My Creative Journey 18 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 01

in #drawing6 years ago

Every journey begins with a step...and continues with countless more. There is no end to the creative path. Only progress. To get better you have to do. Your skills, your mind, your art will not get better unless you try. And trying means you will fail a lot. But, if you keep at it, eventually you will triumph, break through, and be where you want to be. Here is another step on my journey.


First, just wanna say trying to create with a hangover really sucks, hehe. I'd recommend that you don't do it. But, since I'm doing my damnedest to create something every day, I still gave it a try. What's coming up isn't my best work, but it also isn't my worst. And, either way, I still created, which was what I wanted to do :) The cool thing is today I'm not hungover...tired from a day of monotonous office work (part time job came through, yeah!), but not hungover. So, tonight should be better. I also learned a lot from yesterday's practice.

20180502_232825.jpg

This was my first drawing for the evening. I just jumped right into my 11x18 permanent marker drawings, probably because I was half falling asleep and wanted to at least get one done.

Looking at this picture I'm both excited and disappointed. I know I've mentioned my issue with details before, but, I almost feel like I'm getting lazy...or it might have just been the hangover. My outlines and basic form is getting much better, but how I deal with filling it in definitely needs to improve. I think it may be because I loose focus easily and instead of paying attention and keeping the image in my mind as I draw it, I find myself just making lines I think will be right...which usually leads to the sloppiness you see. I also need to get some new pens...which I'll hopefully be able to do soon. Fresh ink always looks so pretty. Funny fact...I can now tell if my markers are full or not by their weights, lol.

Let me go into several things I like about this drawing real quick

...because it's always good to pay attention to what you liked as well. The way the back piece flows...the lines are bold and strong and easy to recognize. How the hand reaches back and almost under it also is pretty cool. I messed up on where the lines between the back piece and her hand meet, but...soooooo close :) You do kinda feel like theres a spacial difference between her hand and the underlying cloth, right? And, the last thing I really like was the bottom hem of her kimono. I'm getting better at how material drapes onto surfaces. My shadowing might be rough, but it's starting to get the point across properly.

Keep the faith, that's what I say. Keep on it, look at what worked, what didn't and move from there.

And, guess what? I did my first episode of Watch me Draw!. :) So if you want to watch, here ya go!

Music: Computer music Allstars


20180502_232814.jpg

My second drawing follows the similar thoughts of the first...as do how I feel about it. I'm not going to be too hard on myself, because it's sure as hell better than the first ones I ever drew...and that's something that you should always keep in mind. Some people feel that you're only as good as your latest work...which leads to this really shitty heavy pressure on your shoulders which, at least in my opinion, leads to less beautiful work. Sure, pressure is good, but to judge a person by one thing...so not cool. Everyone has an off day. And that's especially important to remember at the beginning of the journey. Good habits to instill early so that you don't freak out down the road.

My favorite part about this one, strangely enough, is the umbrella.

You can't believe how hard it was for me to draw those right so that they didn't look all messed up. I'm especially proud of this one because, at least to me, there's this really cool sense of depth to it. And, to be honest...I do kinda like the way I did the shading on the arm. It's lazy...but in a way it does create the affect I was looking for. There's a sense of motion, of holding, of just the right energy...am I right? ;)

And to finish things off...

20180503_180504.jpg

Some random crap I drew improv while watching another episode of Rick and Morty :) Nothing special...but a definite improvement from the last time I goofed around, which makes me really happy. I had a blast experimenting with some of the things I've been practicing lately. It's so cool when the automatic motions of what to draw where start to kick in. Like, this goes there because I know it's supposed to...kind of stuff. Once again, still really rough...but imagine a month from now...2...3? Muwahahahaha.

Thanks again for stopping by and checking my work and words out. I hope you learn something from what I say. Sure I'm not talking about specific technique...because I think that's something everyone needs to discover for themselves. I draw how I like to draw. I learn how I like to learn...but that's probably because I've been teaching myself stuff for a while now so I know what works and doesn't. That's definitely a skill you need to figure out...how to most efficiently teach yourself something. A skill that keeps on giving :)

Be well everyone!

Wessel


Previous posts:
My Creative Journey 17
My Creative Journey 16
My Creative Journey 15 PT 2 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 08
My Creative Journey 14 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 07
My Creative Journey 13 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 12 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 11 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 10 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 03
My creative journey 9
My creative journey 8
My creative journey 7
My creative journey 6
My creative journey 5
My creative journey 4
My creative journey 3
My creative journey 2
My creative journey 1


See available original drawings for sale

Currently $20 ea + $5s/h
37 new drawings up. 5 sold

DONATE :)




Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

you are making me want to start drawing LOLLLLLLLLL

You should! It's so much fun :) It's not easy when you get started...very frustrating...but the more you do, the more you'll surprise yourself. One day you'll be like, 'holy smokes!' and you'll be awesome. :)

Can't wait to see the end @mikesthoughts. Looking good. Keep it up, my man :)

Gonna clear off my phone so I have at least 40 or 50 minutes worth of recording, hehe. Last night took about 25 minutes and I only had like 16 minutes of recording potential. Got some potential ideas of what I'm going to try and draw. Challenge round!

Really beautiful work of art @mikesthoughts!

I can see that you love art and like to draw ;)
... so I am inviting you to the Minimalist Drawing Contest -- A contest dedicated to minimalist art!

https://steemit.com/minicontest/@gulugu/welcome-to-the-first-minimalist-drawing-contest

I'd love to see your entry!

Thanks for the comment! Yes, I love art and love to draw. I'll check it out and see if I can think of anything to enter :)

Very cool - I lack artistic skill so it is fascinating for me to watch!

So did I, until I started ;) A lot of what I do right now is still mimicry, so not really that artistic. I think anyone can learn the technical stuff, how to get the lines right...and along the way if they really want it to, the artistic stuff develops :) That's what I'm hoping for, hehe.

Thanks for stopping by and looking! :)

I love this drawing, really creative and different - you really seem to be putting your all into art at the moment.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Yeah, crazily so, hehe. Finding myself painting until 3am quite a bit...though not during the week right now...finally scored a part time job. Short term, but still, something. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91