A breif tour of the land we stewardsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #walkwithme7 years ago

I went for a walk about today and took some shots.  Thought some may be interested in seeing where we live, part of it anyway.  



Reflection of the trees on the surface of the water sitting in a fallen leaf.


I'm sure lightning hit this tree.  Split it from top to bottom.


Bottom of the tree with splinters.  I looked for fulgurite, but could not find any ... yet.


I leave 3-4 foot stumps to help the bugs, mushrooms, wood peckers, etc.


They flew right over me today.  Managed to catch them through the canopy.


These guys keep an eye on me.  Also saw a pileated woodpecker.  Flew right over my head.  No picture.


Woodpeckers love this tree!  I leave these as well for them.


Part of the trail system we made so that we can harvest fire wood.  Dead or sick trees only.


Snow melted a lot today.  Looks like spring.



The reflection in the leaf water, close up and rotated so that you can see the trees.

Sort:  

What a nice tour round the homestead.

How quiet yet full of noises it must be when you are alone, and still, listening... in the heart of your forest.

It is the best feeling in the world. I love being in the bush. I AM the land, so I AM home when I am with them.

I don't live in nearly a place as secluded as you must be up in Northern Canada, but when I myself am in the lower half of the backyard, sitting 9ft up on a tree stand just listening...

I also feel home. It makes me dislike the societal life I live and yearn for a more free life.

We belong in nature, on the land, working on a relationship with the land ... because we are the land. This message escapes most people. It boggles my mind that people in the city go on vacation to recharge. Where do they go? Camping, to the lake, beach, skying, etc. They spend time out in nature. They are naturally drawn there, so that tells me that is where we should be. Not in cities!

Exactly. EXACTLY!!!

I will get there in life. I will get there.

Such a great eye for all of this beauty. Thank you for sharing

Oooh wow, such epic shots, love the one of the geese...and this:

FRAME WORTHY!!!!

Thank you Lyndsay. A friend already turned that photo into a meme. She used a quote from a post a few weeks back.

leaf meme rita made for me.jpg

I love this so much.

I see that you've had some snow already. I suppose it is that time of year now up there.

Yes, October is a gamble. Some years we don't get snow till December, other years it drops on the 1st and sticks around. This year we got about 3 inches a few days ago, but it has warmed up and is melting away. It was a beautiful day today. Most of it is now gone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57