What will 500 delegated SP help me do ๐Ÿ˜Ž

in #community โ€ข 7 years ago

Getting 500 SP as delegated for free without investing nothigng but our time is something special. There are Steemians out there who loves the community and wants to grow the support. This is the act of the very generous @suesa who wants to delegate 500 SP to 2 minnows. Do you want to be one of them? Why not check out her post on how to participate here!!!!

Credit: here

How to define a minnow?

First of all, I don't know if I am eligible to be participating in such a contest but it is fun to imagine what we can do having such powers delegated to us. So I want to let my imagination run wild even if I may not be eligible. So let's begin!

The dark side of my experience

I joined Steemit some 6 months back and it has been a roller coaster ride so far. There has been some ups and downs. I have talked with Steemians who were newbie like me and all I can say is that many expected to make quick bucks. 2 months later, half of them disappeared.

Those who survived, thought of Steem as a pump and dump currency and whenever they got the chance, they would remove the Steem to an exchange. Many a time it had got me thinking whether I am doing the right thing or not?

Is the platform worthy of its name or is it just another project doomed to fail and I was too stupid to see the truth. The price of Steem has fluctuated and at one point of time it was well below 1 USD. Still I kept going for reasons that was beyond me. Reasons that don't really need an explanation.

The bright side of my experience

Steemit has given me the anonymity that I lacked on other social media. Here I can be who I want!! Forget the payout! I can write on things that I like, make friends who are like minded people.

There are the Discord and SteemChat which allowed me to interact with other people from all parts of the world. I can write something which will be read by the whole world. I can voice out and find people who think alike. This made me realise that Steemit is more than just a money making platform.

Steemit allows us a legacy that we cannot deny. Whatever we write on the web and specially on the blockchain is here for life and this is where lies the power. We have a chance to leave something for the world. Facebook, Google and other social media may go down and take their database with them. In the blockchain technology, the words stay alive even if a single person has the full blockchain on his/her device and can view all that has ever been written.

The message can stay for eons as there is no single authority that governs it and this is what makes it powerful. Forget the censorship or the flagging. The content is still well present and maybe tomorrow this will be the history we leave back.

The stone people left the message in stones and we will leave the message in digital. The only way for our history to survive is for it to be on the blockchain and it does not belong to anyone as was any cave during the stone age.

There may be other platforms that allow for such anonymity but indeed Steemit offers us rewards for using the platform which is an added bonus and our history to be written.

My current contributions

Apart from writing contents which is liked by fans of such topics, I run a weekly lotto game and I just started a weekly science challenge.

For me, these are ways to engage the community. They may be having a rough week but at the end of the week, they check their wallet and here I was congratulating them on winning something on the platform. This can motivate them to continue further and be even more involved in the community. Understand what Steemit is and provide that extra effort that will make them successful.

I used to write the numbers in the real lotto game in the real world for my dad. It was pleasing to choose numbers and wait to see if we win something. This was fun until I realised that it cost my dad around 10 USD to play the lotto game and I was able to calculate the odds of winning.

I stopped playing the game but he continued as well as the other family members. They believe in the luck which is a good thing but the funds lost could have gone to something else if you account for all the years that we kept losing.

The Steemit Lotto game allows you to play with whatever your SP is worth. There is no lower or upper limit. The Steemian just have to place the bet he/she wants. Whether 0.01 SBD or 10 SBD, it is up to the person. Yet the person is able to participate at the same level as everyone.

The whole world is divided into hierarchy and not everything is available to everyone at the price that the person wants. The world runs on fixed price and this is one of the detrimental factors and not everyone is able to participate in the economy by their own means.

With Steemit, I was able to change that for the lotto game. Now everyone can participate equally by their own means and the rewards distributed equally even if the initial contribution was not equal.

Furthermore, I make a video of the result on YouTube, like here, which in the longer run, will help in promoting Steemit.

I love science and I am a great fan of the work of @lemouth. Through Steemit, he has been able to allow Steemians to visit the LHC which is a very big feat. Likewise, I have started another game to promote Steemit and science in general by hosting a science quiz game which you can find here.

I want to show the community that Steemit is not just for making money but also to share ideas, to learn and to become a greater self than we currently are. Games are making a really good impact on the community and by hosting the science quiz, I am able to engage the community and post the equivalent result in terms of scientific achievements that are real. I just hosted the first edition last week and I hope that it will help to engage the scientific community of Steemit and promote science fans to join Steemit.

