Baby Van's Filmstrip Paddington Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art7 years ago

Quilting for newborn nieces and nephews is one of my favorite things! I am only behind by one at this point (since moving to Panama). This is a quilt I made for my nephew, Van, when he was born about four years ago. I had a lot of Paddington fabric and thought it would make a nice, bright quilt for a little boy.

1619603_10153834577555035_1419244209_n.jpg

It is not exactly a Filmstrip Pattern, but it was close. I followed a tutorial for a filmstrip quilt but I did not use the background fabric like it said to. I just decided to do colorful patches all around and then border each square with red.
1959962_10153834577630035_1783407550_n.jpg

I used the leftover fabric on the back and just sewed it together with large stripes. To quilt it together, I did free motion all over. I love the way it turned out and I really was not a fan of the Paddington fabric to begin with! I love how colorful it is (definitely hides stains better than some of the light colored ones I have done).
1689790_10153834577815035_662824074_n.jpg

I think he was pretty happy with the final result! He looks pretty cute laying in his quilt a few months later!



Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Baby McKenzie’s Perfectly Pink Girlie Quilt
Baby M’s Soft Flannel Quilt
Bring Joel Home I-Spy Quilt
My Niece Ellanor’s Baby Quilt
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


monday.png

#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!

Sort:  

@apanamamama You really are talented! This quilt was perfect for a boy and although I love Paddington, I think that you made the right choice to use it in this way :). Simply gorgeous and something that Van will treasure :) He sure looks like he's enjoying it! How long did it take to make?

Thank you! :) I don't even remember how long it took me to make. I used to work on them after the kids would go to bed or during their hour rest time. So probably a month's worth of that at least. That would be 2 hours in the evening and one in the day if I worked every one of those. My smallest quilt (Stack of Sweets) took me 24 hours total to make. That's the only one I've timed...for fear it's a lot longer than I remember it being. ;) Thanks for stopping by!

Have you ever thought of starting a side business selling whatever hand-crafted?

I'm 1000% convinced you can make sell your products at a premium because I really want to buy one!

Lol - I know this person I used to follow and she would sell her quilts. I can't remember what she priced them at, but they weren't high enough for the amount of time put into them. My smallest baby quilt (about the size of a small blanket) took me 24 hours total to complete. And it was pretty small!! The bigger ones could be 10 times that and I don't think one could price them around $2000. ;) Thanks for the compliment though.

Hi @apanamamama! I never fail to be incredibly impressed by your quilts! You did an amazing job and now I am jealous of that baby. happy #NeedlworkMonday!

Lol - thanks! I love it too. It's almost sad/hard for me to give them away sometimes. I feel like that is the best kind of gift - one that you are sad to pass along! :)

Nailed it! That is how I feel when I gift someone a lamp. At least this is how we know it is a labor of love.

Quilts are always such a treasure. So much time and love goes into each and every one.....and what a blessing to give it to a family member to cherish.

Wonderful post @apanamamama!!

Thanks! Yeah, I love making them when I have the time! :)

Wow! Your post hits us with bright bold colors! I think this is one of my favorite quilts you have shared with us so far!!! I love the pattern and the colors on this one. I love the design you chose for the back.

Your nephew is just such a cutie. He looks like a baby doll!! 😍

Lol - he's a handful. ;) Thanks - yes, I love bold colors for baby boys. I think it ended up super cute as well. I have a few favorite quilts for various reasons. I hope to do another one similar to this one some day.

Beautiful! I love quilting and still 40+ years later have the baby quilt my Grandmother made for me! Thank you for sharing 🤙🏽

That is awesome that you still have the quilt! You should share a post about it and tag me in it. I'd love to see it. :)

That is awesome. I appreciate that kind of talent. And patience. It looks good. I can see the paddington s better in the last photo.

Thanks! I'm glad you like it. Yes, they are more in focus in the last pic. :) I wasn't a huge fan of the fabric as a whole, but love all the colors together with it.

What a nice quilt. Just enough Paddington without being overwhelming. Cute kid too :)

Thanks! :) It did just have just a little bit of Paddington. I'm thinking I have some more around here somewhere if I decide to make another one like it. I love the colors. :)

Very nicely put together. I've been seeing my wife knitting some tiny hats lately. It must be Monday! @ironshield

Nice! I'm glad she made some hats. I am not able to do knitting or crocheting. It is NOT relaxing for me at all. I have done a few scarves but never a hat and I'm afraid it would be more work than reward. ;) Ha.

My wife corrected me, she wasn't 'knitting', she was cro-she-ting or some other French word. @ironshield

2FE290B6-9173-4358-96E6-A4365BE8C469.jpeg

My wife has further informed me that she does not care if I ever know the difference between knitting and crosheting. It's "inmaterial" to her. (that's a pun).

She says that she does care if I know the difference between a bargain and a bad deal. And that I'm pretty good at. I mean I married her, didn't I? She's one of the best deals I ever made. @ironshield

Class work! I think the baby likes it)

He did seem to like it! :) Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44