Soap Box in the Forest - The Book

in #book7 years ago (edited)

My goal for steemit was to get my first book published here, as well as two more that I had in my head, and to accomplish that goal within the first 100 days.  Soap Box in the Forest is a compilation of our experiences moving off the grid and lessons learned.  While it is not in a book format, I decided to go through my blog and tag the posts so that people can have the information in one location.  I will update this list as I post more blogs in the future.  In the mean time, I hope you enjoy my second book 'Soap Box in the Forest', even though it is yet unfinished.  

If you are interested, my first book 'Graduating Life with Honours' has also been published here on steemit as well and you can access that book through this link. If you are interested in online interviews that I have done, there is a list here that you can click on to listen to the recordings.

If you want an excellent introduction into how to UNPLUG from the grid, I did hold a few classes and it was all recorded.  There is a 6 hour video to introduce to you the concepts that I share in my book 'Soap Box in the Forest'.  If you are just getting started, this is an excellent resource to review before you jump in with both feet.

I also did my most recent interview on live community radio in California.  It was recorded so that you can listen to it here as well.  It fits in very well with my book 'Graduating Life with Honours' and 'Soap Box in the Forest'.  I hope you enjoy the interview as much as I enjoyed making it.  

My next book is called UNGRIP, the same name as the film, which will cover the more technical and legal aspects of the work that we have done to remove ourselves from 'The Grid'.  Please watch UNGRIP and my UNPLUG seminar (above) to get a better grasp of what we are doing.  

Soap Box in the Forest

Introduction and Covering the Basics

An invitation to UNGRIP and return to the land in peace, freedom, prosperity, joy and love
We Are The Land - A Spirit centric relationship with our bodies
Top 6 lessons we learned when moving off the grid and what we would do differently!
The numbers show how much of an impact off-grid living can have!
Moving off grid?  Here is a checklist to help you get started!
When moving off grid, invest in knowledge, health and relationships for the long term!
Rebuilding the multi-generational family and clan network

The Land

A brief tour of the land we steward
Pulling stumps
Evaluating trees to find the sick or dying
Finding fire wood during the winter and some basic wood lot management we utilize

Shelter

Wood stoves
Home made furniture
Our Tiny Home Build
Living off-grid has it's luxury too:  Hot Tubs!
Earthships - pending

Solar Systems

Getting ready for your new solar system

Food, Gardens & Greenhouse

Pineapples, earthships and northern boreal forest
Our weapon for peace and prosperity?  Seeds!
DIY Solar food dehydrator & smoke house
Food for a year to feed a family of 4
Hand Thrashing seeds
Fixing the nutrient cycle
Firing up the smoke house today

Water

Off-Grid water management

Waste 

Treating gray water with duck weed aka pond scum
Waste - Reduce, Reuse, Recycle
One mans waste is another mans treasure
Humanure
Got wood ash and don't know what to do with it?  Let me count the ways ...

Animals 

Thermal Mass stock tank heater
Off grid goats
Tilling the garden with pigs
Fermentation of chicken feed to save costs and improve uptake of nutrients for the birds
Keeping off-grid laying hens at -40C/-40F

Education

Off-grid Homeschooling

Health Care

Dealing with off-grid emergencies and how to prepare
Off Grid Health Care

Other thoughts to contemplate

Five phases of Relationship Reconciliation
Boundaries - exploring both sides of the fence
Living on Natural Time
Is off-grid living really as great as people say it is?
Learning how to make spirit centric decisions
We are ALL being called to lead by example
Two funny but pointed news articles I wrote a few months back.  I hope you enjoy them for Christmas.
Dealing with extreme cold when living off-grid
Our journey off-grid required solutions from our elders
Some often overlooked but simple lessons that can make a huge difference when living off grid
The spirit of the four legged nation spoke to me this fall
Winter is a good test - here are a couple more lessons - sled and power cables!
The story on how I got my spirit name - White Walking Feather
Protocols of respect and honour
How we define wealth and success makes all the difference
Protecting that which is sacred
Our first storm of the season - Off Grid interactions with old man winter
A Good Death
When our needs are met, then we can be of service to others

If there are other topics that I have not covered and you are interested in, please let me know and I will add to this list.  I hope you enjoy the book as it is jam packed with dozens upon dozens of articles of how we live off the land.  I hope you find what you are looking for in this book.

Sort:  

This is so great I'm bookmarking this encyclopedia of FREEDOM!!

Have you heard of steemshelves.com? Authors use it to catalogue their works.

No, I've not heard of it. I will check it out. thank you.

I just looked into it. They charge 2SBD per link and it is for fiction only. So I'll just do this. It works and can still be shared. thanks for the lead though. Good to know it is there.

Oooh ouch! I didn't know that...haha! Thanks for letting me know.

it is very useful for many people who are sick of living inside the state bondage... Because the nature of human is free(freedom).. Whenever a person lives free he feels the inner peace
Thank you, brother @wwf, for everything. ...

Hurrah! Here is another great book which is going to inspire many that how can one make wonders with the help of THE WILL POWER which God has given the human beings.

I am really much excited to read that book too as you are not an ordinary person but a true mentor in all aspects. I went through your blogs and i came to know how much caring and giving soul you're.

Thanks for putting your experiences into words and much thanks for uploading your books here on steemit.

'Graduating Life with Honours'

It changed the perception of many and now another great book on it's way to develop the human mind in more innovative way.

This is the greatest news of 2017's evening.

You are doing the best at your end @wwf Take a bow <3

Stay Blessed Sir!

That's awesome!
So if I got it right, you are gonna publish a book about your experiences in your life on Steemit, correct?

Graduating Life with Honours is my first book and it has been published here on steemit. Link is near the top of this post. This post is my second book, but I'm still missing a few pieces, but that will be done soon. Third book, which I'm working on the post now is 'UNGRIP' and it is about half done. But with nearly three months of posts, I needed to start to organize them. So yes, three books actually. This post is my second book, only published here, no where else.

Definitely interested in reading all of this. I would buy it in book form for sure as I've followed you on Facebook for a bit

Thank you. I will consider converting these books into printed materials in the future. At the moment though, I'm working hard to get them written. But I appreciate the support. Thank you. A lot of editing to do in order to get it ready for print. If steemit goes well, perhaps the funds would be available to pay for an editor and printer.

That would be excellent! Good luck!!

Great stuff. We need to share this with Friends, or at least try. Many do not even want freedom.

Such an amazing idea! I would come back to this post when I will have more time to read your story how you escaped "the system" and started a soap box :)

Such a great discovery! I found you through the tag of my friend @trucklife-family where she suggested life changing people. We also live off grid in Europe and we are loving every single day of it! Although, I must say, when I go back to my parents home and I just press the button to have a warm home and shower, I appreciate it million of times more!

Will get back here, for sure :)

I am glad that this excites you. I would suggest my whole blog then if you are also talking about escaping the system. The three books I posted here cover the majority of it, but I still have more to write and share. Enjoy! There is 15 years worth of work here, so it should keep you busy for a life time! lol

today is raining so not enough power in my solar system, but good to know where to come back. now that i fallowed you, i will not miss your posts :)

love to read it

You got an interesting title The Soapbox in the Bush while the picture is like a square ball in a square hole. Ride on sir.

I will advise you keep offline copies of these great works in case of any eventuality.

The link to the classes is not working.

Oh now I see it was already posted on your blog and I jad already watched the classes. I had thought it was something new.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66