Peppers and Broadbean Seeds- Day 1- The Container Garden With PumpkinsandCats

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

As the middle of January approaches, it means it time to start the germination of the pepper seeds, and to sow the Broadbeans.

If you didn’t catch my post about my Container Vegetable Garden Plan yesterday you can view it here

I spent this afternoon creating my logo watercolour painting too for this = D

Peppers

The three pepper plants I have chosen to grow from seed are the Rotoco, Orange Bell and the Sweet Aji.

I always germinate these seeds first to give them a better chance of survival. I use a cotton makeup remover pad to place my seeds on as they hold water well and are nice size too.

First I separate one pad into two, ensuring that the two sides that touch the seeds are the smooth side not fluffy as the tap root will get caught in the fluffy side.

Then I place 2 seeds per makeup pad, I use the top section to squeeze water onto the seeds and then place the top cover on.

Then place into a zip lock bag, leave somewhere warm and dark and check daily until the tap root develops.

I shall let you know when this is.

Broadbeans

My Dads favourite Broad Beans! This year I made my own planter from recycled toilet roll tubes!

Really great to use as part of #livesustainability challenge too!
To create the loo roll planters I cut 4 slices into the bottom of each one and folded the each section like you fold a box.

I always just place my broadbeans straight in potting compost and I have no problems yet so why change!

The potting soil/compost I use is John Innes No1, from a local garden retailer.

I then filled each cardboard pot ¾ full as broadbeans like to have deep roots.

Then simply pop the seeds in, some people say seeds should be placed a certain way. Personally, I just shove them in anyway. Fill to the top with more soil/compost and water.

The great thing about the Loo Roll Plant Pot is that you can transplant the whole thing into the ground or in my case planter. Therefore, there’s less risk of root damage.


The Container Veggie Patch With Pumpkins and Cats

2018 Garden Plan and Overview

Broadbeans and Peppers - My Container Veggie Patch With Pumpkinsandcats

2017 Garden Review

Sort:  

I knew when I saw your name at the gate ... "Well, this one's going to be interesting." I was right. For your excellent work, this post made its way into my new curation project The Inbox Runneth Over. You can find your post showcased at this link. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way.

The-STEEM-Engine

This is awesome, thank you so much. Was so pleased to be selected = D

Nothing happened to the seeds yet but getting there.

I did find to bird eggs today- My latest post and I found out what they were- exciting hour spend investigating!

This was interestign to read my Dad was a great gardener but that is a trait of his I missed or havent developed, Incase I choose to do gardening when I retire this eas interestign to know

Good luck with the growing

Or it lay's undiscovered, you never know.

I can't grow house plants or flowers but Vegetables generally do well = D

Thanks for readind = D

I did try gardening many years ago back in NZ at one stage and didnt do to well but also not to badly for the one season before my I started moving more regular from house to hose and country to country and have had no time to try

Ahhhh yeah its hard when you dont have the time.

You never know you may have time again one day to give it ago if you wanted.

If not more free time to put into something you do enjoy haha

Well when I retire I plan to spend more time for photography but gardening may be good as well

So many more people are using these than the peat pods and such.
Bio-degradable to some degree and love the re-using aspect.

Yeah I've uses those in the past are they the discs that expand a bit?

Also heard of using egg cup cartons too!

I ❤️ Container gardening.

I have basil, and sage indoors.

Oo yeah they smell lovely! I need a herb garden

Interesting article...ya make me feel like a slacker! :D
Keep us posted on how they turn out!

I will do. Just checked the pepper seeds no change as of yet

How nifty! I will have to remember this once we get moved into the new place and it's time to start working on the garden. Great hack info, thank you for sharing.

Thank You! Hooefully spring wont be too long away now!

Right?!?! This cold is no joke this year.

Pretty chilly in Wales too!

Oh snap. I bet it is. I have passed through Wales twice in my life. Coming in and catching the Irish ferry. Got the chance to travel to your side of the world a couple times a few years back. Hold on, I know it's not much, but you might recognize it... this was first land coming into Port of Whales. We were in a rush, ended up missing out last train because of delays but it all panned out.103_0235.JPG103_0236.JPG103_0238.JPG

Is that Holyhead? It looks a bit like Holidaybead but ive never caught the ferry so sure what it looks like out to sea ha ha!!!

Glad you read you been able to enjoy part of our watery green land!

It sure is Holyhead!! That's so cool. Very welcome and I'm glad I did, too. Again, soon, hopefully :)!

This is really brilliant! Never thought that the toilet rolls can be a container for seeds!
Maybe I am going do that for okra later and see what happens.

Right now I only use cup noodles / cherry tomatoes plastic containers to germinate seedlings; but now I think I need to rethink what to plant on a high rise apartment in the future!

upvoted

Hey, Thank you for your comments. Toilet roll, kitchen roll and also wrapping paper tubes can be used =D

I really appreciate the way you went through the steps without waffling. A lot of people feel like they need to write more when they really ought to write a lot less.

Why did you choose cotton instead of kitchen paper for germinating seeds?

Thank You- I find that the kitchen paper doesnt retain the water as well and you end up having to moisten frequently which touching all the time can cause damage and the paper diminishes easily.

The cotton pads hold water much better I find.

I just put them in a sealed plastic bag, so the paper isn’t going anywhere.

Maybe I overwater the paper or just have a weak back boned brand ha ha!

Cute painting +great use of toilet paper rolls. We are itching to get started in the garden again. Still so cold and poor infrastructure for indoor starts in our yurt, just need a solid heated greenhouse 👍

Thank You!

Not long and spring till be here. Best of luck with your garden

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54