It Must Have Been A Party! - Cleaning up after a great Icicle Party, including some Steemit statisticssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #icicleparty7 years ago (edited)

Did anyone take a grapefruit and wear it like a hat? Come see the party winners and Steemit stats!

tsuDSC04022WEBparty557f9a.jpg

Aww, jeez! Nobody wore a grapefruit and now there's statistics! Cleaning up after a party is always a letdown. I just got back from work travel last week, so the Icicle Party mess is a little stale. But it's nice to reflect on the fun times. It turned out to be a great Icicle Party, thanks to everyone who stopped by for some fun! Now let's look at the all the party winners!


Contest 1 - MUSIC - Help me make an Ice Storm Music Playlist

How many songs about ice storms, icicles, or just plain ice do you know? Well, now there's an Ice Storm Music Playlist, thanks to @shortcut, @ddsteinn, and @uwelang. Each of them won $1 SBD for their music links. I like that "Ice Bear" song! And @uwelang won an extra $1 SBD for being a Super DJ, putting 4 good songs in the playlist.


Contest 2 - PARTY FOOD - You bring some food to the party

Every party is better with good food! The party started with a stuffed bread bowl from @liliana.duarte. Then we had some wonderful Caldo Verde - a traditional Portuguese Soup from @liliana.duarte. And @uwelang brought shrimp pasta and a chocolate torte. Each of these posts won $1 SBD for their cooks. And we are all winners for enjoying their cooking!


Contest 3 - JOKES - Tell me some Ice jokes

Hoo boy! There were a lot of good jokes at the icicle party! My favorite was the one about the little drip icicle, by @ddschteinn. Congratulations on your $2 SBD prize, @ddschteinn! And thanks to everyone who left a joke. We can all use more humor!


Contest 4 - CARDS - Design a greeting card from any of my ice storm photos

I haven't figured out how to play a card game here on Steemit. So this party contest was to make a postcard-style greeting card from one of my ice storm photos. The $3 SBD prize goes to @ddschteinn for this winning postcard -- it's great! It even has a postcard message on the back. Stinky is a trouble-maker!


Contest 5 - POETRY - Write poetry about icicles or ice storms

Steemit has some great poets -- and the Icicle Party was full of poems about ice storms and icicles. Check out the winning rhyming poem, "Icicles on Bicycles" by @karenmckersie. The winning haiku was "Car is Frozen Shut", by haiku master @jacobtothe. They each won $2 SBD. Too bad nobody entered anything in the limerick category though.


Super Enthusiastic Party Supporter Prize

I gave a special $2 SBD prize to @ddschteinn for being such an enthusiastic supporter of my Icicle Party. They made three separate posts encouraging people to come to my party - There's An Icicle Party Going On Right Now!, Ode to a Future Puddle, and The Icicle Party Reporter - Party Update. I sure appreciated the shoutouts and the nice way you used my ice storm images, @ddschteinn! Thanks -- and I hope you are fully recovered from all that partying by now! :)


Here's a tip of my icicle cocktail glass to all the winners and everyone who entered anything in my contests. You made it a real party!


Icicle Party and Ice Storm Series Steemit Statistics and Review

The Original Ice Storm Photo Series

This whole Ice Storm photo essay series and Icicle Party was an interesting experience. I made 11 posts about the Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of '16, with over 100 original photos and lots of information about different kinds of trees, how icicles form, and how to deal with a power outage. The difference in total payout for each post was so variable. There's not even a relationship between engagement (comments) and payout.

