Do Sound Waves Disappear?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

image.png


Do sound waves disappear?
A face can be forgotten but a voice carries on

All voices have a power that resonates
Braking air and creating waves

Some voices are scat
Embedded in the grooves of a record player

Some voices are funk recorded in an electromagnetic tape
To be played in a Boom Box Stereo

Some voices are electronic pressed in digital accuracy
Remembered in circuitry

Records break

Tapes are twisted and erased

Circuits are broken

But voices are still there
Never to be erased

At the bank of the River
I kneel down and cry out
The rushing waters answer
A blend of all voices come out as one

I remember my friend
I know there is no end

I hear his voice
The life he lived is not
erased
Some have already forgotten him
But I’m sure we will meet again

I will hear his voice call my name
It will not be the same
He will have a new voice

He will have a new name
Unique among all creation
These sound waves will never disappear.


image.png

image.png


I cannot understand why my good friend had to leave the world at almost the same time I had to leave for Korea twenty years ago. I don’t understand much of anything but I know I will never forget his voice or his bouncy afro. This poem is written for my friend Tom who made beautiful crazy music together with me in high school with his bass guitar. I will never forget the “Diarrhea Song” we made.

”When you’re walking down the street and you feel some heat __ __ Diarrhea!!”


Pictures are found at Pixabay. This is my poem for day 54 in the poetry competition @d-pend. https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

Verse of the Day/ Revelation 21:4

"He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death' or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away."

Mineopoly Quote:

"Let's get the band back together."

Check out my recent post @mineopoly

Changes
Charlie
Mineopoly Board Game
Reconciliation
Ping-Pong-Whack
Denim
50 ways
For who you are
Gravity
Spring Rain
Ned Sightings
Celebrate Earth Day
Be Still
K-pop Corn
Seed of Love
Corner Store

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What do you hear at the river side?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

those who pass on are remembered in many ways. I wish I had recorded my parents' voices and now when they are long gone, I wish I could hear their comforting words. Thank you for the beautiful poem. I have so much to learn from you

My husband passed away about 6 months ago. I will never forget his voice, and often laugh as I remember some of his favorite sayings. Thank you for the reminder.

Thank you for sharing @firststeps. I wrote a long reply to your comment and then erased it. Sometimes adding words doesn't help.

"You can tell a lot about people from the shoes they wear."

Forrest Gump's momma

A beautiful mystical and philosophical write, Mineopoly. I think in space sound waves do travel but as light:)

Thanks for reading @pryelfoltz. You are the best example of how we should all interact with the poems here. Your comment about sounds traveling in space as light is really interesting. That's how the quote goes, "E.T. phone home."

Thank you, Mineopoly. I do my best and have had lots of experience interacting in other online poetry forums. Perhaps everyone else just need to learn. You mentioned a great movie:)

Beautiful poem I like how relates the sense of the audition with the visual is fantastic, I could see and hear his poem, I captivated his story and the images speak for themselves of what his poetry, good work, greetings

Thank you @aplausos. Greetings to you my friend. I'm glad you enjoyed this. You are actually the first human to make a comment. I appreciate your opinion.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Very doubtful

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Is it true that you know absolutely nothing about humanity @magic8ball?

I have been summoned to answer your question! My Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes definitely

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68