Baby Keepsake #1: 👶🏼 Wall Growth Charts You'll Love 👶🏼

in #parenting7 years ago

Baby Keepsake #1: Wall Growth Charts You'll Love

Those of you with children or even you yourself will remember being asked to stand against a door frame or wall so that your parents or grandparents can chart your progress. How tall you’re getting and marvel at “how much you’ve grown.”

What happened then to these marks when you moved? Did you remove the frame and take it with you? You may think that’s a preposterous idea, however I know personally of one case where they did just that 😳 Did you transcribe the marks onto paper only to remark them on a frame at the new house?

fHBjkLqRmS._UX970_TTW__.jpg

Source


We have recently moved to a new home and with a new baby, I set about looking for options to make this wonderful tradition less trouble and more transferable should you move.


In my research, the current and esthetically pleasing trend is in oversized rulers for a growth chart with many options available. Here are some of my favorites.


Wooden Personalized on Etsy:

il_570xN.1181092350_51jm.jpg

Source

I love the look and feel of this giant, oversized ruler. Available with black or white markings and can be personalized with your child’s or family name if you have more than one child. Made from solid wood with a rustic stain, simply secure to a wall.

Size: 72"[L] by 8"[W]

Price: $39.99 - $49.99

Delivery: 2 weeks, approx. $25


Wooden Schoolhouse on Amazon:

71rrCvOCORL._SL1500_.jpg

Source

Another wooden ruler option is this one on Amazon. Made from naked birch, it has the look and feel of a schoolhouse ruler with traditional clean lines. Simply write on it with a Sharpie marker. And if you’re a Prime member, free shipping!

Size: 58”[L] x 5.75”[W]

Price: $49.97

Delivery: Free with Prime


DIY Wooden Ruler:

81CCLaLMptL._SL1500_.jpg

Source

Love the look of the above rulers but want to try your hand at DIY. The decals can be purchased here and come in a variety of colors. A quick trip to the local hardware store for wood and stain and you’re ready to go. Some great instructions can be found here.

Price: $13.79 for decal only

Delivery: Free with Prime


Canvas Hanging Ruler on Amazon:

51K+z3QpPOL.jpg

Source

This hanging chart on Amazon has the look and feel of the wooden ruler but with a contemporary twist. And this is the one that we ultimately chose. Made from canvas and wood and hung with a rope, it was perfect for our needs and available space.

We used a picture hanger to tether it at the top and then hubby screwed it into the wall at the bottom to keep it secure. As it didn’t lay completely flat at the edges, we added eight 3M Command Poster Hanging Strips to smooth out the edges. Don’t forget to hang it 1.96" off the ground for accuracy!

We had each of our kids choose a different colored Sharpie to track their growth.

I also sealed the unfinished wood at the top and bottom with beeswax to help protect it prior to hanging.

Size: 79'' [L] x 7.9''[W]

Price: $10.99

Delivery: Free with Prime


Here’s what it looks like, hanging outside the children’s rooms.

Chart.png
The girls are almost the same height, followed by the boys and Freyja bring up the rear 😊


Children love to see how much they’ve grown each month, and you’ll love this special keepsake.

Cate .png


red wellies gif.gif

Original content by @redwellies


DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png


Sort:  

My kid is 12. He still loves when we check his progress. We have been doing this from year 1.

I can say this is a very special family moment. With this amazing articles, this moment could be even more special. :)

Thank you!

That's so wonderful to hear :) I know how that goes, our oldest is 17 and on the chart, with the baby only being 3 month... we'll be marking their progress on there for years to come. 😊

@redwellies, thanks for sharing some great ideas. With 5 kiddos we have had a variety of measuring systems.

Since we have transitioned back to the US, we have not set up a bew system. Thanks for the reminder to do so.

You're welcome! I'd love to see what you settle on and congrats on the 5 kids... Us too :) 3 months - 17 years :)

Mine are 3 years to 10 years :)

Nice! You're super busy then lol

haha this is one of the things I've never thought about before.
I'm not planning to have children in the next 5 years so ..
But if I do, I would pic the wooden one and I'll make some climbing wall steps for my child to cheat the rulers 😁

Ha! I love that you're planning so far ahead :) Adding steps or even wall climbing grips would be super cool for when they're older!

😁😁
they would love me for it I know

They would... not sure about your wife though lol

😁😁😁

I think these things are a great idea. Moving home and losing these keepsakes can be heart breaking.

Thank you! Yes it would be heart breaking to have to leave them even if you copy them to paper and recreate at the new house... Not quite the same :)

This is a really cool idea. My house was one of the ones where we just marked it on the frame. I'm torn between the authenticity of the darker wooden ruler, and the portability of the hanging banner style... Thank you for the ideas.

Yes, I was really torn too... I think if we'd wanted to put it in a more prominent location then I'd have gone with the dark wood one too, or even dare I say it, make one lol :)

No, I agree, make one.

So I enjoyed this post ... if only for the chance to see actual clean rooms (and white carpet!!) Who ARE these people? How do they have time to live like this? I don't see "fiction" or "fantasy" tagged anywhere in here. Even so, your post made its way into my new curation project The Inbox Runneth Over. You can find your post showcased at this link. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way.

The-STEEM-Engine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.43
ETH 2458.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47