What will I do with 500 SP delegation

My first wish to give as many minnows as possible 0.02 SBD so that they can register for the @minnowsupport project. They have allowed many Steemians to stay in the community and it is a project that I would like to support. I want to be able to give that 0.02 SBD to as many minnows as possible and for that I require the funds which a delegation of 500 SP will definitely help.

The 500 SP delegation will allow me to provide higher payouts to the community for my games which will engage even more Steemians and hence help grow the community.

I have developed tools to help me in calculating the results of my game and I want to continue to do so. I want to show that the blockchain has no limits and the extra income will help me dedicate extra time to create more tools.

I want to help other minnows to grow and be motivated. The Steemians I follow are mostly minnows of my time and we helped each other grow. I want to curate more posts from minnows so that they stay motivated but I do not have enough SP to make a considerable impact. The more people joining and staying in the community the more will I be happy as my effort will be paying off.

Lastly, with the 500 delegated SP, I will be getting the feel of what 1000 SP is. This will motivate me to continue to strive even harder to achieve the 1000 SP as soon as possible and place a new target for the end of the year. 500 SP delegation is full of excitement and while feeling excited without receiving it, all I can wonder is how much this will motivate me to give twice to the community than I have actually received.

Conclusion

I may not be eligible but this is one of the best post that I have written about the Steemit community. I am glad that @suesa is able to provide such a motivation to the community and I wish her a lot more success for this year. We all need a boost and when it comes, we are able to unleash the power that is holding it.

I wish all other participants good luck and wish that the ones more in need than me wins it!!!


(created by @readallaboutit)

Sort: ย 

Good luck with this contest! ALways a great feeling to receive SP!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 65%.

There are many details that can be improved. Baby steps!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Its really noble of you to be thinking of helping others grown on steemit, its a motivation to those of us who aspire to reach the level where you are, and it takes work and committment through the bad and good times. I wish you all the best in getting the 500SP. SteemOn!

When I joined, I got helping hands from various Steemians which is really supportive and gives the motivation to continue.

I must be frank with you in that while my level grew, my interaction with those at level 25 decreased and now I am trying to keep up with it to motivate others, like others motivated me :)

I wish you win the 500 SP, thank you for sharing your experience here. I agree with them totally especially this:

Steemit is more than just a money making platform.

You seem to have nice projects here with your lotto game and also by contributing to steemit promotion through Youtube

Good work

Thanks for the great supportive comment :)

Do participate as well. The entry ends on 21st January :)

Nice. I have delegated 500 of my SP to other groups. But it is worth it for the mutual support. It would be nice to get that back on a delegation for a month. Bigger upvotes for my favorite writers.

Indeed this is one of my goals for getting the delegated SP!!!

Motivate even more minnows to continue on the platform :)

During my time at Steemit I have learned a lot and this has changed the way I see things, everything arrives in its moment no matter the time or the place everything depends on the opportunities that may arise and the capacity we have for take advantage of 100%.

We can build a tower of ideas and turn them into reality, if we focus on what we want it sounds like something that only happens in movies but the truth is that in Steemit dreams can come true, with motivation and vision to the future to achieve what we want.

Within Steemit there are endless projects that have great ideas, others that are in full growth as well as some projects with more humanitarian purposes that really leave the name of steemit at the top of the world filling the entire community with pride . These projects generate enough energy in this platform to continue working on innovative projects. This brings a great responsibility, since our most loyal followers are waiting for good content and ideas that can help us grow as a group and we can share this knowledge with the other users that make up the Steemit family. @pisolutionsmru https://steemit.com/steemit/@bigdude/donation-of-school-supplies-to-the-cristina-baptista-school-with-the-support-of-the-steemit-community

Indeed Steemit has endless potentials.

Awesome to see that you are more from the humanitarian side! We need you :)

Only us has the power to use Steemit to its full potential XD

I found this post through @thesteemengine's discord server. The a really great way to help out the minnows. I wish you win the 500 SP, you deserve it. We need people like you here.

Thanks for the great comment!

You can also participate. You have till 21st January to submit your entry :)

Well written, And thanks for sharing, I really need 500 delegated SP, @pisolutionsmru

Thanks for the mention and the advertisement for what I do here :)

I hope you will get it ^^

Thanks for great support!!

Keep steem'in hard XD

Thanks for sharing this with us man. I am going for it too. Quite great read too :) Well Good Luck to all the contestants than :P God Bless. Peace and Love.

Do participate and hope that you are among the winners XD

I did and i hope I win too. My cause it is great. :) as all the others causes . So it is in God's Hands...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45