My creative journey 2

in #drawing6 years ago

20180417_080722.jpg

Every journey begins with a step...and continues with countless more. There is no end to the creative path. Only progress. To get better you have to do. Your skills, your mind, your art will not get better unless you try. And trying means you will fail a lot. But, if you keep at it, eventually you will triumph, break through, and be where you want to be. Here is another step on my journey.


Another day, another bunch of drawings. These I did at the coffee shop and I had planned to do more once I got home, but instead I decided to take a bit of a break. I mean, don't want to burn myself out and force anything. That's what I did with photography.

While it's important to always be working on your craft, it's also important to take time out to let the mind and body rest a bit. After all, this is a marathon, not a sprint. The first chunk is like any race, full of adrenaline and energy, but, you need to be sure to get into a pace as that initial push comes to an end. I've got a long way to go and I don't want to run out of steam again. Last time took 7 years, but, still, lol.

20180417_080732.jpg

I've been drawing a lot of single figures lately so this second one I did was especially important to me. Trying to get more than one to interact is tough. There's so much to consider between overlap and perspective it's nuts. Since I'm still in the skill building phase I use a lot of model images to draw from. Thank god for Pintrest...

I want to make something clear. These images I've drawn are not completely from my head. I'm not there yet. Not by a long shot. I get frustrated with other artists sometimes, doesn't matter what field, when they put out this stuff, everyone's like, 'wow!' and they take full credit instead of telling people what's going on in the background. I mean, it's disheartening for artists who haven't been down the road of struggle before and don't know all the things that need to be done to get better. Like a magic trick, showing the finale but not the prestige. You need to imitate and imitate and imitate until the skills are so ingrained, the strokes, the angles, the lines, the shadows, so that when you have an image in your head all you need to do is refer to the library of techniques to make it come to life.

20180417_080749.jpg

Some people can just put the stuff in their head on to paper, but they are the lucky few. The rest of us have the struggle, and have to be comfortable with it. But, like all things, have faith in the process :) Hard work can overcome talent if you never give up.

Hope you enjoyed these drawings I did from last night! Some of my originals are for sale if you're interested. I need to shoot and post the most recent stuff I did on 11x18, but all my 8.5x11 work is up. I can't wait until they have more of those 8.5x11's at the $1 store so I can start riding the metro and sketching people. 11x18's are a bit conspicuous, hehe.

See available original drawings for sale
Currently $10 ea + $10s/h




Sort:  

So, if these are not drawn completely 'from your head', what inspiration are you using? I like your drawings and am curious about the process...

What I do is go to Pinterest and do a search. Right now it's usually 'samurai' or 'kimono' with more specific terms depending on what I feel like. Since I'm trying to learn new skills I look for images that I like, that have the energy I'm going for, and that I know will challenge me. Usually the process is like... 'I feel like drawing someone in a kimono,' so I search for that, I peruse through a bunch of images, and the one I feel really scared of drawing, but like how it looks, is the one I choose. So, it's my take on what I see in the image. Like training wheels or crutches, hehe :)

Cool. Your pieces definitely a a 'feel'to them- like they are part of a collection.

Great drawings @mikesthoughts! So true what you said, "this is a marathon, not a sprint". Glad you took some time to chill as well :)

I think I might need to take some more time soon, lol. Or at least mix it up a bit. Never want this to feel like a burden. Gotta keep something in my life pure :)

Yes, we all need something pure as a refuge. All the best!

I want my art to be both my refuge and my life if possible, hehe :)

Yes! If you get it down, let me know your secret ;)

Will do! Maybe I'll teach a course if I figure it out lolol

Hello @mikesthoughts, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89