My creative journey 5

in #drawing6 years ago

20180420_101509.jpg

Every journey begins with a step...and continues with countless more. There is no end to the creative path. Only progress. To get better you have to do. Your skills, your mind, your art will not get better unless you try. And trying means you will fail a lot. But, if you keep at it, eventually you will triumph, break through, and be where you want to be. Here is another step on my journey.


Wow, last night got a bit crazy again. I can't and won't deny that, hehe. I took a complete detour from what I normally do and decided to follow the thread of whatever happened to get in my head. And, to most people what I drew probably looks like crap, which is completely cool with me (not fishing for compliments) because, well, I'll tell you in a minute.

The night started with me trying to work on perspective. There was this photo I found on Pinterest that was a perspective mess. Hard to figure out, multiple pull points, and bits that overlapped...a helluva challenge. I figured it would be a great thing to give a go. I mean, I need to train my brain to always be thinking in terms of depth and direction with my pen, so running from skills I need to learn isn't going to help me.

God did I suck at drawing it...really sucked. But, I kept at it.

20180420_101511.jpg

Until I decided it was time to take a break. I didn't want to push myself too far into frustration. There does come a point where you need to take a breath and regroup. For me, the way I did that was to go back to some of the models I'm familiar with and to refine my lines on those. A comfortable spot where I knew I could get what I wanted and it was a more a question of how good. I admit I was a bit lazy on the overall detail on the next drawing. But, my mind was on the overall feel. Is there energy in the lines? Can you tell where the tension is? Do you feel that something is about to happen? That was what I was trying to get at.

...and yes...I need to get better at framing. Headless people are only cool when associated with Ichabod Crane.

20180420_101518.jpg

At about this point the coffee shop was closing and I had to head home. I was feeling pretty good. Not stressed and ready to get to the next page.

So, instead of following the path already laid out for me with other peoples work I decided to follow my own path. Even if it looked really, really stupid. I mean, what does creativity look like anyways? Is there a specific form to it? Does it come out fully formed, or is it molded together through stuff like this? I don't know...I really don't. Are these doodles that should be relegated to the trash bin? Or future works of art to be looked back on as the precursors to something great?

20180420_101521.jpg

I think the worst thing we, no, I could do at this point is question too hard what I'm doing. I mean, all the other drawings were/are just practice to build the skills to allow myself to create...but create what? This might be it? It might be a completely wrong path...who know, who cares?

Remember, it's a journey! I have an idea in mind of how I want to live, a deep desire to create, and the drive to just move forward no matter the direction. So, I'm just gonna run with it. I'm already proving to myself that I can take an image I see and draw it...so why shouldn't I play a little?

20180420_101526.jpg

20180420_101530.jpg

I already have some ideas in mind for where I want to go next...just need to get to an art store. Pulling on whatever threads appear in front of me...it's been a cool time. I hope whomever is reading this does that on occasion too. Follows the opportunities or stray thoughts that come up in their daily lives. You never know where they're going to lead, and some of the places you end up...so awesome.

20180420_101534.jpg

Not sure what to say about all of those random faces and bodies, lol. Other than I'll probably be coming out with a sticker/patch series soon. I mean, some of those drawings are pretty cool, worth slapping on a laptop or a book cover...right? :)

Time is clicking by fast and I have a lot of stuff still to do today. Emails to answer, articles to write, drawings to draw, people to meet. Hope you enjoyed yesterday's journey. Time to keep on with today's!

Wessel

Previous posts:
My creative journey 4
My creative journey 3
My creative journey 2
My creative journey 1


See available original drawings for sale

Currently $10 ea + $10s/h




Sort:  

Hey @mikesthoughts those Drawings look incredible to me. You have a hell of a lot of Talent, imo :)

Awww, thanks! :) Words like that are always nice to hear. Hope you have a great weekend!

An interesting essay on your creative journey. It’s nice to follow the process. Your drawings have real impact appeal.

Hehe, yeah, that's what I'm trying to do. Way back when I was driving out to LA I happened to be at the Grand Canyon hiking...I took my time driving from Minnesota :)... an older gentleman accompanied by a younger lady struck up a conversation with me. Of course what I did came up along with my goals and dreams and the man, apparently of some note (no notes that I knew of) sarcastically said that I should keep a journal of what goes on just in case I reach my goals. Never expecting for me to say that I already was.

The journey, especially the beginning parts like this, are so important to document. And, being a technological world like ours where you can make a living and get fans by being public about it...such a cool world we live in in so many ways :)

Thanks for dropping by again! :)

Sarcastic or not, the old gentleman’s advice is sound – and you already knew that since, as you wrote, you were already journaling about it.

Hehe, yeah, he was more condescending than sarcastic. The attitude of someone who feels they know better and that no one can get to their level...so I'm guessing he was an academic. Just another story in another chapter in my life :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 68 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89