizing me with these little tidbits of his. I finally had to check him out. I really, really, really liked what I found. So here's fair warning @axios. I'm coming for you. That hot breath you feel on the back of your neck? It's mine. Resistance is futile.

DQmSaS7rEpWqVWcS51guj7bmNNz2W8UYX4nDSbuGjKJFcJa.jpg

How To Activate Your Mind's Propulsion Systems
@axios

cws.gif

If you're looking for other quality posts to read,
these are links to other worthwhile curation projects.

  • @catweasel and @enchantedspirit do a project very similar to this one called The Magnificent Seven. It is published every couple of days or so on his blog. There are about 15 of them so far.

  • @mitneb devotes her efforts to The @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report. She focuses on finding newcomers to Steemit whose first language is not English. She finds some interesting people. She also includes some of her own "most interesting articles" at the end of her posts.

  • @ethandsmith is doing podcasts about other pieces he enjoyed from The Steem Engine's membership. Look for ones like this ---> The STEEM Engine Express Episode 3 There are (obviously) two previous ones as I write this.

  • The Daily Whistle Stops -- found at the @thesteemengine account publishes one of the best general audience curation collections on Steemit if I do say so myself. Go ahead, ask me about it. I'll be happy to say it again. There are about 18 posts to enjoy at the moment. The group itself is astonishingly new for the amount of raw talent assembled there. If you create exceptionally fine content and especially if you consider it undervalued, check this out. It could change your whole Steemit adventure!

  • @goldendawne is the head writer for The Daily Qurator. Again, if you're a producer of quality content on Steemit, you might want to join @qurator ... if you haven't already. They make it worth your while and they're a lot easier than I am to get along with.

  • Finally, @shadowspub does the redoubtable grandmother of all curation efforts on Steemit, The Steemit Ramble. You can find plenty of issues from it on her blog. She also hosts a Thursday discord feature (twice every Thursday, so you have a chance to catch at least one) Pimp Your Post Thursday. You can find out more about it also on her blog

break1.gif

The author of this list of curated posts is @enchantedspirit whose mostly metaphysical writing can be found on her own blog. (Whenever she gets a chance to write it!!)

cws.gif

steemengineBanner.png

break1.gif

thealliance_logo.png

break1.gif

enchanted_red.png

break1.gif

Sort:  

as always great work putting all these posts together, and off I go to visit some of the ones I missed seeing

Have a super Saturday

Thank you very much for stopping by. Your support means a lot!

always a pleasure to visit

Oh My I was not expecting this thank you so much for your kind words. Just introducing a new friend to Steemit she will be on here soon and can't believe the community aspect and your comments just proved it.

More gardening posts to come soon just waiting for my seeds to pop!

Yay!! xx

Thank you for the personal mention as well as the call out to @qurator!

Thanks for information.
Good post for thanks

Mmmmm candy.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

@enchantedspirit Wonderful collection again from the STEEM Engine Community! Some I've read and others somehow I missed and will go and read now... Quite a few pieces on food in this issue. Are you sure @catweasel didn't have his hand in this?

Thank you so much @enchantedspirit for featuring my gender reveal post! I’m glad to know you enjoyed it! 😃

Yes five kiddos...there will never be a dull moment in our house!!! 🤪

I can't even imagine the chaos!! I hope you have plenty of bathrooms!! And patience!! That, too!

Oh you don’t want to know. There are many joyous times but very challenging ones mentally and physically. I think they will keep us young longer!! Lol yes fortunately we have three bathrooms and enough patience to survive :)

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.36$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Great post. I have read several of these posts. Thank you for adding me to the list. I am honored.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27