How To Activate Your Mind's Propulsion Systems

in #motivation7 years ago

propulsion1.jpg

Can you imagine the last time you wanted to get the hell away from something?

Maybe it was something that disgusted you (like a rotten egg in your fridge)...

Or something that seriously bothered you (like the screeching of nails on a chalkboard)...

Or maybe it was something that was literally a danger to your health (like hearing gunshots just down the hall)...

...and you had to get the hell out of there ASAP.

Can you think of something like that?

Now imagine a time when you really wanted something.

Something that you KNEW was EXACTLY what you needed.

Something that you KNEW would bring you great pleasure.

Something you were willing to put all your time, focus, and energy upon to achieve.

Can you think of something like that?

Congrats! You've just created the mental framework of a propulsion system!

What is a propulsion system you ask?

It's a motivational strategy for your mind.

propel1.jpg

You see, your mind propels itself with two opposing energies:

"The Push" and "The Pull"

You told me about "The Push" energy when I asked you about something that you wanted to get the hell away from.

It's quite familiar, isn't it?

We've all experienced the push energy.

Maybe you were broke and needed to find a way to pay rent: you were pushed to figure out an alternative way.

Maybe you were failing a class and needed to ace the test to pass: you were pushed to focus on studying.

Maybe you had felt lonely for years: you were pushed to move outside your comfort zone to meet someone new.

books.jpg

It is the pain - the kind that you can no longer stand to live with anyone more - which pushes us into a state of action.

This energy can be extremely useful as it gets us to do things we normally would not have done, had we not been given a little burn on our tush to make it happen.

I know for me, most of the major positive things that I've created for myself in my life, came as a result of this push.

But let us not forget about the second, equally important energy: "The Pull"

The pulling energy is the kind that ties to your heart and slings you forward into the future of your dreams.

desire.jpg

It's that highly desirable future that you absolutely want.

Maybe it's that social platform that you've been looking for to really share your voice on (i.e. Steemit!)

Maybe it's the job that you know is exactly what you need to accelerate your career or entrepreneurial goals.

Maybe it's that guy or girl that you know deep down is the one for you.

Whatever it is, it's something that will clearly bring you much pleasure.

And with that, this energy pulls you toward it.

Twin Forces Working Together Create A Propulsion System

It's one thing to be pushed away from something.

Most of us are pushed before we actually make the decision to change.

Some of us are pulled so strongly by a desire that we are naturally inclined to move on our own.

However, the power of a propulsion system exists when we combine these elements together.

Getting the hell away from pain and moving passionately towards pleasure is how our mind propels itself.

Could you agree with that?

When we combine a push with a pull, we curate a cyclical mental motion that carves out our greatest desires on the canvas of our reality.

carve.jpg

It's a feedback, feedforward looping system.

The feedback provides us with a reason to move away... while simultaneously we feedforward information through the pull of what we truly desire.

Utilizing both mechanisms simultaneously, provides the perfect formula for not only getting up off of our asses, but for directing our motion towards a specific and desirable outcome.

How To Create Your Own Propulsion System

Propulsion systems are easy to create, especially when you know you're ready for a change in your life.

Thankfully, there's always an abundant amount of things to move away from in our lives...

What's something that you'd really like to get away from in your life right now?

Is it a lack of money, a living situation, a relationship, something else?

What is it that is really pushing you to change in your life right now?

away.jpg

Now, can you give me three reasons why you'd want to get away from that thing?

You can just say these things out loud right now.

What's the number one reason you want to get away from this thing?

Okay, now what are the other two reasons for this?

Are there any other reasons why you need to get the hell away from this specific situation in your life right now?

Now, tell me where you want to go.

What does a truly, phenomenal and highly desirable future look like for you?

Let's get specific: what's a compelling outcome that relates specifically to what you're trying to get away from.

In example:

If you said you wanted to get away from your crappy 9-5 full time job, you might be pulled by the idea of being able to work from home, doing work that you love, and getting paid 5x more than your typical salary.

