My creative journey 6

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

20180421_151708.jpg

Every journey begins with a step...and continues with countless more. There is no end to the creative path. Only progress. To get better you have to do. Your skills, your mind, your art will not get better unless you try. And trying means you will fail a lot. But, if you keep at it, eventually you will triumph, break through, and be where you want to be. Here is another step on my journey.


Another day, another bunch of drawings :)
It was quite a day for growth for me. I started out going over some models I'd drawn in the past. You know, to get warmed up a bit since I'd learned a couple days previous that trying to jump into new before establishing a connection with my skills by doing things I knew wouldn't go well. You want to make the start easy because facing blank paper is scary enough, hehe.

20180421_151712.jpg

I was a bit disappointed by the one above. The face is what killed me. There seems to be still some issues with me matching up head and body sizes at certain perspectives. It's not an easy thing, hehe. You literally have to envision the perspective in your head and guide your hand not necessarily along the lines that look right, but the ones that feel right. And, if you think about it the whole line and thus perspective falls apart. Am I alone on that? Or are there other artists out there who have the same process in their heads?

I think I did pretty good with the rest. Not my best work by far, but, the average of quality is slowly raising. Which, is a nice confidence building thing. I'd still be jealous as a 12 year old kid looking at this, lol.

20180421_151726.jpg

So then I decided to muck about more with perspective. This time off of a model image I found. The arms, legs, torso, lining them up right, ugh. Overall, a bit of improvement with my perspective and proportion lines. But, what I'm really proud of is in the bottom right drawing...the way the hand drapes over/behind the leg. Something about it just strikes me as something natural and real. Just my opinion, hehe. Y'all might be like...'ummmm, what?'

20180421_151735.jpg

This is all me. Something I'm really proud of, as simple as they look. The top was the first one I did, another play with perspective. Having to this about what they'd be holding, how they'd be holding it, and which direction the energy would be flowing got my own creativity flowing. The idea was simple, but complete.

Then I decided to stretch farther than I've gone before. To build something cool up from nothing. It started with a single piece, and from their my mind slowly began to drawn the lines in. What was the shoulder plate going to look like? How was it going to hook into the chest? Which direction was his torso going to be leaning in? What direction did the lines have to be? I mean, the list was endless, but I took a deep breath and just imagined it.

I took my time. I was patient. I didn't let myself hate anything. And I mean anything about it. It's a simple picture, not even that noteworthy in the scheme of everything else. But, it's mine :)

20180421_151730.jpg

And then shit got real. And I mean really real. I jumped off the stepping stone that was that last drawing and into the deep end of just being me. No fucks were given and I just rode the wave of how the pen flowed along the page. Once again, might not seem like much to many but it means a lot to me.

Scribbles, art? Who knows, who cares? You like how it looks? I do :) As I was pouring these images out I was reminded of a younger me, one who always envied my sister. She seemed so good at drawing. The wolves, how she made little cartoons. The pencil graphite shining silvery gray in the light where her work hung in my dads office... I wanted that to be my work.

20180421_151741.jpg

Now, don't get me wrong. There is work of mine, photography-wise, that my parents have hanging around the house. And, soon they'll have some of these drawings...but this was one of those moments where I looked what I had drawn and was really proud of it. It was mine. Created by my skill, my mind, and my desire... And it plucked the chord that was that memory harder than it's even been done before. It felt like I could really do this.

Powerful moment...true story, even though I didn't take any pics of it, lol. Might seem to be blowing things out of proportion, but, trust me when I say it's been a journey to get to this point.

Hope you enjoyed my work from yesterday :) Love to hear what you think about it. Feel free to make fun of it. I got a thick skin and would rather hear something than nothing, lol.

Wessel

20180421_151745.jpg

Previous posts:
My creative journey 5
My creative journey 4
My creative journey 3
My creative journey 2
My creative journey 1


See available original drawings for sale

Currently $10 ea + $10s/h




Sort:  

This great art gets 100% of my upvote. You really shared a ton of lively sketches. Love the black and white focus.

Thanks much for your support :) Yeah, kinda a monochromatic kinda guy right now, hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94