Meet Our Witnesses - @gtg (second round of interviews)

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

As Steemians who want to see this platform continue to grow and flourish along with the steem token, I feel it is our duty to elect witnesses who will not only serve as master nodes but also add to the development of the Seem/Steemit environment. Most people are able to run a node with a little but of research and the proper equipment, but Witnesses vying for the top spot on the steemit network are rewarded for there position and should be doing more for the community. We all have 30 votes to cast for the witnesses of our choice and these are the 30 most important up votes you will ever make on this platform. Witnesses are the leaders in this community and thus it is of paramount importance that we due our due diligence before casting our votes.

Until recently I had barely used my witness votes and I felt it was time to change that. I didn't know many of the Steem Witnesses and hadn't put in enough effort getting to know the people who keep this platform running. The first thing I decided to do (which I should have done months ago) was read through all the Steemit FAQ pages to get a better understanding of how our ecosystem functions. After that I headed over to Steemd to check out the top 100 witnesses and what they've been doing on the platform. I highly recommend doing those two things right now, if you haven't already done so.

This is the second group of interviews that I have conducted with some of our witnesses. If you are interested in reading more of what some of our other top witnesses had to say, head over to my page @jasonshick and check them out. This second round of interviews will include (hopefully) interviews with @gtg, @aggroed, @austibank, @anyx, @drakos, @curie, @btcnews, @utopian-io, @lukestokes and @netuoso. If you have any other suggestions as to witnesses you would like to see interviewed, please leave a reply in the comments.

Now, let's get to today's witness; @gtg, (Gandalf the Grey)

Currently sitting as our #2 witness is the white wizard himself, Gandalf The Grey @gtg. Sticking to the wizardly theme, @gtg is a kind of mysterious steem wizard, there isn't a whole lot of information out there about his true identity (Although his mom calls him Gandalf as well).

From what I have found, he is a jack of all trades, helping out wherever he is needed in the community. He runs a node for the steem chain, helping things run smoothly for us, the users. He is an avid support of @steemstem, which is a collaborative effort to promote Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. If you are interested in any of these topics, or have something great to contribute you should definitely go check out @steemstem's page. Besides supporting this worthwhile cause, he has recently started flagging those abusing the platform and attempting to take advantage of the reward pool. This is a noble cause as it helps all of us get the payouts we deserve.

Lastly, I want to touch on something he does, but it's something that we all have the capability to do. That is, promoting and requesting that steem be added to more and more exchanges. Currently steem is on 4 major exchanges, but Poloniex has be having major troubles processing transactions. The biggest and most notable exchange is Bittrex. Korbit is a Korean exchange that offers the BTC-STEEM pair, however only market orders are available. If we could each lobby a few other exchanges in attempt to get steem listed, we would be helping spread the word and in the long run, helping ourselves.

I had the chance to speak with @gtg a while back, very reasonable and easy to talk to guy, he is a great member of our community and a solid pillar for the Steem blockchain. The following is a full transcript of our interview. Hope you enjoy it.

DQmToJe24EdH9y1mSnRirZj13R9S6SmGnvNni2cCa4m1AuA_1680x8400.png

  • If there was a worldwide internet and cellular blackout for a week, what would you do for those 7 days?

Sounds like a vacation or... the end of the world. So unless it's the latter, in which case I would be dead (thanks to Trump's, Putin's, or Jong Un's toys), I would do whatever I usually do on vacation: witnessing.

  • Where is the best place in the world you have ever been?

Home, sweet home.

Of course, there are a lot of awesome places around the world, but I don’t think I can name only one. I visited one of such places this year: Bagan, an ancient city located in the Mandalay Region of Myanmar.

  • In 5 sentences or less, tell steemians why you deserve their vote.

I’m doing my best to be of use for the platform, and I continue to learn how to do that even better.
Also, they can read what I do for the platform in my witness updates, and if they still have any doubts, they can contact me on steemit.chat.

  • With so many other tools and sites having been created for the steemit user, if you had to pick one, which would be the most useful for a new steemian to use?

https://steemd.com It gives a sneak peek under the steem's hood and makes people more curious about the platform and about how it works.

  • Do you have any phobias or fears?

Yes, I'm afraid of idiots, especially idiots whose reckless decisions may affect our lives. I mean not only pressing the button and ending the world but also drunk driving and so on.

  • When and why did you first get involved with steem?

It was June/July 2016 and I was just curious about that emerging platform.

  • What is the biggest mistake new users make when joining steemit?

They think that they are joining steemit. They are joining something bigger than that: The Steem Platform.

  • What do you think is the most attractive thing about steem and steemit?

Community. No other cryptocurrency project can compete with that.

DQmToJe24EdH9y1mSnRirZj13R9S6SmGnvNni2cCa4m1AuA_1680x8400.png

I got a great kick out of @gtg's phobia, I think that's a phobia I wouldn't mind having myself. He also brings up a great point in the last question. Many new users come to Steemit and think they are just joining steemit. A better way to think of steemit is as a 3rd party user interface that allows you to connect to the Steem blockchain. There are several other front ends out there, it just so happens that steemit is the most widely used.