That's an example of a pull... what's pulling you right now?

Got one?

desire2.jpg

Great, now give me your top reason why that specific situation is pulling you?

Okay, can you give me two more reasons why you feel absolutely compelled towards this specific direction?

Are there any other reasons as to why you're being pulled towards this situation?

Great work, you've successfully completed this propulsion system!

The Law of Attraction In Action

You've likely heard of the Law of Attraction before.

If not, it's basically a concept that says, what you focus upon and think about the most, is what you attract into your life.

While I do very much agree with this system of thought, I also believe that motion or movement is a major aspect to manifesting our desires.

abundant.jpg

That motion, interestingly enough, can come directly from the things that we don't like.

This, in turn, actually allows us to see these seemingly bad things as gifts...

Why?

Because they are pushing us forward.

And when we can link that reason to move with an exciting and abundant reason to move, then we've got the Law of Attraction on steroids!

Are You Ready To Move?

If so, really hone in on that thing that you know you need to get away from.

Embrace it. Accept it. Consider that this thing is in your life for a reason.

And when you let it push you, remember to also seek out what is pulling you.

passion led.jpg

Because in the end, you are moving for a reason.

And as my favorite mystical poet (Rumi) says:

What you seek, is seeking you!




Interested in becoming the greatest version of yourself?

Looking for practical tips and strategies to get you there? I produce daily, high-quality content within the realms of empowered psychology. If you're looking for Steemit content that will give you that psycho-spiritual edge, then follow the @axios channel today. You deserve to be your very best!

Ignite-Your-Soul.png

Follow my blog to get more daily content like this!


Featured Posts

This One Question Could Change Everything For You...

quesiton.jpg

BEST OF STEEMIT! + @axios' Bed Head Rant [EP1]

axios me.png

Psychology Of The Future: The Power Of Going Meta

meta.jpg

All photo credits can be found by clicking on the photo

Sort:  

What a great read! I’m pulling all the good I want in my life as I speak and pushing what I don’t want out!

Thank you @artedellavita! Push push pull!

Well, these intriguing titles you would drop in your fabulous comments finally cleared out a spot in my schedule long enough for me to visit. It is a feat managed by few. And I liked what I found. I really, really liked it. So much, your post made its way into my new curation project The Inbox Runneth Over.

It also earned you a couple of nice upvotes from me and a very shady character named @catweasel. (Stay away from him, ok?) I can often persuade him to follow directions. (Ok ... sometimes he will. All right ... occasionally. If I yell at him. Which I did this time. All for you.)

You can find your post showcased at this link. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way. You also have a standing invitation into our writers and artists group, The STEEM engine. You can learn more about us here: The STEEM Engine Initiative

We're actively looking for your kind of talent, if you would like to join us. Mention me when you arrive in the server. It'll help. It could also take a few minutes for someone to greet you if you arrive in off-hours. We can definitely help you boost your success and visibility on Steemit. I don't make these offers to just anyone! (You're welcome!)

The-STEEM-Engine

Woweee!

This was a truly great comment to wake up to! So much so that I had to let it digest in the good ol' heart to truly take in all the happy feelings I've felt flowing through it :)

First off: thank you. I soooo appreciate the recognition and the time you took out of your day to read what I have shared. It really means a lot as I commit many hours to sharing the very best content that I possibly can.

And thank youuuu for sharing that article in your Inbox Runneth Over post! I'm really looking forward to checking out the other author's you have mentioned on there.

Your STEEM Engine Initiative group sounds like something I am looking for! I do still need to do my homework and read all the links that you have shared (which I plan to do so today) but from the vibe you are throwing down here, I'm sure it'll be something I want to be a part of :)

Really looking forward to getting to know you more and understanding more of what you're all about! I will be sure to keep my distance from that shady character you mentioned as well hahaha.

Thanks again and I'll likely see you on the server soon!

