Changes

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

image.png


My boy came home from school and said,
"Hey dad my voice is changing."
It's hard to believe what's happening to me

I held him in my arms just yesterday
He was the tinniest little thing you'd see
We weren't sure if he needed the incubator
But now he looks like the terminator

He is bigger than me
And not just his feet
When he wears my clothes
They all get holes

When he pouts everybody knows
His voice is strong and so are his fists
If you are not careful you'll get a bloody nose

I'm sure it was last week I called the taxi
To take us to the maternity ward
Now this kid is showing me
How to shot a basket off the backboard

The times are changing
The time has come
For all of us to grow
To put aside our differences
Laugh a little
open our eyes
and see

He is becoming me
The changes that occur
Make it clear
But not just here
In everything in life
Take time to notice
And it will not take you by surprise
But will only be a pleasant change in scenery.


image.png

image.png

Picture source 1 , 2 . This is my poem for day 53 in the poetry competition @d-pend. https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

Verse of the Day/ Ecclesiastes 3:1

"To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven."

Mineopoly Quote:

"I'm glad we are still friends.'"

Check out my recent post @mineopoly

Charlie
Mineopoly Board Game
Reconciliation
Ping-Pong-Whack
Denim
50 ways
For who you are
Gravity
Spring Rain
Ned Sightings
Celebrate Earth Day
Be Still
K-pop Corn
Seed of Love
Seed of Love
Corner Store

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What changes have you noticed recently?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

I can totally relate to this poem. I have a boy and he is growing up to be a man. Earlier, he used to enjoy my cuddling. Oh dear, when did he grow up? Time flies so fast. A beautiful poem which touched my heart

Yes @sayee. I don't what to do sometimes. He is a child in a giant's body. I just give him a hug. He usually has a lot to say.

When we look in the mirror, we see the image of our father. Then we think, my father is me!

Again your words are deep @corderosiete. I hated when I found myself turning into my father. Now my son is turning into me... but a little bit better.

My son is 6 foot 2 and towers over me lol I get your poem :D

That is one awesome boy. My son's not up there yet but on his way. Thanks for the comment @andysantics48. I'm glad you got the poem and the poem got you.

They grow up fast on us!! My kids are both in their late 20s, I have no clue where the years went.

Beautiful. A lot of truth in your poem Christopher @mineopoly. All I can say is cherish your children for they are a gift.
I remember when my son’s voice deepened and would give anything to see him and hear his voice again.

I understand where you are coming from @redheadpei. Thank you for keeping your faith and hope. I don't know your whole story. If you wrote about your son and family in a post can you link the post here? I am interested in reading.

Thanks Christopher for your kindness. I mentioned the loss briefly in my introduction post. I did write a small book about Kevin and the spiritual journey after on Smashwords called Child of Danaan.

Thank you. Get some rest now. Again thank you. I will take some time to read Kevin's story and yours. You did mention your son at least once before to me.

I read the "Island Girl" post. I couldn't find your book. Enjoy some fresh air. I will give John an extra big hug.

Wow. I love this.
At first glance, one might just think it's just a story but the evolving poetry is superb.

The irregular lines makes the reader to be more concentrated, with the unusual shift in style.

Thank you @rexdickson. Most of my poems are stories. I have no set structure but I think about the reader's point of view. I usually don't count syllables or force rhyming patterns but I like the words to flow and come to a point. I'm glad you like this poem. I will look at your poem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68