My creative journey 8

in #art6 years ago

painting 1.jpg

Every journey begins with a step...and continues with countless more. There is no end to the creative path. Only progress. To get better you have to do. Your skills, your mind, your art will not get better unless you try. And trying means you will fail a lot. But, if you keep at it, eventually you will triumph, break through, and be where you want to be. Here is another step on my journey.


Gonna keep words to a minimum on this one. Bit of a rough morning. Second day of painting went pretty well, being the second day of painting and all. Opened my eyes to a bunch of frustrating thoughts and feelings. And, of course the ever-present doubt. Am I doing something smart...something stupid? Honestly, just too tired to think about it anymore. Ups and downs of the journey. The realization of how far I have yet to go on so many fronts. How little time I have. How there are people that support me, but that I need to find a helluva lot more.

Mornings like these are the ones that I need to keep my eyes on the prize. Anyone can make pretty much anything work if they do it the right way. From photography, I know a thousand ways to make it not work. So, with this, gonna try everything different.

It's crazy daunting...looking at the entire machine I'm going to have to build up around myself. To keep my work flowing outwards to people, to get them interested, to get them buying. Yet another social media account...or, maybe, go against that since it didn't work at all for me before? I mean, if you have it people expect you to have a certain of amount of fans to be cool, and if you don't have enough that doesn't trip their triggers and they'll pass by. But, to get those numbers so quick you basically need to buy them...which is easy but... Maybe it's time for me to use all the tricks I know but never used because I thought they were dirty and cheating, hehe. It's an open secret anyways what goes on nowadays. Even the 'grassroots' brands use them.

Anyways, here's the series I painted last night. Got a video too, but I'm going to drop that later tonight. It's pretty cool. There's even music and super speed, hehe.

painting 8.jpg

Warming up with a bit of paint on the paper. Not just one face, but two, hehe.

painting 2.jpg

Me trying to take some of my pen drawings and translate them into paint. Gotta work on the positioning...

painting 3.jpg

Giving my brain a bit of free reign to play around again. Still exploring faces.

painting 6.jpg

This one was kind of modeled off of an image on Pintrest, but, with my own spin. Working on some finer details using a smaller brush. I think my hand still thinks it's holding a marker, lol.

painting 7.jpg

Decided to give a ninja a try. I really love how that front hand came out. No idea if anyone will think any of these are cool, but, whatever, hehe.

painting 4.jpg

painting 5.jpg

Kinda got obsessed with this look for a minute. Creating expression in eyes... Got a lot of emotion to get out myself. Just need to focus a bit more when I'm painting, more intention vs flow. Learning that balance is gonna be hard.

painting 9.jpg

painting 10.jpg

These last two were just on scraps of paper. I bought a 100ft roll of this paper and went through it in two days...which mean I need to get some more today and I need to start selling prints so I can keep on painting more, hehe. The artists dilemma, hehe. Faces, masks, big lines...ugh, I need to get so much better...

All of these paintings are for sale. I think I'm charging $100 each. I'm not famous, but these take a lot of work, even if it doesn't look like it. If you like something, let me know :) I got drawings for sale as well, a whole bunch of new ones. The links are down below.

Thanks for looking through my work and reading some of my words. Hope y'all have a great Monday!

Wessel


Previous posts:
My creative journey 7
My creative journey 6
My creative journey 5
My creative journey 4
My creative journey 3
My creative journey 2
My creative journey 1


See available original drawings for sale

Currently $10 ea + $10s/h
old drawings are about to be taken out and new ones are about to go in. if you want an early original now's the time! :) Monday the whole selection is changing.




Sort:  

That is a whole load of pictures, you must have spent so long creating all of these. I have to agree the Ninja does look cool with the hand, they are all very good - I like them.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Hehe, yeah, it is. I think I spend between 3 and 5 hours a day creating 'art' right now. Kinda kicked it up a gear a week ago. Need to get good fast so I can express better :) Not sure how many paintings I can do tonight because I'm almost out of paper :. Need to sell a print so I can buy more, hehe.

And, thanks!! :)

Hello @mikesthoughts, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much for the vote! Your support of this work really does matter. And, thank you for helping to make Steemit a better place by supporting the content creators :) Y'all are the ones who will make this a platform for the ages, hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94