My Creative Journey 23 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 010

in #art6 years ago

Every journey begins with a step...and continues with countless more. There is no end to the creative path. Only progress. To get better you have to do. Your skills, your mind, your art will not get better unless you try. And trying means you will fail a lot. But, if you keep at it, eventually you will triumph, break through, and be where you want to be. Here is another step on my journey.


Ugh, gotta be honest, my head is dying from this part time job. Don't get me wrong, money is nice, and I'm not gonna complain about it, but man does it make it hard to get back into the creative mindset I need to do what I need to do. Though, this experience is strengthening mental muscles and discipline I never knew I had. Evolve, adapt, never break.

So, on to art and stuff :)

20180508_082054.jpg

This was the first painting of the evening. I still had a craving to work on skulls, and try the black, blue, gray, yellow and white color combo since I messed it up quite hard on my last painting of yesterday. I like that color combo, and trust me, you're gonna see more of it. Though, maybe not for the next several days as I got a gut feeling to do some more ink stuff for a minute, and I got some freelance retouching work I gotta handle in the evening too. These multi-color paintings can take a long time.

I'm trying hard to keep with the bold strength of colors and lines I had with my black on brown paintings that I started with.

I like the energy it conveys, even if the images themselves are still pretty weak. And, the only way to get better is to keep at it. Though, I'm gonna need to make more money to pay for more art supplies, lol. Never knew this kind of hunger before, even with photography. Like breathing...I just gotta do it. The plans I got in my head for the coming six months to make this shit really real for me, and hopefully to start making a living off of it...got a decade of experience, knowledge, and skills about to come to bear, muahahah.

Overall I was ok with this one. The far side of the skull, meaning the other eye-hole, really sucks. The lines get really confused, and there's some extra stuff there. But, I did better with the color combo. How I mix them together is still confusing, but, I'm not worried. That will take time. The confidence to fuck up is what I'm building up, and the pleasure of just trying stuff.

My next piece is one where I just decided to run with what was on my mind...lots of demons still lurking... :)

20180508_082118.jpg

I will say that I had a blast painting this one. Setting aside my brushes for a minute I got back to basics. I wish I had used both hands for this one, to get a bit more symmetry, but, in many ways I really love the asymmetry of the piece. How, in some ways, it almost feels like two different faces. I can't tell you how much I love that visceral feeling of the paint on my fingers...but, it's a lot. When I make enough to do oil paints...well, let's just say I'm really excited about that. I know I'm jumping the gun on a lot of different stuff, and I should be patient and build up to stuff like that, but, seriously, fuck it. I did that with photography and it got me nowhere. So, as I've been preaching, follow that gut.

One of the cool things of dashing head long into all of this is to see the evolution on an accelerated scale.

I've paged through some of my older paintings recently and...wow. Some stuff hasn't changed, but a lot has. Growth...it's an awesome feeling. Now, I just need to capitalize on it, hehe.

As to why I wrote Me, and Sleep on this. Well, I'm hella tired right now. I sleep on my lunch breaks because it's the only time during the day where I don't have anything I need to be doing. Well, there's a lot I could be doing in that 30 minutes...but a minds gotta rest sometime and my dreams are just as active as my days lately.

With my third painting I went back to straight color...and out came something rather unexpected, lol.

20180508_082101.jpg

Apparently my friend Karl now inhabits my subconscious because this painting really looks like him. I think that means I really need to open up to more experiences and get some more inspiration, hehe. It's hard though, when most of your day is spent working, followed by creating, with the weekends like a marathon of catching up...so, I know I'm going to have to work on my time management skills. Gone are the days (for now) of doing what I wanted and needed to do when I wanted to do it. Thus is life. Adapt or die :)

You'll notice the same color scheme.

I love the comic feel of it and need to work on my strokes and do some studying so that I get better control of how I put the paint on the paper. It looks so easy, but, trust me, right now, every time I make a stroke my mind has to be focused on it or it comes out wrong. I'm nowhere near just brushing out what's in my head, or what my subconscious wants to get out. Every day a thousand lessons, hehe.

