Roasted Lamb With Anchovies

in #foodphotography7 years ago (edited)

unnamed-25.jpg

I bought this New Zealand lamb leg, so I tried a new recipe. If you like anchovies this might just be the dish for you.

Step 1

Purchase a good quality piece of lamb, this one came from New Zealand, I found out after doing further research that USA lamb tastes better, I have never thought about that but I will definitely try USA lamb next time. The cost of this lamb was $31.00 USD.

Step 2

Cut 2" holes throughout the lamb.

Step 3

Create the anchovy paste with a 2 oz. bottle of anchovies, 6 cloves of garlic, and 2 Tbs. of Rosemary. If you do not like anchovies, this can be substituted by 3 Tbs. of Dijon mustard or a mix of both.

I used my handy dandy Cuisinart small blender to make the paste. The least amount of work I have to do the better.

unnamed-13.jpg

The paste will look like this when it is done. Now it is time to insert the anchovy paste inside the 2" holes we previously made into the lamb.

unnamed-14.jpg

Step 4

With the leftover Rosemary, mix that into 4 ounces of grass-fed unsalted butter. Baste the entire lamb with this mix.

unnamed-15.jpg

The lamb should look like this when the two mixes have been done. Place the lamb in a baking dish, or you can use a Dutch oven like I do.

unnamed-16.jpg

Step 5

Place the lamb in the oven at 450 degrees for 15 minutes, and set your timer. After the 15 minutes has passed decrease the temperature to 350 degrees for one hour. Do not do what I did, and do not forget the lemon! Squeeze half on one side other side. After one hour has passed the lamb is cooked, tender, and ready to eat.

unnamed-19.jpg

Bon Appétit my Lovelies!


All photos are the property of @eaglespirit, do not copy without permission.

Sort:  

That does look really good - even if I'm not 100% sold on the anchovies. ^_^

Perhaps some pesto sauce would have had a similar and more complimentary kick.

As for lamb... the best I've ever sampled would have been Irish - but lamb is just a great meat.

Thank you for sharing. ^_^

@pathforger how are you? I’ve missed you! I wasn’t sold either and instead of anchovies you can use Dijon mustard 3 Tbs. Pesto! lol that’s funny, but I do love Pesto too. Nice Irish butt!

Thank you for stopping by. xx 🦅

Hey there @eaglespirit :c) I am doing pretty well thank you. ^_^

Yes, I know that I haven't posted in a few days - I am actually in various stages of writing three posts - one of which is very important - so I'm sure I'll post later today. :cP

Mustard does sound like a good substitute. ^_^

Have a great day!

I guess I just haven’t seen you around for a minute. Missed ya. I can’t wait to read your posts! xx 🦅

THIS IS A DISH i COULD SERVE UP! Lamb is a great meat to consume; especially since we are more conscience of our intake with my husband's cholesterol lowering needs.

NOt sure about the anchovies though... are they a high sodium content?

@goldendawne hi my lady! You can substitute anchovies with 3 Tbs. Dijon mustard or a mix of the two. I looked up the sodium and for the small jar I bought it would be 1,040 mg and the roast feeds at least 6. I updated the recipe to reflect the other option.. :) Thank you for stopping by! xx🦅

I'm starting to think you have too much talent. There is such a thing you know. People who can do great photography. And then they can write well, too. And then they decide to do something like this with their cooking.

After a while, it looks like you're just showing off. It could generate a lot of envy. I could get a complex. Do you really want to be responsible for that? Anyway, if it doesn't bother your conscience too much, your post made its way into my new curation project The Inbox Runneth Over.

You can find your post showcased at this link. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way.

The-STEEM-Engine

P.S. It does look really delicious.

Yay Steem Engine, how I love to see you posting comment on my blogs! Just seeing your little train makes me so very happy.
Hee Hee regarding talent, now I think I may blush a little but you know the truth about us Leo’s we can’t get enough compliments. Sad, it’s truly sad. LOL
Companions interesting. 🤣🤣🤣
Love you all to death, at least near death. xx 🦅

I love lamb and am very partial to it, I guess its a matter of preference but I think New Zealand Lamb is the best lamb by far, but if you do not like the natural taste of Lamb and uuse a lot of seasoning USA lamb may actually soak up the flavor more

I use very little seasoning when I cook lamb myself and perhaps thats why I prefer NZ lamd

not saying your right or I am right or anything like that just each and everyone of us has unique tastes

@tattoodjay I would have thought so too regarding NZ Lamb. Ah that makes sense as far as USA lamb soaking up flavor more.
I have not tried making US lamb so thanks for the tip.
It was something I read but not experimented with, yet. xx🦅

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 6.00 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.20
Server time: 04:00:59
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 200.81/400.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 35
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It certainly look delicious there. Is it a New Zealand traditional food?

Maybe? I'm in the US, and I know I love lamb. I usually have it at an Italian or Greek restaurant with the red sauce so this was very new. xx

I don't do anchovies. But it looks tasty.

I mashed them up @coldsteem, you won't taste it although the smell was pretty bad if you ask me. It was a new experience and overall it was very healthy. xx

I love anchovies so as soon as i saw the title, cant help but to click in. Have bookmarked it for future use. thank u for sharing.

Yay! It really is an interesting smell, I bought organic non gmo fresh so it was potent. LoL
Thank you for stopping by. xx 🦅

Okay, this looks really good... and I can almost eat the whole thing.

Yay! @zord189 thank you for your appetite. Wish I could share there was enough for 6 people at least. xx🦅

doesn't the anchovies give a bit of fishy taste into it? I nvr try it before so i cant imagine the combination. time to try out a new recipe then

Hi @asianetwork, it’s an indescribable taste but it doesn’t taste fishy. If I did this again I would use part anchovy and part Dijon mustard. It can be 3 Tbs. of Dijon mustard without the anchovies. Thank you for stopping by. xx 🦅

i see, thanks for explaining =) Really really appreciate it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55