My Creative Journey 17

in #art6 years ago

Every journey begins with a step...and continues with countless more. There is no end to the creative path. Only progress. To get better you have to do. Your skills, your mind, your art will not get better unless you try. And trying means you will fail a lot. But, if you keep at it, eventually you will triumph, break through, and be where you want to be. Here is another step on my journey.


Last night I ended up at a friends house chilling, but I still made sure to get some drawing in. A bit every day, added up, will come to quite a lot over a long period of time. Never forget that. Progress might seem slow, but it's happening :)

20180502_170423 double.jpg

I said I was gonna draw some skulls, so that's what I did, hehe. These weren't exactly the kind of skulls I was thinking of drawing, since I'm trying to figure out faces and how mouths work, but I figured it would be a good start. Remember how I said that a little bit of work every day leads to some big results...well, I never thought I would be able to draw skulls like these. And, I know if I keep drawing that things will only get better. While far from perfect, my spacing and placement are definitely getting better. Which is awesome, because when combined with good shadowing that will (hopefully) create depth.

One thing I want to mention, probably again, is to look at your work after you're done.

See what you like, what you don't, pay attention to what got better, and what needs work, so that you will know what to focus on for the next. Think of each drawing like a mission, and, after every mission you need a debriefing. It doesn't have to be long, but it needs to happen. I always emphasis lots of drawing, but the getting better part hinges not just on the work you put in, but what kind of work. Does that make sense?

20180502_170330 double.jpg

Not sure how I feel about these. I definitely was loving the outlines I did but when it came to the details...the jury is still out. Next time I think I'll take some shots of the drawings before I do those. So I can compare them. Gotta love digital, hehe. You can do stuff like that pretty easy. It's all a process and for y'all (and myself) it might be interesting to document the process...not just in video form. I am really happy about the energy of both images, however. Hopefully soon I'll be able to start drawing ideas from my own head as these are still off of photos I find. Bit by bit, gotta stay patient. Every image is another building block...just gotta focus on that.

There are some interesting debates going on in my head right now.

One keeps on coming to the forefront. Am I trying to make things that are realistic, or do I want to go off the tracks in a different direction? Go crazy crazy with things... I'm not sure if I need one for the other or not. Is more knowledge and experience necessary to get to where I want to be? Which leads to the question of; do I know where I want to go? Or, do I want to keep on following my gut the way I have been for the last several months?

I think I usually shut all of those debates down and just try to do. Trying to figure out where I want to go at this point I think would set me on the same path as my photography...overthinking everything and finding myself in dead end after dead end. I mean, how am I supposed to know where I end up? Anything I envision now with my art is so based upon everything but me. I need to discover who I am first...and I think through this process that will happen.

20180502_170439.jpg

...and this is how I ended my night, lol. I think these were like 2 minute drawings and I may have been a little tipsy by this point. Sometimes it's fun to just go wild and scribble a bit. Art, or learning to do art, shouldn't be boring. If all you do is focus, eventually the lens you use to create might crack. Don't be scared to be stupid...because even these drawings are another step, hehe. :)

Thanks again for stopping by to look at my work and hopefully say something about it.
And, great news, sold another drawing!! :)

Wessel


Previous posts:
https://steemit.com/art/@mikesthoughts/my-creative-journey-16
My Creative Journey 15 PT 2 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 08
My Creative Journey 14 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 07
My Creative Journey 13 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 12 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 11 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 10 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 03
My creative journey 9
My creative journey 8
My creative journey 7
My creative journey 6
My creative journey 5
My creative journey 4
My creative journey 3
My creative journey 2
My creative journey 1


See available original drawings for sale

Currently $20 ea + $5s/h
37 new drawings up. 5 sold

DONATE :)




Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Always appreciated :)

Very nice skull drawings @mikesthoughts :)

Thanks! Might do some more tonight. Seems like it might be a good idea to get familiar with how they look and work, hehe.

I love seeing your journey!! Thank you so much for sharing!

Thanks @snook! Been really focused on this lately. Trying to get my mind off the rest of life, hehe.

Hello @mikesthoughts, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Always appreciate the love from y'all :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90