Chasing Churros

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171219_185254.jpg

V8_Separator.png

I mentioned in my previous haggling adventure that I would be revisiting the topic of churros, and so I am back again today in Los Cabos to chase churros. Churros are a funny thing because as an American we grew up it was common to get them in carnivals or at the local Costco. Wikipedia says that they originate from Portugal and Spain, and have spread to many places. And they are delicious, so we were determined to chase them while we were here. Either one of us read that it was a specialty here, or it was because we earlier stumbled upon a churro cart and had that image burned into our minds.

IMG_20171219_185305.jpg

That night at the art walk we could not resist any longer and wanted to have them. Here you see a wide variety of people standing in a line for these delicious treats. I was so excited that my body started to feel sugar high from anticipation. I sure have a sweet tooth.

IMG_20171219_184811.jpg

In a closer image, you can see some churros cooling down on display, and towards the right, you can see the yellow machine that takes the dough and squeezes out the long unfried churro tubes into the scalding oil below. Hearing the sounds and watching the sizzling of the oil as it crisped the treat was exactly as satisfying as it sounds.

IMG_20171219_185254.jpg

And here between my oily wrinkly fingers, dangles a lightly sugar-coated, perfectly crispy, chewy, churro glistening in the light of the nearby street lamps. I cannot recall the last time I had such a delicious snack.

The churro cart we had passed by on another occassion in the middle of the day, and it looked rather suspicous. Somehow the night life and the buzz led us to try it out. And I'm glad we did.

V8_Separator.png

A Second Churro Chase

A few days later, we craved churros again. Or maybe it was just me. I certainly craved churros again. After a particularly nice dinner at a local diner of sorts, we knew a place that was on the way home which we knew had churros at night time. It is a place called Guacamayas.

At night this place has a fun lively atmosphere, with live music. We were seated upstairs and ordered some nice drinks and of course churros.

IMG_20171222_201754.jpg

This fellow was from the live band and was singing from table to table, and we snagged a picture with him. My wife is pretending to sing along, but she does not know any Spanish. Very convincing.

IMG_20171222_204832.jpg

So these aren't churros, they are fried bananas. I suppose we went too early, because they were not ready for churros. Must be a late night drunk people food. The waiter was very nice and gave us these on the house while we waited. They were good, but I wanted churros!

IMG_20171222_211259.jpg

And then they came. Strawberry, Caramel, Chocolate I think is what is on these. And actually, they were terribly disappointing. They must have been in a hurry to get them out, because the inside was still a little like uncooked dough, not cooked fully through. If they only had waited a little longer... we weren't in any hurry. So this second churro chasing night ended in complete failure.

Lesson learned. Just go to the churro cart.

Anyway, have you ever had churros before? You must chase them whenever you go to any place with Spanish / Portuguese influence.

V8_Separator.png

Improve Nonstop with the Berserkers
Kickstart Votes and Discover Others on Steemfollower
Hop on The Steem Engine

V8_Separator.png

Sort:  

My first ever churros was of this year. Never tried it in the past. I enjoyed looking at how they make it and the ingredient that they put on the churros super sweet.

I love your wife, she's a breath of fresh air.

I love the churros as well, you might be right about them being "drunk" food. Drunks need a boost late in the night and all that sugar will do it or make you sick trying. To bad your second search ended up a disappointment, I hate when expectations around food aren't met, it is a real let down for sure.

I wonder. Seems the general drunken desire is for fatty oily foods like pizza. The sugar sure helps too though!

Churros in chocolate or vanilla sauce tastes fucking godlike.

Last time I ate them I was a kid.

Your post is perfectly formatted by the way, scouted for imperfections and the only thing I found is kinda obvious, you are not using the new separator, sending it to you in Discord now.

For a minute there I thought they were fried bananas. :-D

Well played. They all got banana filling inside let's say

Ah yes churros I especially love the chocolate dip. Now you are making me hungry.

This post made my mouth water! Food looks so delicious and now I wish I had some bananas at home to fry them and add some chocolate sauce! ^^

Hum. That reminds me I have a lot of spare bananas. I should try this!

I love churros with dulce de leche, they are my favs

Dulce de leche is delicious as well!

dulce de leche in alfajores or torta chilena are actually how I like it the most

The chase is on lets go its amazingly delicious :)

Churros looks tasty and also looks similar to plantain chips with caramel or evaporated milk toppings,lol

I'm starting to think you live way too exciting a life. (I remember having a life once.) I may have to start hanging out with you. I didn't realize until recently you live in New York. That place generates its own excitement. You don't have to walk far to find some. A very different atmosphere from where we live. I'm glad to catch some memories from your posts. This post made its way into my new curation project The Inbox Runneth Over. You can find your post showcased at this link. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way.

Thank you kindly! It is definitely an interesting place to live. I'll check out the post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63