CommentsPayoutPost
21$2.12The Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of 2016
15$15.83Sequoia and Larch Trees
19$12.14Blue Spruce and Western Redcedar Trees
8$0.37Noble Fir, Grand Fir, and Eastern White Pine Trees
18$31.00Douglas-Firs 1
11$7.06Douglas Firs 2
13$0.51Ponderosa Pines
21$0.53Hazel, Walnut, Birch, Holly, and Elm Trees
44$12.42Garden Plants
33$44.35Fruit Trees
23$2.14House and Home

Total Comments: 236. Total earnings: $128.47 (including curator share)

I do think that the two posts related to gardening did better because they were upvoted by SteemTrail, after being upvoted by the @gardening-trail. And @curie did upvote the 2nd and 3rd posts in the series. My take-away? I do like getting higher earnings, no doubt about that! And I like it when people connect with me on my posts. I try to make content that is worth anyone's time to look at it. But ultimately, my take-way is to keep posting what I want, because that's all that will matter in the end. I like looking back at my ice storm photos with the extra information I put into those posts. And I enjoyed foraging some icicles for drinks, too!

Party Posts

There was a lot of Icicle Party posting going on -- and not just by me! With this post, I made a total of 3 Icicle Party posts. But @ddschteinn made 3 posts, too. Thanks, @curie, for noticing @ddschteinn's last post about the party! In Michigan, @old-guy-photos was inspired to share their own icicle experience. And @liliana.duarte was inspired by how well my garden Portuguese Kale held up to the ice storm - by making a great traditional Portuguese soup, Caldo Verde, for their great Sunday Cook series.

CommentsPayoutPost
80$3.36Icicle Party - Drinks, Contests
20$0.20Icicle Party - Music Playlist
xxIcicle Party - Winners
19$0.04There's An Icicle Party Going On Right Now!
6$0.03Ode to a Future Puddle
17$15.58The Icicle Party Reporter - Party Update
4$4.87My Icicle Gift to You
22$8.08Portuguese Green Soup - Caldo Verde

I'm really glad to see that @ddschteinn, @old-guy-photos, and @liliana.duarte earned something from their ice storm-inspired posts!

Total Party Prizes

Prizes were flying at the Icicle Party! It started with giving $1 SBD to five people who had done special things in connection with my Ice Storm series -- @tangmo, @screenname, @countryinspired, @liliana.duarte, and @pfunk. During the party, I gave out another $ 18 SBD in prizes -- for a total of $23 in Ice Storm awards.

But that's not all! My Icicle Party post ended up winning 30 STEEM in the #originaltag contest, run by @the-future and judged by @kus-knee. Thanks, @the-future and @kus-knee!

I'm going to relax a bit after all this cleaning up! I have one more batch of foraged ice storm icicles to use in a drink, so I'm all set! I hope you don't ever get a damaging ice storm. But if there's any ice storm at all in your future, I hope you enjoy it by foraging some icicles, taking some photos, and sharing them here on Steemit. And if I host another party, I hope to see you there!

tsuSnapShotWEBa4b9a.jpg



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Such a nice party, you had a lot of work preparing it! Our portuguese kales are producing sprouts/greens (I'm not sure how to translate this word), but I leave a photo that I catch this last weekend.
DSC_5382.JPG

Do you also eat these parts (before the flowers bloom) We do appreciate that (grelos de couve)!

It really was a fun party! Yes, I really like the flowerbuds and stalks of the Portuguese Kale! I was surprised to find out they had white flowers, instead of yellow like broccoli, other kale, or collards. They really are a unique plant! The flower stalks are great. I'm glad to know what you call them, too -- grelos de couve. Thanks!

Yes, these ones are white! We also call it "espigos", but "grelos" it's more usual. We appreciate a lot these "grelos" with meat or fish :)

Looks like a good time was had by all! And now I crave a cocktail. I'll have to forage in my liquor cabinet and see what's left. LOL

haha -- that's foraging of a sort, alright! There can be wild things in the liquor cabinet -- like Wild Turkey! Thanks for stopping by my post-party cleanup. It's rough doing that all alone, for sure! ; )

A downvote was applied to partially counter earlier whale votes as an experiment to reduce whale domination of voting influence. Not intended to express an opinion on the content nor result in a net reduction of rewards or reputation (automated notice)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66989.78
ETH 3524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69