Firing up the smoke house today

in #ungrip7 years ago

Time to brush the snow off the smoke house.  It is smoking meat season as we prepare for the long cold winter coming up!  

We were gifted some moose meat this season, so we decided to make some moose jerky.  We cut the meat into strips and soaked it in a brine for about 4 days at +3C.  Since it is freezing cold outside, the meat just sat in a cooler outside and it did just fine!

Then I went out to find some wood.  I have smoked with birch in the past, but my indigenous friends from Kehewin taught me about red willow.  I've been using it ever since for smoking meat.  It has a beautiful smelling, sweet smoke which tastes amazing!  Obviously this is for people who live in the northern boreal forest.  There are other woods that are great for smoking too, but we live off the land, so we use what we have.  

Red willow grows in swampy areas and can get really broken up and thick.  I'm looking for the stuff that is still green, so I selected that front one for smoking the meat today.  I can tell it is red willow by the dark red color of the wood.

To burn green wood requires that I setup a good bed of coals.  So I start the fire with lots of dry wood and I burn the fire for a while to get it all started.  While the fire is burning, I prepare the smoke house trays at the same time.  


A good hot fire will melt any snow that is around and clear up the smoke so that I can get the meat mounted on the trays.  I mount the meat before I put the green wood on the fire, otherwise I won't be able to see anything.  Experience taught me that lesson!  lol

Now that the meat is mounted, I close it up and throw on my green - red willow wood and let the smoking begin!

The recipe for the brine that we marinated the meat in:

2 cups of sugar
2 cups of salt
1 cup of molasses

This recipe will marinate about 5-6 lbs of meat.  We tripled the recipe for this batch.  Now I will check in on it every half hour or so to make sure all is okay.  Some of the strips are fairly thick, so I'm estimating about a 8-10 hour smoke in order to make jerky.  Because of the way I setup our smoke house, the smoke is cooler, so it will take longer and there is less risk of burning the meat.  I'll post pictures when I am done.

Sort:  

Making your own jerky, versus what they sell in the stores, is awesome!

I usually make jerky in my dehydrator but have always wanted a smoker.
We're going out this weekend to hunt deer. I am so hopeful to have a freezer full of venison! I miss making venison steaks and chili... and don't get me started on the back strap!

I built ours with just scrap stuff I found laying around. No need to spend a thousand dollars on a smoke house. ;) I won't mentioned the back strap at all ... um ... opps. hahaha

I have been looking at plans for smokehouses made out of pallets. Seems you can make ANYTHING out of a pallet.

MMM... yeah, the back strap is MY favorite. My husband and I tend to fight over it!

Pallets are wonderful. I make wood sheds and fences with pallets. I love working with them.

Habla, blah blah blah blah blah, Español for my bunghole...

The meat has been on for about 6 hours now. We decided to pull it off so that it does not dry out too much. The taste is incredible! We are happy with where it is now. Nice days worth of work.

20171116_163337.jpg

The smoke is going well. Should be ready by supper time tonight.

20171116_113500.jpg

Yummmm! Another awesome post! upvoted. love how you share your daily life!
@dakini5d

Thank you. Lots to share!

I need to build a new smoke house. I haven't had one since I lived in Canada and I miss smoked meat. We can't buy any here, not that I would anyway. I'd rather make my own. Than I know how it was prepared. Looking forward to see how it looks when you are finished smoking.

Where do you live @cecicastor?

I now live on the beach, under a rock in Nicaragua!

wow. big weather difference eh! Nice! Congratulations.

It comes with its own set of challenges, but no SNOW! I was so tired of shovelling the white stuff just so that I could get out to the chicken coop! No we just have rainy season with torrential downpours and desert style dry season. Quite a difference yes. But I wouldn't trade the experience for anything.

Thanks @wwf Great Info....

I never have moose meat before. Are the taste and texture much different from venison or beef? They look really good. Thanks for sharing!

Moose tastes more like beef than deer but is also very lean. Not much fat, so cooking it up requires some oil or lard. When we turn moose into sausage, we add a lot of pork lard to help it out.

Our human body uses more calories when the surrounding air is colder. I notice that I eat more calories myself when it's cold outside.

Meat is very good energy source during colder months.

Just curious, any vegetarians or vegans out there in the colder climate?

I agree. I write many times about how people need animals especially the farther north they live. The Inuit of the far north lived on 100% animal diet as no plants grow up there. I agree, when it is cold the calories we need increases significantly! The animals show this too. When it is very cold, we are feeding almost double the feed.

Doctor and dietitians recommend eating lots of vegetables and fruits for better health. Living on 100% animal diet opens a question. Do those on 100% animal diet tend to not have optimal health? Maybe the cold temperature can burn up all the extra fat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57