Now that's love!

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago (edited)

Everyone always dreams of finding that perfect match, that soul mate if you will, but few actually find what they are looking for. Well not my parents! They have been together for over 41 years now! I know it seems like a big deal, but for them it's just Tuesday. lol.

There is no big secret as to why they have made it this long together. They truly love each other! It sounds so basic but I promise you it is not. I have only seen a few people as in love as they are in my lifetime. In a world full of chaos they have found a little piece of heaven right here on earth. Each other.

It's not all too often that people find their "soul mate" in this world, but I think in this case it actually happened. I see how happy they make each other and I wonder why everyone can't find that? And then I realized, they just make it look easy.

My dad always told me that "love isn't easy, it takes lots of work." He said "anyone can get along and love on the good days, its on the bad days that it is so important to show love."
He has always had good advice like that, but as a kid it mostly just went in one ear and out the other. I never realized he was slowly instilling life lessons in me and teaching me how to love properly.

I had the best mom in the world, she was literally everything you could ever want in a mother. Kind, caring, compassionate but still a very strong independent woman who could literally do anything! She taught me so many life lessons I can't begin to name them all! Let's just say I was kind of a momma's boy, and maybe I still am a little bit! lol I'm fine with that.

All I know is I was/am so blessed to have been raised in a family that had so much love. Not many people get to experience that I am truly grateful for it. I was able to see first hand how to properly treat the people you love and care about and that has made my life so much better.

These are my parents, as you can see they still hold hands when they are walking down the street. It just goes to show it is the little things in a marriage that make it work. It's opening the doors, being appreciative, and saying sweet nothings even when you don't have to, but because you want to. Because seeing the person you love happy, is also what makes you happy!

As a child I would often catch my parents kissing in the kitchen while making dinner together which was embarrassing to me at the time. Lol. I unknowingly learned so much from them by their actions, not their words, and let me tell you that is a fantastic way to learn about love. Through a life long experience of being surrounded by it constantly.

Let me take you back for one minute. It all started when my parents were only 16 years old, they were the two high school sweethearts that started dating young, got married young and never gave up on each other. It wasn't easy but they worked through all the bad times together, and only grew stronger together because of it. Now they are both in their 60s and love each other somehow even more!

Now I am, 35 years old, still seeing the same things as I did when I was a child. I see them kissing each other when they think no one is looking, holding hands and even catching them dancing around the game room like they are teenagers again! What a beautiful sight to see.

The way they look at each other shows how much they truly care about one another.

You can actually feel the love when you are near them!

Look at my moms eyes in this picture, you can see in her eyes how truly happy they really are. You can't fake that!

Filled with laughter, joy and love as they twirl around the floor like they have done so many times before. Holding each other like it was their first date all over again.

Now that's what I call love!

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit!"


APP.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

That's really beautiful! Happy 41 years to them! @ironshield

Thanks @ironshield, i appreciate ur kind words.. im sure they will too! 😉
Hope u have a great day.

Well, I see some familiar names in the voting line-up ... so I hope we managed to get this post more of the recognition it deserved. Toward that effort, and for your excellent work, this post made its way into my new curation project The Inbox Runneth Over. You can find your post showcased at this link. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way.

Wow, you are the best! I dont know what i did to get u on my side but im sure glad to have u in my corner. I honestly was getting burnt out on steemit before u found me. I felt like no one appreciated the hard work i put into my posts, i was begining to think i was a bad writer. But now I realize it just wasn't being seen by the right people. Thank you so much for everything you have done for me, I will never forget your kindness. I look forward to a long friendship with u here on steemit..
Truth be told, i kind of see u as a mother figure here on steemit, helping all those lost souls who need help while never asking anything in return. You're truly amazing! You're my own pesrsonal hero on steemit 😉 not all heros wear capes!

Have a wonderful day!

this post is so heartwarming​. am just so blessed to see the love of a couple stand through the test of time. really happy for you as well. thanks for sharing their story. taking on his advice as well - "love isn't easy, it takes lots of work." He said "anyone can get along and love on the good days, its on the bad days that it is so important to show love."

p.s. I like that you have a personal arcade at home ;)

#TheSteemEngine

I'm really glad you enjoyed it. I think its great to spread storys of love like this especially in a day and age where people don't seem to really care about it as much anymore..

My dad is kind of a big kid, he always wanted a game room when we were growing up but couldn't afford it, now at age 60 he finally got to build one.. well its a bar/game room but it is awesome! :)

You're lucky being raised by true loving parents, to each other and to yourself.
Love is hard work.
Love is taught and shown by actions more than words, at least in my world

nice post :D

I totally agree! if you want to know what someone is all about, watch their actions, don't listen to their words ;) Thanks for all the great comments, they are appreciated!
following

Hey, I like your pictures and as you know I love the family perspectives.

I will not tell you"great article" as you know already my opinion in your articles that they are all GREAT without saying so.

I do believe that, we need to do some support for the hardworking persons here in the steemit community to grow up and as you are one of the best people doing this as for example you are supporting the good yoga girl whom really i like to see and read her posts, I ask you my friend, to check the works of this member.

He is a photographer, I do believe he is a good one and he needs more support to be known

please check his blog and if you like what he is doing just give him some support

with respect I remain respecting your decision and I hope you will support him


TEA POT
picture by @tanvirsadatripon


picture by @tanvirsadatripon

I really like that you are trying to support other poeple on steemit! I will definitely check out a fellow photographers page and do my best to help him along. We are all a big team on steemit so don't ever be afraid to ask for anything! I hope you are doing better my friend. I am sorry to hear about the loss of your father, I can't imagine how hard that would be. I hope your heart can heal quickly from this loss, so you can carry on with helping to make this world a better place!
Take care my friend.
going to check out that post now!

friends for ever - thank you

@moderndayhippie
Awww this is awesome.
This was a wonderful read.
My hubby (@beardo) and I are best of friends. We are everywhere together, hold hands, kiss in the kitchen, and scheme together to embarrass our kiddos 😂
It’s rare. We have seen friends of ours go through tragic divorce, one after another.
It is hard. But if you wait for the right one, they are out there. Love is a decision. A minute to minute choice.
Have a blessed day
@jeejee

Wow @jeejee that is so awesome to hear! I know from hearing that u two have what it takes to make it for the long haul 😊
I think u are right, most people dont wait long enough to find the right one, im 35 and i finally think i got her. Take care.
following

Simply beautiful that is indeed true love which is the most powerful thing in the universe. Like your parents we were highschool sweethearts and married for 16 years now. Beautiful thanks for sharing.

Hey congratulations on that! It is really something to be proud of. I wish u many many more wonderful years! :)

Lovely pair, it is not easy to maintain that flame of love in life. It takes commitments from each other. It is as if like both are running a company, without both syncs in the right direction and understanding. It is pretty hard to sustain. Happy to see your parents still that loving :)

I love the analogy! It really expresses how much work it really takes to love someone. But so worth it too!
Thanks for the kind words, they are very much appreciated.

Awwe! 😍 That’s really sweet. Yes, it’s true. It’s really easy to love someone during the good times, but to love someone on bad times us quite challenging. Cheers to more years of your parents being together! Thanks for sharing their sweet and inspiring story.

glad you liked it! I don't see many stories on steemit like this so I thought it would be a great one to do..

Awesome. This great for you to have parents who love each other and keep the fire going.

Thanks, I feel very lucky to have them for parents!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63