The Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of '16 - 11 - House and Home - 9 original photossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Ice storms can be damaging to house and home, but beautiful, too. What havoc happened at Haphazard Homestead? Come into my post and see!

tsuDSC03965WEBe25fd.jpg

My neighbor's TV antenna held the ice just fine, but without power, they had nothing to watch.

Here's the first post on the Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of 2016. I've already shown the effect of the ice on my Sequoia and Larch Trees; Blue Spruce and Western Redcedar Trees; Noble Fir, Grand Fir, and Eastern White Pine Trees; two sets of Douglas-Firs, Ponderosa Pines, Hazel, Walnut, Birch, Holly, and Elm Trees, Garden Plants, and Fruit Trees.

To thank everyone who has been active on my Ice Storm photo series, I'll be having an Ice Storm Party on Saturday! There will be prizes and contests that will last all weekend. You are all invited!



Ice on the Wires

In an ice storm, what's the most worrisome risk? Broken electrical wires! On the ground, they are dangerous. And ice on wires and electrical equipment can cut power to individual houses or entire neighborhoods. During the ice storm, I could hear electrical transformers popping and exploding all across the neighborhood, as electrical loads routed around down wires then overwhelmed other transformers. Each damaged transformer put even more load on the remaining transformers, eventually blowing them, too.

tsuDSC03768WEBdf66e.jpg

With the first "POP!", I unplugged all my electronic equipment, refrigerator, and deep freezers, even though I still had power. Why? Because shifting loads on a local electrical grid can damage circuits, power supplies, and motors. The power company quickly reduced the voltage across my whole neighborhood, to protect the remaining transformers. I could see the reduced voltage, because my incandescent lightbulbs all became very dim. Low voltage lets people still use electric heaters, although the heaters will put out only a fraction of their usual heat. At least it's enough to keep pipes and people from freezing.

tsuDSC03868WEB667d6.jpg

High voltage spikes can certainly damage electronic equipment, like computers and TVs. But low voltage poses real risks, too. The exact impact depends on the quality and design of the electronic components and motors. Some motors will even run backwards under low voltage! Because refrigerator and freezer motors can kick on anytime, I needed to unplug them, too, not just my computers. Then I went to my neighbor's house, because I knew they would physically have trouble doing all that themselves.

tsuDSC03844-1HDR-1WEB109b9.jpg

We were under low voltage for nearly 24 hours. Then the power went out completely for nearly another 24 hours, as crews replaced transformers and wires across the neighborhood. Ironically, the fanciest neighborhood in town took the longest time to get power restored - almost 2 weeks! Their area had so many big trees damaged, each house had damage on their own individual service wires, and their low-density development meant relatively few customers were affected. For once, the "little people" got treated better! Our public power company has a transparent hierarchy process already laid out for prioritizing service repairs, so it's clear there's no favoritism for some neighborhoods.

tsuDSC03936WEBfe192.jpg

Our neighborhoods are all so dependent on the electrical grid working all the time. This event was a reminder that being prepared for disruptions is a good idea. I can get by here at Haphazard Homestead for quite awhile, and pretty easily, too. How about you?



Ice on Stuff

There was plenty ice on all sorts of things in my yard and garden, too. At least no birds were trying to use the birdhouse. I didn't need to hang my laundry on the sagging laundry line. The berry vines were off the wires. And I didn't need to use any of the garden plant cages for tomatoes, peppers, and other summer crops. They all had their own charm, covered with ice. Take a look!

tsuDSC03776WEB0e9d3.jpg

tsuDSC03769-1WEBd2d44.jpg

tsuDSC03789WEB8ff7f.jpg

tsuDSC03937WEB00658.jpg

I know that some folks suffered a lot of damage from this unusually severe and long-lasting ice storm. But I was lucky. I'm prepared to be without services for quite awhile. And I know what to do when there are problems on the electrical grid.


What About You?

Have you been in an ice storm? How long of a power outage have you been through? Do you still have a chance of an ice storm where you live? I would like to know!

Other posts in this Ice Storm Series:

  1. The Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of 2016
  2. Sequoia and Larch Trees
  3. Blue Spruce and Western Redcedar Trees
  4. Noble Fir, Grand Fir, and Eastern White Pine Trees
  5. Douglas-Firs 1
  6. Douglas Firs 2
  7. Ponderosa Pines
  8. Hazel, Walnut, Birch, Holly, and Elm Trees
  9. Garden Plants
  10. Fruit Trees

I hope you have been enjoying these ice storm photo essays. Ice storms are uncommon weather events and so transient. With a storm this big, I wanted to document and celebrate it.

To thank everyone who has been active on my Ice Storm photo series, I'll be having an Ice Storm Party on Saturday! There will be prizes and contests that will last all weekend. You are all invited!



Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

It looks pretty, though 8-).

Thanks! Ice is pretty, but it can disappear faster than an auto-digesting mushroom! So I had to take a lot of photos, lol.

I enjoy your images. How do you translate your life as homesteading? Clearly you are not off grid. Is your home remote?

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed all that ice! That's an interesting question, for sure. There are so many conceptions of what homesteading is. No, I am not remote or off-grid, but I don't think either one of those characterizes a homestead. My preferred definition of homesteading is a "lifestyle of agrarian self-sufficiency".

