The Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of '16 - 8 - Hazel, Walnut, Birch, Holly and Elm Trees - 10 original photossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

My conifers came through the big ice storm OK -- but some deciduous trees did not fare so well! Which ones? Come into my post to find out!

tsuDSC04018-1_WEBff1ae.jpg

Here's the first post on the Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of 2016. I've already shown the effect of the ice on my Sequoia and Larch Trees; Blue Spruce and Western Redcedar Trees; Noble Fir, Grand Fir, and Eastern White Pine Trees; two sets of Douglas-Firs, and Ponderosa Pines. I'll be posting three more ice storm photosets, with fruit trees, garden plants, and homestead miscellany. And then we'll have an ice storm party!


Hazel

Oregon's Willamette Valley grows most of the USA's domestic hazel nuts. The European Hazel trees (Corylus avellana) in my yard were all planted by squirrels and I have to fight them for nuts in the fall! Their branches really show how much ice was on every branch of every tree around! The hazels came through the storm fine because they are so flexible. The branches with the catkins that bloom in late winter bent over, but didn't break!

tsuDSC03835-1_WEB0ff48.jpg

tsuDSC03837-1_WEBbb567.jpg

tsuDSC03838-1WEB25c3c3.jpg


Walnut

The Willamette Valley is a great place for growing English Walnuts (Juglans regia), too. I harvested so many walnuts off this great tree for many years. But it was grafted onto Black Walnut (Juglans nigra) rootstock - standard practice back in the day. That causes problems down the road -- my poor tree died in 2015. I'll write more about that in a future post. So sad!

But the dead tree has been great for woodpeckers, so I've left it standing. The ice storm brought down a lot of branches! The cleanup has been a real effort, but there wasn't any real damage.

tsuDSC03682-1-1WEB278bdb.jpg


Birch

These two young River Birch (Betula nigra) are about 30 feet tall, with a lot of fine branches to collect a lot of ice weight. But look how flexible those trees are! They just bent over! The ice lasted for four days -- and those trees just stayed bent over like that. But as soon as the ice melted, they stood right back up -- no problem!

tsuDSC03742-1_WEB238c9.jpg


Holly

What about my English Holly (Ilex aquifolium) tree? It has leaves all winter. Will it bend of break?

tsuDSC03987-1_WEB17e34.jpg

tsuDSC03709-1WEB206298.jpg

Oh, it broke alright! It turns out to be a brittle tree! Can you see where the top broke out, in the top middle of this picture? The top of the tree is lying down below, with the lighter undersides of the leaves showing.

I may take this tree out completely. English Holly trees can be invasive here in the Pacific Northwest. Or maybe I'll prune it and let a side branch grow into a replacement top. I haven't decided yet. Any ideas?


American Elm

My neighbor has an American Elm (Ulmus americana) tree that is huge! In the eastern US, these elms were decimated by Dutch Elm disease, a complex of fungi spread by bark beetles. But this tree was isolated from all that. It's probably the largest American Elm tree I will see in my life.

All elms are so vulnerable to ice storms! This massive tree was no different. I guess it could have been worse. One large branch fell off onto another neighbor's roof. Yes, that branch is resting on the roof of a good-sized house, in the lower right of the next picture! The whole neighborhood heard it fall! We all came out into the ice storm to see what had happened and to check that nobody was hurt.

tsuDSC04010-1_WEBe63aa.jpg

tsuDSC03946-1_WEB34e98.jpg

Elms are vulnerable because there are so many fine branches, way out on the ends of the big limbs. They are perfect for catching and holding massive amounts of ice. The top of the tree lost a lot of fine branches in the middle of its big crown. I hope those breaks heal pretty quickly, rather than letting any disease set in. But the damage could have been so much worse! All over town, trees smaller than this one split right in half, down to the roots!

What's nice is that nobody wants to take the tree out or trim it back. The two neighbors affected by the tree don't want to cut anymore off, except the limb on the roof. And their home insurance companies are fine with that. So I hope this magnificent old American Elm can enjoy the return of the sun with the spring and summer seasons, and fill its crown back in with plenty of new growth.

tsuDSC04018-1_WEBff1ae.jpg


What About You?

Do you have any of these trees where you live? Have you ever seen a Birch tree bend over from ice or snow? Have you ever been through an ice storm? Have you ever had trees hurt by winter weather? I hope your winter is going great!

Other posts in this Ice Storm Series:

  1. The Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of 2016
  2. Sequoia and Larch Trees
  3. Blue Spruce and Western Redcedar Trees
  4. Noble Fir, Grand Fir, and Eastern White Pine Trees
  5. Douglas-Firs 1
  6. Douglas Firs 2
  7. Ponderosa Pines

Follow me to see more ice storm photosets. There's only three left - fruit trees, garden plants, and homestead miscellany. Don't miss them! Because then we have an ice storm party! :D



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Ice storms do cause a lot of damage, sadly. I live a ways north of you, in Port Townsend, Washington. We've mostly just had straight snow here, but not much. Last major ice storm I was in was actually (of all places!) in Texas, many years ago-- the frozen rain caused lots of broken branches and downed power lines.

I was surprised my conifers came out of the storm so much better than the trees without any leaves. That River Birch was impressive in how it just bent over, though. Ice storms are really something -- Texas gets some tough ones. And they have a lot of Siberian Elms and Cottonwood Trees, that are just so brittle in the ice. My cousins lived in Dallas and had their carport wrecked a couple of times from ice storms. It makes for an exciting time, doesn't it!

First of all, I much regret for your dead tree. But all of your ice pictures are very amazing! I haven't ever seen these before. Thank you very much for sharing.

Thanks, @tangmo. I don't think you will ever get an ice storm in Thailand. But the ice weighs so much! It's magical to see the ice shining on all the branches, though.

We also had ice storm in Thailand but only small balls of ice falling down from the sky like raining, but these occured in the other area. I haven't experience it by myself. And no ice on the trees like your pictures. I much enjoy seeing your pictures, they are really wonderful! Thanks again for sharing!

Thanks, @tangmo. Weather is so amazing, isn't it? It seems crazy to think of all the weight of that ice, like your ice balls, that hang in the sky, floating around, until they all come down. Enjoy the nature around you! :D

Yeah! Amazing weather! Enjoy the nature around you too! :-)

Oh WOW!! The only time I get to see so much ice on plants is if i have frozen vegetables in my deepfreeze!

Lucky you! At least I got some ice storm icicles to put in my freezer, lol. I used some for my Wild Faux Pink Lemonade. And (hint, hint), I'll be using some for my Icicle Cocktails at the end of my ice storm series.

Ha haaaaaa I'll keep that in mind!

I try to save any hail from hailstorms, too. They make great ice for drinks, too -- in that case, they are "Hailstorm Highballs"! :D

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

wonderful post!

Thanks! It was an interesting storm. I'm glad I took pictures of it. It's easy to forget how much ice we had.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49