Cheers,

~ @axios

Extraordinary write-up. The lush and pull... A lot of us do not understand these principles and we struggle to do a lot of things.

I do know of the law of attraction but never took time to study it's underlying elements.

Thanks for making life much more easy...

Keep posting

I think it's something we naturally do, but obviously it becomes an entirely different thing when we're doing it intentionally.

Glad you enjoyed it @korexe. Thanks for reading and sharing man!

This seems to be the theme of the week! All of my conversations lately have been about the depression, discomfort, dissatisfaction, and total catastrophe that forces us to be honest with ourselves about our true needs, and aids us in drawing out the blueprints for our new world.

I hear you there, definitely been noticing that in my life / community as well. Reinforces the belief that we all truly are in this together.

I really like that Rumi quote! I decided to look up more and there are so many other great ones from him, love it!

Have you never heard of him? He's amazing. Like everything he writes. Amazing.

I haven't actually, is he an author?

He was sufi poet from the late 1200s. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rumi

Well written brother :) from the first paragraph I already thought of "whatever you focus on, expands!" And then you mentioned in towards the end :) and everything can actually trace back to ONE thing...

Questions.

Yep, questions that we ask ourselves is what we will focus on and come up with answers that jusifty that question. So, for instance, if you are having a bad life right now and you ASK yourself the question "why me?" Your fascinating brain will come up with an answer such as "well, it's because you have a shit destiny" resulting you in a bad mood, bad shape, giving up hope, etc.

So, we should always focus on the right QUESTION.

Thank you for sharing this with us man!

Winny out...for now ;)

Exactly! I wrote about the linguistic value of questions just the other day as well. Questions are super important and being conscious about which ones we ask can make a huge difference. I wouldn't normally want to focus on things I want to get away from but in this instance and intention, it makes a lot more sense to do so.

Thanks for stopping by and reading Winny. Appreciate you man!

To summarize all of it, we should ALWAYS focus on the positive. It doesn't matter it'd be words, phrases, questions, goals because they have a huge impact on the way we act, think, behave and much more!

You are welcome man! I love psychology as well ;)

Winny out...for now ;)

True dat! We move by thinking. To move positively, we must think in such a way. Cheers bro!

Do you also make videos? If yes, have you heard of dtube?

Winny out...for now ;)

I do! I'll be creating more in the future. Right now I'm focused on figuring out how to operate sustainably on here. Shoot me your d.tube channel link when you have a moment. Here's mine:

I'm actually in the group dtubedaily so we all make at least one video everyday on dtube. If you ever decide to make a video daily on dtube then tell me and I'll invite you to the group ;)

Winny out...for now ;)

Solid man, will do! I'll likely be on my video game very shortly. I will hit you up then brother - thanks for the heads up!

Okej, how amazing can you be! I know lots about law, but I hope I'll be this good one day! I am so happy that I have an opportunity to learn from you! :)
Do you have any idea, which book 'd be good to learn more?
Of course, besides your incredible posts :D

Thank you @dreamdiary :). A really powerful book to read is "Winning The Inner Game" by L. Michael Hall. He's actually created a book on propulsion systems as well, but I'd recommend reading this book first as a primer, as it can get a bit confusing if you don't understand the core philosophy and practice up front. Either way, you'll learn about these concepts in that book!

Thank you, I'll read it, I think these concepts are amazing and I need to learn more :) Thank you for inspiring me to do more every single day. :)

extraordinary write up i love the write up it is very educative and interesting

Thanks for the post mate, I've read about the law of attraction before but not about this extra stuff, you were very detailed and made it simple to understand :D sometimes I read posts on here and it seems very interesting but a little confusing haha

This was brilliant. I write about such stuff myself so I enjoyed this a lot, but what made this really amazing was how you wrote the entire piece. It was like I was in a therapy session and my therapist was conversing with me. It was really engaging and equally inspiring too. I know I'll be dropping in by quite often now to get hands on some amazing stuff. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45