My creative journey 1

in #drawing6 years ago

20180416_004151.jpg

Every journey begins with a step...and continues with countless more. There is no end to the creative path. Only progress. To get better you have to do. Your skills, your mind, your art will not get better unless you try. And trying means you will fail a lot. But, if you keep at it, eventually you will triumph, break through, and be where you want to be. Here is another step on my journey.


Last night I got home after an awesome picnic with @socalsteemit here in Los Angeles. I was a bit tired, to say the least. I lounged on the couch for a couple hours with my roomie watching that new series on Netflix...Lost in Space. I caught the last three episodes, which was good, because it means I don't have to watch the first 8. Not a bad series, but also really far from good. Too much lazy writing for me to really like it.

20180416_004542.jpg

There came a point when I was like...what am I doing? Why am I sitting here doing, like, nothing? The series was over and I was about to get into another movie when I decided to get up. I mean, here I am trying to become an artist, to hone skills that will get noticed and hopefully get good enough to sell, and the TV was dragging me in to see a rerun of some Hunger Games movie.

But, like I said, my energy was pretty low. Full day and all that. And, I might or might not have been stoned. Neither confirm nor deny kind of thing. So I retreated to my room and put in a bit of time to knock out some new drawings. I'm still deep into the practice phase, figuring out lines, perspective, proportion, shading, and everything in between. I'm a lot better than the graphite scratches I used to do, but, nowhere near the, -stop- gasp -whip out wallet- I wanna buy that! stage.

20180416_004548.jpg

It's a process...just gotta keep that in mind. I got through four. Some I like, some I don't, but they're all important. Even when things look like they're gonna be way messed up, I figured that I might as well finish them and practice all the skills I have. Waste not, want not :)

So, hope you like them! Would love to hear what people think. My skin is pretty thick and if you're an experienced artist I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Michael

20180416_004201.jpg




Sort:  

great drawings.. very expressive lines!

Thanks! Bit by bit I'm getting better :)

Writer and an artist! That's awesome man :) The second drawing already feels like its telling a story, I can imagine the whole scene filled out in my mind. Loving the sword lines in the fourth as well. And hey, we all have lazy days, even without the addition of certain substances ;) Practice definitely makes perfect, keep it up!

Thanks! I'll do my best. I figure I should draw every day if I really want to get better :) It's a tough regime...but I know there'll be days I skip, I mean, take breaks, hehe. Hope you have an awesome day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88