My Creative Journey 41

in #art6 years ago

Yesterday I revved my creation engine a bit. Well, more like opened wide the throttle to see what would happen. I wasn't trying to stretch in terms of new ideas, but more to keep on laying bricks on my foundation. Occasionally I let myself follow the strange roads that opened up in my head as I painted, but mostly it was focusing on getting things 'right.' Whatever that means.

My challenge to myself for Saturday was, get through 15 postcards. Knock out a whole pack of cards if you can. I wasn't sure if I'd be able to do it, between time and energy, but, the environment I found myself in for most of the day really helped. My start at the coffee shop was a bit slow because I kept on chatting with people around me, and even cooler, another artist who gave me a bunch of pointers (still need to implement them). I was only there for a bit though, since I had a smoke session planned with my buddy for the afternoon. A smoke session that lasted until late in the evening, hehe.

I don't want to give away the ending, but I did make it. When I laid down the final postcard in the pack it was kind of a good feeling. I'm not sure if any of these were good or not...I know there progress towards something, but what, who knows?

These aren't in any particular order...

combo 1.jpg

20180527_111532 copy.jpg

20180527_111555 copy.jpg

20180527_111618 copy.jpg

20180527_111642 copy.jpg

And, damn I can feel the drain making all these did. The thing that happened earlier this morning to set me on a negative path is riding strong on my emotions right now. I can tell I'm pretty exhausted. What happened that shouldn't affect me too much is influencing me way too much. I should be proud of all of these. Patting myself on the back for the kind of output that others wish they could do, but, I'm like, 'fuck it.' They aren't good enough. Then again, they might all be crap. I honestly don't know anymore. Not sure if I care.

That's one of the things I think you have to deal with as an artist, the continual doubt, especially at the beginning before anyone gives a fuck. I think it's a bit worse for artists who failed at their first field of creativity. If I wasn't good enough at the first thing I tried, will I be good enough at this one? I mean, I was a great photographer, still am, but that led nowhere. Nowhere but frustration, distrust, and deep depression. So I have that monster of doubt haunting me from the shadows every moment of the day. It takes a crazy force of will to keep it in the shadows, and not get out to rampage through everything. And, when I'm drained from pushing so hard...ugh. Ain't no rest for the wicked...but I'm not having the fun someone who's wicked should have. Which is a double ugh.

Do you think any of these are cool? Which ones? Do you hate any of them? Would love to know :)

Anyways, hope you enjoyed the creations that flowed from my hand yesterday. All of these are for sale, and will hopefully have things like shirts, mugs, whatnot pretty soon. I'm gonna try and keep it positive today, which judging from the twirling stream of thoughts in my head is gonna be hard. Hope y'all have a better weekend than I'm having :)

Wessel



Previous posts:
My Creative Journey 40
My Creative Journey 39
My Creative Journey 38
My Creative Journey 36 + 37 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 16
My Creative Journey 35 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 15
My Creative Journey 33 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 14
My Creative Journey 32 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 13
My Creative Journey 31 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 7
My Creative Journey 30 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 12
My Creative Journey 29 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 28
My Creative Journey 27
My Creative Journey 26 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 11
My Creative Journey 25 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 24 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 23 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 010
My Creative Journey 22
My Creative Journey 21 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 09
My Creative Journey 20 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 03
My Creative Journey 19 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 02
My Creative Journey 18 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 01
My Creative Journey 17
My Creative Journey 16
My Creative Journey 15 PT 2 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 08
My Creative Journey 14 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 07
My Creative Journey 13 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 12 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 11 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 10 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 03
My creative journey 9
My creative journey 8
My creative journey 7
My creative journey 6
My creative journey 5
My creative journey 4
My creative journey 3
My creative journey 2
My creative journey 1

See available original drawings and paintings for sale

DONATE :)





Sort:  

Screenshot_20180527-170622_Google.jpg
The struggle is real.

Lol, that it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03