Sweet Memories

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

We all have a sweet tooth and along goes with it memories from the past. The sweets that are embedded in our hearts makes us recall the days when we were young. Going to the nearest store and buying our favorite candies. Here are some of the treats that I used to enjoy when I was young. Surprisingly they still sell it on the market. Who knows better in tasting sweets other than @bearkid. I wanted my daughter to taste the candies from my..............................


Sweet Memories

2.JPG

3.1.JPG

Much to bearkid's surprise we got her a lot of candies for her to do a taste test to see how she reacts. These are the ones we enjoyed back then.

3.JPG

This one is my favorite from China which we have a lot sold locally. From a Chinese fruit made into disks it is a treat which I cannot get enough of.

Haw Flakes

4.JPG

5.JPG

6.JPG

7.JPG

8.JPG

Looks like bearkid did not like it that much. I was telling her that it was my favorite but we all have different tastes.

9.JPG

Next we have White Rabbit also a Chinese candy. This one we found at the grocery and only one pack was left. There are two variants of this candy. One is hard candy with vanilla flavor and the other one is the more expensive soft vanilla candy and wrapped with edible rice wrapping. It was fun to eat a candy along with the wrapper inside.

White Rabbit

10.JPG

11.JPG

12.JPG

13.JPG

She loved this candy and is given a thumbs up from bearkid. In fact she already ate a couple before the shoot even started.

14.JPG

We now have the local candy which is made from milk, chocolate and peanut. Which I recall eating this while watching tv with my cousin.

Hany

15.JPG

16.JPG

17.JPG

Seems like bearkid also enjoyed this one.

18.JPG

We also have a milk candy which is a bit weird for some countries. But this candy brings back a lot of memories from childhood.

19.JPG

20.JPG

21.JPG

A bit too sweet for bearkid it was just an ok for her.

22.JPG

What would hardened Ovaltine powdered chocolate taste like? We have this local milk chocolate that would answer to that.

Lala

23.JPG

24.JPG

25.JPG

26.JPG

Bearkid took a couple of bites and somehow enjoyed it. It was also an ok for her.

27.JPG

Next we have melted chocolate also one of our local candies. This is something you would squeeze out to enjoy the treat.

Choko Choko

28.JPG

29.JPG

30.JPG

31.JPG

We have a thumbs up from bearkid as she loved the texture and the taste of the chocolate.

32.JPG

Need a fresh breath? Why not take a couple of these menthol candies.

Stay Fresh

33.JPG

34.JPG

35.JPG

Bearkid also like the taste of the menthol candy and the tiny size of it packs a breath of fresh air.

36.JPG

We move to a more traditional candy called which is made from tamarind mixed with sugar and salt.

Sampalok Candy

37.JPG

38.JPG

39.JPG

40.JPG

Oh I forgot bearkid is not fond of sour tasting candies. Although it has a sweet variant the one we got was the sour one. Poor bearkid.

41.JPG

This colorful candy is a favorite of a lot of kids. The straw packaging which you would need to squeeze out as you have a bite. This taste sweet and just a bit of sourness which is just right.

Yougart

42.JPG

43.JPG

44.JPG

For bearkid this was a winner and just look at that happy face.

45.JPG

Thanks for joining us in the taste test with @bearkid we hope you enjoyed it and don't forget to brush your teeth.

Life full of sweetness leaves a memory that will last for eternity.

46.JPG


Please vote @steemgigs as witness and help support @surpassinggoogle

Also thanks to @bayanihan where the impossible becomes possible thru unity.

Taken with Lumix GX85 and Sigma 50mm 1.4

Snake new.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 6.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.21
Server time: 16:26:07
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 97.56/100.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 23
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Memories of our childhood!!!
download.jpg
Photo credit to the owner

Hard to find bro

Such great photos! I have never had any of those candies, so I will trust @bearkid 's opinion!

Thanks Melinda. She knows her candies and an expert in munching lol.

Which one was your favorite? And why didnt you save menthols for last :D

Haw flakes is my favorite but @bearkid did not like it. She said it wasn't candy 😂.

OMG so many candies :D I have sugar rush just by looking at them! Would love to try them all...
I like the Bearkid bear jumper!

Haha thank you. I also got a little sore throat as I couldn't help munching on some. We still have a lot left I'm sending over right now lol.

Haha yay! :D

Choko Choko and Sampalok Candy are the ones I recognise as I child. Bearkid is lucky making all these sweet memories :D

Yes Choko Choko is awesome. It was chance for bearkid to make her own sweet memories. Something to bring with her as she grows old.

These look delicious! Can these be found in the US? @ironshield

That I am not sure of but if there are some Filipino specialty store nearby a good chance they sell some of it

Thank you! I'll keep an eye out. That candy looks yummy! @ironshield

Nice pictures! I remember liking haw flakes as a kid. Those seem like they could be healthy too!

Also, how about churros ;)

I love haw flakes calling it oscha when we were kids as the disk shape suggests. Yes churros will still need to look for those.

The next time you want to treat someone to all these wondereful and exotic candies, let me give you my address. I will cheerfully sign for packages. Meanwhile, your post made its way into my new curation project The Inbox Runneth Over. You can find your post showcased at this link. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way.

The-STEEM-Engine

Hey hey lol. We still have alot left and slowly being depleted by the kids and also me lol. Awesome curation project you have thank you. I will have a go thru. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45