My Creative Journey 39

in #art6 years ago

Damn last night was a blast. A lot of completely unexpected things happened...well, almost unexpected. It all started with getting home earlier than normal and heading to the coffee shop. At least my intent was to go to the coffee shop. I didn't quite make it though, hehe. I had a run in with my neighbors. A run in of the most awesome kind. I love walking by and having the, 'we about to smoke a blunt...' conversation, especially when I can match up.

If you're not into the smoking scene, matching up is what it sounds like. Offering weed for everyone to smoke as you are being offered. Basically, giving as good as you get. It's important because if you get known for not bringing as much as you take, people remember, and you don't get invited back. I've always gone by the philosophy of, weed is always better to smoke with people, and was given more than my fair share before I had access, so as long as I have green in the bank I always bring green with me.

But, the point of that little side note...my neighbors really love my work. Like, in a super cool way of watching my videos, lives, and talking about it when I drop by. They even notice when I don't do my regular videos, hehe. This is a pretty new thing to me, having people that involved, so when they asked me to do some skulls last night because they really liked them, who was I to say 'no?' I mean, I did go a little overboard and probably could have gotten by with a lot less than I did...but when you're on a roll, you're on a roll :)

So, to the art! (or reasonable approximation)

20180525_081455.jpg

This was my opener. A 3ftx3ft monochrome skull...lol. I wanted to do something on white, kinda of had a craving for black and white, and didn't want to throw too much ink at something, even though it's pretty cheap. So, acrylic it was. Like all the pieces I did last night, I did it live on my Instagram. If you're ever bored, on instagram, and want to watch me create... ;) IAMSTONEDWESSEL

After listening to a bunch of art documentaries and hearing about how they worked the light I was deeply intrigued about how to layer the grays for a better depth affect. As always, pictures rarely do a painting justice, but I think this one turned out pretty dope. And, if you look at it from an angle, for some reason the shadowing really comes together in a nifty way.

20180525_011349.jpg

I followed this monochrome up with I thought would be another monochrome...but at some point my idea of what I wanted changed a bit, hehe.

20180525_185715.jpg

The concept was pretty much the same, but I got kinda bored with how things were looking on the Kraft paper. I thought for a moment about how to spice it up and was like....'red!' Red always gets people to look. Even if it's horrible, the color will draw eyes for just an instant...and in that instant they may recognize my work and all the glory it deserves. (Just kidding ;) I'm still a newb, but, still... :) ) Not too many words, as I've been doing over the last week, just working on technique and tightening things up.

Which leads me to the next potion of my night...

20180525_095050.jpg

Not bad for my first but it's way too expanded...

20180525_095018.jpg

Still rough...but getting better...

20180525_095030.jpg

Working on trying to keep within the lines...

20180525_094949.jpg

And then just saying 'fuck it' and having some fun while trying to applying everything I'd learned :)

Which turned out pretty well. I even decided I was ready to start adding some flavor to the skulls. In this case, horns. They by no means jump off the page, but it's just the first step on this new path of evolution. Though, I think tonight is going to be more form sketching than anything else. I felt last night when I tried to do another kind of painting, a deep hesitation and uncertainty, which means I need to try something else for a while to regain that comfort doing other stuff again.

My weekend is going to be filled with a lot of stuff. First on the list is editing and adding all my new work for my website. Which, with those edited images up, I'll be able to upload things to Redbubble and get all my merchandising stuff started. I think my roommate has a scanner, but if not, I can always go out and buy one :) Now that my part time gig is done I can focus 110% again on this, and that means all the energy that was spent doing work for others, can be used for me again. After that...well, there might be a surprise in store for y'all, hehe.


As always, all this work is for sale, so don't be shy about asking ;)


Thanks for stopping by and checking out my daily progress on this creative journey. I've been thinking where to take all this and I think y'all will like it. Building community, helping people, basically what Steem is meant to be about. I've been a bit selfish over the last month focusing inward on my art and work and now I want to give back :) You know, match up, hehe. Wow, never thought I would bring it back around in a perfect circle. So, on that note...

Wessel



Previous posts:
My Creative Journey 38
My Creative Journey 36 + 37 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 16
My Creative Journey 35 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 15
My Creative Journey 33 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 14
My Creative Journey 32 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 13
My Creative Journey 31 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 7
My Creative Journey 30 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 12
My Creative Journey 29 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 28
My Creative Journey 27
My Creative Journey 26 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 11
My Creative Journey 25 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 24 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 23 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 010
My Creative Journey 22
My Creative Journey 21 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 09
My Creative Journey 20 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 03
My Creative Journey 19 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 02
My Creative Journey 18 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 01
My Creative Journey 17
My Creative Journey 16
My Creative Journey 15 PT 2 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 08
My Creative Journey 14 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 07
My Creative Journey 13 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 12 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 11 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 10 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 03
My creative journey 9
My creative journey 8
My creative journey 7
My creative journey 6
My creative journey 5
My creative journey 4
My creative journey 3
My creative journey 2
My creative journey 1

See available original drawings and paintings for sale

DONATE :)




Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12