The original folks that lived here, in this house from the 1930s and on this 1.3 acres of land, supported 10 kids and a mother-in-law, all on production from this land and the salary of a small-appliance repairman. They grew almost all their own food, including a cow and calf every year, and by canning their food. They are long gone, but the purpose of this land remains the same - to feed and support me.

The town has grown around my place, so I have close neighbors, who are in the town boundary. But I am still "county", not "city". So I can have animals, burn brush, and have outbuildings. I bought this place debt-free. I chose it for its regional location in a benign climate, its location close to town, and its Class I soils. I try to keep a low "embodied energy" profile. That's one reason I have bought older homes throughout my life, rather than build new.

I use recycled materials to build any outbuildings and for most projects. I harvest rainwater, use greywater, have an irrigation well, line dry my clothes, ride my bike (a self-sufficiency that's easier because I am not remote). I have had wild-gathered bees, and I harvest wild meat from my yard. I grow fruits, nuts, and vegetables, and recycle all the natural materials in my yard by composting or some other way. I'm classed a farm by USDA because of all my fruit-trees and food production. I preserve a lot of my food - canning, drying, fermenting, freezing. I eat my yard -- foraging a lot of wild plants, including weeds, flowers, seeds, and tree leaves.

So I guess that was a long-winded description of how I translate my life as homesteading! But you got me thinking, lol. : ) I probably ought to make a full-blown post about this sometime. Thanks!

Thanks for your thoughtful response. Congratulations on choosing your lifestyle so consciously. Admiration !

My neighbors all have opted for nat gas generators. I haven't yet because we seldom lose power, and if we to generally is short term.

That's interesting that they all went with natural gas generators, rather than gasoline. They would be less messy, for sure! It is amazing how fast the power companies can get systems restored under difficult conditions. Those line workers earn every penny, I think. Here's to keeping the power flowing!

Some folks (my neighbors) have more money than they know what to do with lol. The nat gat ones are nice coz they come on automatically and are always ready. They are the big ones that are the size of an AC unit and can mostly power the whole house, but they aren't cheap lol.

haha -- That is a nice feature, though, about the units being more automatic than gasoline generators.

@haphazard-hstead you've got really clear shots of those icicles here!
i love the ones on the wires the most.

Thanks! -- I'm trying to answer my comments faster, lol. This is a fresh comment! ; )

@haphazard-hstead hahaha
yes, this one's fresh indeed now am not surprised
I checked out the avocado post you referred he's growing it indoors, too.
I wonder if he's in California or Florida they have plenty of avocados there.
I hope your house is warm enough! Stay safe you foraging woman! hahaha
May I have a request?
You have plenty of know hows on which weed is edible.
Would you please write articles about that but then in classifications
for example - mallows .. and then with pics please I want to learn
I'm curious what they taste like and please include how we can eat them
is that too much to ask?
I really want to learn dead serious!
Why? Why not? :P

EDIT : if you do - please do one by one - like dandelions only - no other weed or two or 3 up to you but make it easy to remember please. THANKS A LOT IN ADVANCE!

Uh-oh, now I'm back to stale comments again! :O

I've been thinking about something like this. See if this post about the English Daisy fits what you are thinking of. I've been going back and forth about whether to wait for the HardFork and its 7-day payout, to encourage people to engage and comment.

If you want to get started right away, I have a bunch of YouTube videos on individual plants, like Field Mustard, Spruce Trees, Bittercress Redbud trees, and probably some others. And there's more where I cook them, too. Wild plants can be real food for regular people, for sure. My channel is Haphazard Homestead. I need to get back to posting videos. I have so much to post there, but I spend too much time on Steemit, lol.

@haphazard-hstead it doesn't do me any damage so I dont mind .. not surprised today cause I left you replies last time so its okay.

Yes something like that.. so I actually missed that? Ive been away when I was sick am sorry you may send me your post in the chat when you publish one like this so I won't miss it!

Thanks!

Very beautiful capture of the ice. Love the wire and screen photos. Agree, it can be a pain though. I did a post a few weeks ago about wrassling with my wires and ice. Yee haa. Thanks for sharing. I've enjoyed your whole series on ice.

I hope you got through your storm in good shape! I'll have to look for your post! Thanks for enjoying my series!

Awesome photos @haphazard-hstead!!! I really like the tomato cages image. That must have been one heck of a scary time. I wonder how many ankles and hips were broken? I bet the emergency rooms were on high alert!

It was quite a time here, that's for sure. People were generally good, though, and stayed home. That helped a lot!

Amazing and wonderful ice pictures! I like them all. Great shot! :)

Thanks, @tangmo. Ice is temporary, so I tried to capture it to help me remember the big storm.

You're welcome! That's really great! :D

That would be scary to hear all the transformers bursting! I have heard of such severe ice storms here in Iowa, but I don't think we have had one of that magnitude since the late 90's. We have a gas generator, but have luckily never had to use it for emergency - only recreation!

It was like a fireworks show. I had no idea there were that many transformers in our neighborhood! Enjoy your generator -- for recreation only, I agree! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66494.63
ETH 3508.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66