My creative journey 3

in #drawing6 years ago

20180418_082124.jpg

Every journey begins with a step...and continues with countless more. There is no end to the creative path. Only progress. To get better you have to do. Your skills, your mind, your art will not get better unless you try. And trying means you will fail a lot. But, if you keep at it, eventually you will triumph, break through, and be where you want to be. Here is another step on my journey.


Last night got a little wild, lol. I was running around all day doing stuff, random gigs and helping friends, so I didn't get started on drawing at my normal time...if there is such a thing. I only had time for one sketch at the coffee shop before it closed and when I got home I was a bit tuckered out. But, being dedicated I figured I'd still give it a swing.

This is where I made a mistake...not a huge one...but if left alone it could become a habit, a way of thinking that could reverberate waves into the future and affect my work.

It was my mindset.

20180418_082143.jpg

A simple, insidious thing, if not right.

When I picked up the marker at home I was just doing what I had to. Drawing for everyone else. I mean, I needed to make a post this morning. I needed to feed the social media content machine and in order to do that I had to draw. And you can see that in the first image I did from my couch. I'm not there. There's ink on the page but none of me in it. Literally just strokes of a pen. And, it's a pretty bad drawing too. I still learned from it...not necessarily technique, but how to think.

I sat back after I finished...

Honestly kinda pissed at myself. Drawing is scary enough. Approaching a blank piece of paper with a marker, no eraser, and just an idea of what's supposed to go on the page. And, the better you get, the worse that fear can get, I think. But, I feel that fear builds up because of mindset. When you draw for the wrong reasons. Or, create in general. The work comes out wrong. And, if you don't work to fight it, like I said a minute ago, it can reverberate into the future and really mess with your work.

20180418_082148.jpg

That's when I decided to keep on drawing until I did something I really liked. And, being a tough person to please it was a bit daunting. But, that was what I committed to myself. Because I wanted to start to cultivating the right mindset for this whole endeavor. I messed up with my photography and I was not going to let that happen with art.

So I drew.

20180418_082151.jpg

Until suddenly I hit on something. Most people have noticed by now that I don't really draw faces. Most of my figures have a blank mask. There's several reasons for that, one of them being that I'm not really good at them. So, when I saw this image, how I had sketched the outline for her face, I was like, 'AHA!' And then I fell down a rabbit hole trying to figure out faces, heads, and perspective.

20180418_082156.jpg

It was a slow start...I mean, it looks a lot easier than it is. You can start with those ovals and lines, thinking in terms of perspective, but when your pen hits the paper and suddenly you need to create details like ears, eyes, noses...and shadows? Wow...application vs theory, hard core.

20180418_082200.jpg

But, I persisted. And I ran with it, letting myself just explore a bit. And, what came out in the end might not seem that impressive to many, but to me it's an accomplishment. Which, is the most important thing to me. After all, art is a series of complex skills that get woven together to create expression and you need to know and be able to work with so many to make things look right...or just the way you want them to. So, I'm good with drawing crazy faces for hours on end.

That was yesterdays creative journey. Gotta get started on todays now. :)
Michael

20180418_082205.jpg


See available original drawings for sale

Currently $10 ea + $10s/h




Sort:  

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

OMG. Your skill is distinct and eye catching. I admire your dedication. Sometimes it's easy to forget why we started in the first place. Thanks for giving us all a reminder to step outside of our comfort zone.

Thanks so much! Gotta be dedicated if you wanna get good at something. :) My creative path started so many years ago and I got so frustrated that in the end I did forget...which is why I started something new :) If you feel you're stagnating, move in a different direction. Best way to move forward, hehe. Hope you have a great day!

Are you considering taking up graphic novel or comic book illustration?

Not really. A lot of this stuff is just to build the base skills to be able to do bigger things. Trying to get into that industry I know I'll run up against the same issues I had with photography. So, I'm just going to let things take me where they take me instead of trying to make a plan. Tired of trying of trying to figure destinations. I want to just enjoy the journey a bit more :)

Well, the work is great. Good luck

Thanks! I can use all the luck I can get :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29