For What You Really Are

in #writing6 years ago

image.png


I knew you even before I met you
And I never expected anything more from you
Than what you really are

Your blemishes never deterred me
From pursuing the beauty inside

You didn’t have to change
You didn’t have to hide

I was not driven by passion or pride
I was not blinded by pubescent stride

I was in my right mind when I said,
“Wash your make-up away”
I was free when I welcomed you
Just the way you are

I never expected you
To be what you are not
I never expected you
To give me what
You could not

I only wanted you to be who you really are
In all your weaknesses and faults I stood near

You know that I held you dear
There was not a moment I doubted you

I knew we would have trying times
Tantrums and empty rhymes

I knew that you would doubt me
But I never doubted you
I stood with you for who you really are

You were afraid that I would touch you
You were afraid that I would change you
You were afraid that I would fix you
But I stood with you

I never left your side
And I never will
Twenty years is nothing
But a drop in a bucket

I count nothing as a loss
All the sufferings and trials
Are long forgotten
And I look for years to come
That you make me one

I love you not for what you’ve done
But for who you really are


image.png

I admit I do not show my love well enough to those who need to know it. My wife and good friends and kids, my dad and mom and brothers. I love them beyond all of their shortcomings. So much that they sometimes don’t even get it. There are so many mixed signals and misunderstandings.

When it comes down to it really it is not what we want to get out of people or what we get out of a relationship that lasts. It is who we are that stands the test of time and who we are together. I have reached my limits several times and each time found there is still room to grow.

This is the closest I got to an actual love poem although I have talked about love and written about love. I still blush when I write a love poem and to publish it I feel like I just got caught passing a note to a friend at school and found it intercepted by a nosey teacher. This is my 48th poem in the Steemitschool poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemitschool Discord)

Verse of the Day/ John 15:13

“Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.”

Mineopoly Quote:

"There is a love bigger than ego."

Check out my recent post @mineopoly

Gravity
Spring Rain
I Wanted a Bud Light
Celebrate Earth Day
Be Still
K-pop Corn
Seed of Love
Corner Store
BBQ
Jungfrau Smile
Old Boots

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

Is there anything more?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

I agree with your words.

I love you not for what you’ve done
But for who you really are

The beautiful sharing. Thanks

Thank you. I am going to share your happy contest to. Look at my blog and you can see it resteemed.

Yeah I've check out your blog. Thanks for you helping me. I'm so appreciate. Success for you always 😊

My friend, you know how to be a father. It is a feeling that fills our being. You say wise words that reach the heart.

Wonderful poem and how love should be. You are a wonderful friend Christopher and I’m sure all those close to your heart appreciate you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63626.54
ETH 2727.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56