My Creative Journey 35 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 15

in #art6 years ago

As an artist your mind has to be on a million things.

Gone are the days where you'd find a patron and they'd support you as you followed your craft. The only thought in your mind what you want to make, and if your patron will like it or not. Like kids getting an allowance, hehe. I guess they've been gone for a while...but I haven't been an artist for that long, so it's only recently become a poignant issue for me. The reason I bring it up is because of my seeming obsession with skulls and postcards.

Why so many? Is it really just for the fans who asked for them? The answer to that is, nope. I just realized that I can put these out at a decent rate, they look cool, and they have the ability to turn into both merchandise and a quick sale. Add that to I'm improving pretty much every time I do them and you have yourself this situation. The annoying side of trying to make a living from creation. Sometimes you have to focus on things that might not be the most be creative, but might be the most profitable.

Money, art?

Isn't that selling out? Lol. Sorry, my landlord doesn't take paintings for rent, and neither does the supermarket. I have no idea why people get angry at artists of any kind and yell at them for 'selling out' when all they're doing is making a living from what they're doing. I can't wait for the day where I've 'sold out' and make a living doing what I love to do. Yes, there are nuances, but I that cry usually comes up about the time the artist starts to rake in the cash.

I missed a day with the posting, but not the painting.

Yesterday got a little nuts with postcards, lol. Again with the skulls, but this round was special for me for a number of reasons. Let's take a look at the collection I made that night...

20180520_001939.jpg

Instead of trying new things I just decided to jump into it and do.

If that makes any kind of sense. I wasn't trying to stretch, I was just trying to have some fun since it was Saturday night. People at the coffee shop liked the way I had drawn the previous round of skulls, so I decided to follow that thread a bit longer. I already have a mind as to how it's going to apply to the next stage of my art. I threw on a movie, some music, and just let the ink flow. I paid particular attention to my focus. I know it sounds strange with the movie and the music going, but that's how I roll.

I also remembered to record a video of the process of one of them, which actually turned into my favorite for the night. Check it out if you're interested :)

Music: Carl Phaser

20180521_175649.jpg

I also had a couple failures. The first was a bad outline, that turned into bad shading, that turned into, well, what it turned in to. The other was just recovered card stock from the back of the post card pack, hehe. Why waste materials, right? I was also curious to see how it would take paint.

They are what they are.

I hope and work for a perfect world where there are no failures but, I get how reality works, hehe.

I wish I had an abundance of energy to take about these, but a. my fucking upstairs neighbor decided it would be cool to make a racket at 8am on Sunday for about 2 hours so I couldn't get a full night of sleep which carried over on to this morning.... b. this job is making my brain ooze out of my ears and it's hard to flip back into the creative mode after 7 hours of rote work. Not a complaint, it is what it is and I'm grateful for the money but... Let me just tell you how hard I'm working to get the business end of this art thing going so I can get back to making awesome posts and even cooler art.

Thanks for stopping by! Wish me luck on the second post for today, hehe. Hopefully by the time I get to it my brain will be a little more flexible with word choices that will lure in and pull people through. I really do appreciate y'all for your interest and patience :)

Wessel



Previous posts:
My Creative Journey 33 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 14
My Creative Journey 32 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 13
My Creative Journey 31 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 7
My Creative Journey 30 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 12
My Creative Journey 29 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 28
My Creative Journey 27
My Creative Journey 26 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 11
My Creative Journey 25 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 24 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 23 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 010
My Creative Journey 22
My Creative Journey 21 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 09
My Creative Journey 20 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 03
My Creative Journey 19 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 02
My Creative Journey 18 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 01
My Creative Journey 17
My Creative Journey 16
My Creative Journey 15 PT 2 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 08
My Creative Journey 14 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 07
My Creative Journey 13 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 12 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 11 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 10 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 03
My creative journey 9
My creative journey 8
My creative journey 7
My creative journey 6
My creative journey 5
My creative journey 4
My creative journey 3
My creative journey 2
My creative journey 1

See available original drawings and paintings for sale

DONATE :)




Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

haha "landlord doesn't take paintings for rent" If you sell it well enough maybe!

Lololol. It would take a more art-inspired kind of landlord, not like the 'slum lord' that runs our place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65