This is part 11 of the series "Meet Our Witnesses", You can read the interviews with @rival, @good-karma, @someguy123, @liondani, @patrice, @jerrybanfield, @kyle, @pharesim @reggaemuffin and @timcliff by clicking the links:

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jasonshick/meet-our-witnesses-rival

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jasonshick/meet-our-witnesses-good-karma

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jasonshick/meet-our-witnesses-someguy123

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jasonshick/meet-our-witnesses-liondani

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jasonshick/meet-our-witnesses-patrice

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jasonshick/meet-our-witnesses-jerrybanfield

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jasonshick/meet-our-witnesses-kyle

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jasonshick/meeting-our-witnesses-pharesim

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jasonshick/meet-our-witnesses-reggaemuffin

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jasonshick/meet-our-witnesses-timcliff

Make sure you follow along to this series as we get to know many of the leaders in the Steemit community and show some appreciation for everything they do. Thanks for reading and check back soon.

username gif.gif

Sort:  

I know you don't need my help, but your series of interviews with Steemit Witnesses is too valuable not to circulate to whatever audience reads my stuff. So I resteemed it and stuck it at the head of the line on my latest curation post ... where I hope a few more people will get a chance to see it. That said, your post made its way into my new curation project The Inbox Runneth Over. You can find your post showcased at this link. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way.

The-STEEM-Engine

Any and all help I can get is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your kind words. The future of Steem depends on all of our actions and it is important for average users to realize that they too can influence the community by using their witness votes to nominate those who will work hard to help the platform grow

Somehow I've missed every post in this series until this one. I suppose I've been so busy with other projects on the platform that I haven't even noticed this fantastic series.

Of course, I do have a thing for interview post series myself, but I think promoting witnesses and encouraging Steemians to do research surrounding witnesses is a fantastic initiative. I'm going to go back and check out the previous posts in this series, and I only regret that I won't be able to vote on all of them.

Be sure to drop me a link when you post the next one!

Keep up the good work. It's good to hear about the hard-working Steem witnesses who keep everything running smoothly. I actively check Steemian for info about which witnesses are performing well and which ones aren't, so I encourage you and your readers to do the same.

Until next time!

Cheers for the support. I also think choosing good witnesses is of paramount importance. A lot of steemians don't really know much about witnesses so I am trying to shed a little more light on the topic and create a connection with some of our top leaders

You and @Fknmayhem should have a chat. He and I discussed witness promotion in a DM not long ago. Also, if you didn't get a chance to read my latest Steemian Spotlight, @GMuxx has just launched a witness, and I think he's definitely worthy of support. He's active rank 92 right now, but his witness hasn't missed a block, which is what we need more of.

Thanks again for shedding light on this issue through your post series. I'm looking forward to more in the future.

Cheers for the heads up, will contact both of these fellow steemians

Now THIS is a valuable contribution to the steemit platform, a nice piece of qualitative research to get behind the people behind the platform, so to speak.

I don't personally get many of @gtg's posts, bit too techy for me, but I've had a bit of interaction with him and he does seem like a thoroughly decent sort of bloke.

He's got my vote, actually among most of the others on your list - I've tended to go for techy people behind the platform.

Thanks for the work... I'm afraid of idiots too.

Yeah some of the stuff he talks about in his posts are over my head as well. But he is a strong pillar in the community and we need guys like him to help the platform run smoothly.

Yup, gotta support the good guys!

@jasonshick,
Wow that would a great interview! Great idea to do this one! So we can get an idea about our witnesses very well!

Cheers~

He's a great guy and deserves some recognition. he is very active behind the scenes and deserves our thanks

What a great little interview and fantastic points made. People should be aware, educated, and active in their community. Applies IRL and here. I have been telling folks the same thing, there is something actually behind Steem. A lot actually, and inevitably, in my opinion, continue to grow. I have made a few votes, but need to be more diligent on that project. I suppose I research them as I run into them. Great share, thank you. I will have to go familiarize myself with Mr.Gandalf.

https://steemit.com/indonesia/@dilimunanzar/memperkenalkan-para-saksi-gtg-putaran-kedua-wawancara

Indonesian version done, sister how are you? there is was longtime no see the witness interview update, hopefully you all is well and steem on forever, Greeting from Indonesia :)

Thank you so much for your article, so useful for steemian in my country, wish you all the best.

Great job, thank you for translating this to indonesian.

Please call me brother from now on, as I am a man, not a woman. Hope you're doing well

My pleasure brother, I saw the picture sorry My bad brother, he he he

Thank you for Amazing article and has gift me permission to translate article.

I need to revisit my witness votes as well. I only have voted a couple. Gtg is one of them.

Definitely important that we have our say in who are the leaders of our platform

Really a nice post bro..thank you for sharing with us..@jasonshick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45