I figured out how to grab a video last night. And I say figured out because I was trying a new way of painting...on my wall. I wanted to see how it felt, if it was any different, if it would change how my paintings looked...and, I don't think it really did. What it did do is give my damn calves a workout. Standing on a bed bouncing around for 4 hours painting is a hell of a workout, let me tell you. Walking up to a sore body was quite unexpected, hehe.

So, here's EP. 10 of Watch me Paint! Hope you enjoy.

Music: Lobo Loco


And so to my finally piece of the evening...

20180508_082124.jpg

Messed up, yup, lol. I decided to give color a try again on the Kraft paper. I couldn't get the skull with red eyes out of my head since it was sitting just inside my peripheral vision and so I guess you could say this was inspired by that...but evolved. Sure the face looks stupid, but I'm using my paints better...at least in my opinion.

I was trying to go for cyberpunk and failed miserably, lol.

I got so much studying and practicing to do it's not even funny. But, I'll get to that when I can. I'm trying to cover years worth of learning in, what, a couple weeks? Lol. Ambitious, reckless, and probably not possible. If I had the cash not to worry about work, maybe... But, life is what it is so you gotta forge ahead however you can. I know I'm gonna look back on this someday and be like, 'wtf did I paint...?' Lol.

Someday? ...more like in a couple weeks... I got deadlines to meet, and some big changes in life coming up soon so I gotta be certain places by certain times. Some might worry about burning out, I'm more worried about other things. That creative frustration built up over the last 7 years still has a lot of mileage to go before it runs out.

Clocks ticking and traffic is dying down here in LA so I need to get home to get started on the next part of my day.

Like I said, picked up a freelance gig to edit photos...and I need to watch a DVD for a friend, and start drawing out postcards...and maybe even find a couple minutes to chill, oh, and get to bed at a decent hour so I can get a decent night of sleep. Oh the things I dream for nowadays...

Thanks for dropping by and reading, watching, looking :) I always appreciate any words. Comments mean a lot to me, even if it's to say I suck. Any reaction is better than no reaction. And, trust me, I got a thick skin. Hope y'all have a great day!

Wessel

20180508_003100.jpg


Previous posts:
My Creative Journey 22
My Creative Journey 21 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 09
My Creative Journey 20 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 03
My Creative Journey 19 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 02
My Creative Journey 18 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 01
My Creative Journey 17
My Creative Journey 16
My Creative Journey 15 PT 2 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 08
My Creative Journey 14 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 07
My Creative Journey 13 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 12 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 11 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 10 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 03
My creative journey 9
My creative journey 8
My creative journey 7
My creative journey 6
My creative journey 5
My creative journey 4
My creative journey 3
My creative journey 2
My creative journey 1


See available original drawings for sale

Currently $20 ea + $5s/h
37 new drawings up. 5 sold
1 painting sold

DONATE :)




Sort:  

Yeah, hopefully down the road you won't have to worry about that Part Time job and be doing Steemit full time by this time next year :)
Nice work keep it up , brotha

Hopefully! :) Got a couple of months before I have to move out of my place. Might end up going to live somewhere cheap and International so I have more content and less expenses :)

If it was 12 or 13 years ago when I was a Bachelor and had my ole' Bachelor's pad back in Nashville I would tell you to come on over. I think it would be cool to pair up with a Fellow Steemian and start living and breathing this stuff through collaborating with someone living in the same house.

That would be a blast !! A non- stop party :0)

Lol, that's kind of the environment I'm seeking right now. To find a place where people are on the same wavelength and their whole life is dedicated to the craft...I need to be around those kind of people right now. Need people like that to be challenging me, adding to my thought process...So far, every conversation I've had with other artists has led me in a new, cool direction :)

Hehe, 12-13 years ago...would have been the perfect age for all that...but we don't always get to choose when we get to certain forks in our lives...mine just came at this time. Had it been that long ago...I was at such a different place, hehe. We all were :)

Resteem bot Service! Promote Your New Post.Find New Followers - Upvotes. Send 0.400 SBD to @stoneboy and your post url in memo and we will resteem your post to 9500+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70