The Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of '16 - 12 - Icicle Party! - Wild Drinks, Contests and Prizes!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #icicleparty7 years ago (edited)

Now that the ice storm is over, it's Time To Party! I've got wild drinks, contests, and more. You're invited! Come on into my post and party with me!

tsuDSC04022WEBparty335972.jpg

Here's the first post on the Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of 2016. I've already shown the effect of the ice on my Sequoia and Larch Trees; Blue Spruce and Western Redcedar Trees; Noble Fir, Grand Fir, and Eastern White Pine Trees; two sets of Douglas-Firs, Ponderosa Pines, Hazel, Walnut, Birch, Holly, and Elm Trees, Garden Plants, Fruit Trees, and House and Home.



Welcome to My Icicle Party!

I made a lot of posts about the crazy, giant ice storm that happened here in Oregon's Willamette Valley. There were a lot of pictures - over 100 different photos of ice! This party is a way of saying thanks to everyone who came into my posts to leave an upvote or a comment. I appreciate your attention and support here on Steemit!

What's happening here at the party? Here's what's going on. The details are in different sections of this post. But everything is in the order here.

  1. MUSIC - Contest 1 - Help me make an Ice Storm Music Playlist
  2. PRIZES - Thank you prizes to specific Steemians
  3. DRINKS - Non-alcoholic - I'll serve it to you!
  4. FOOD - Contest 2 - You bring some food to the party
  5. JOKES - Contest 3 - Tell me some Ice jokes
  6. DRINKS - Wild Black Locust Gin and Tonic -- I'll serve it to you!
  7. CARDS - Contest 4 - Design a greeting card from any of my ice storm photos
  8. POETRY - Contest 5 - Write poetry about icicles or ice storms

When is the party over? Wednesday, March 8, 5 pm Pacific Standard Time (UTC -8). Of course, you can make your own post about any of the entries you have for the Icicle Party! But be sure to put them in the replies down below, too, and let folks know that your post is an Icicle Party Post! :D

Let's Party!!!



1. MUSIC - Contest 1 - We Need an Ice Storm Music Playlist

We've got to have music at a party! At this party, we need music about ice storms and icicles. But I'm not a good DJ. So here's the contest. Go over to my other post, the Icicle Party Music Playlist Contest. Put in a link to some music about ice storms or icicles. I'll check in every day during the party and give $1 SBD to my favorite song, out of all of them that are posted at the time. Only the first posting of any song will count. I'll be giving away at least $5 SBD over there as long as the party is going -- until Wednesday, 5 pm PST.

So you can bring up that post in another tab, and listen to some ice storm and icicle music while you are playing the contests and enjoying my party.

MUSIC - FIRST PRIZE - DAY 1 - goes to @shortcut for the Ice Bear. That's a great bear and such a song of the 80s! Thanks for coming to my party, @shortcut. Check your wallet!

FIRST PRIZE - DAY 2 - goes to @ddschtein for Ice Music. Music played on instruments made of ice! And there aren't even any bubbles in their icicle chimes or xylophones! Thanks for coming to my icicle party, @ddschteinn! Check your wallet!

FIRST PRIZE - LAST DAY - goes to @uwelang for Ice Ice Baby. There weren't any more submissions until the last day of the party. Then @uwelang came through with 4 additions to the playlist. They all were good, but this one fit the mood of the party -- a little more cool than the others. Thanks for coming to my icicle party, @uwelang! Check your wallet!



2. PRIZES - Thank you!

I appreciate everyone who came into my posts, upvoted them, or left comments. I especially appreciate that some people were consistent in stopping by to look at my posts.

@tangmo - was the most consistent ice storm enthusiast, leaving comments in 5 consecutive posts!
@screenname - was my most frequent commenter - meaning my ice storm posts were consistently undervalued, lol!
@countryinspired and @liliana.duarte - also showed up and commented on over half my ice storm posts!
@pfunk - let me know that some of my photos were looking funky and helped me use my photo tools better!

As a thank you, each one of you should check your wallets!



3. DRINKS - Non-alcoholic Icicle Cocktail - Wild Sumac Lemonade

For anyone abstaining, we've got you covered here at the Icicle Party! The great thing about an ice storm is that there are a lot of icicles! First things first -- go get some icicles! I like to get icicles and put them in the freezer to use anytime.

I collected a lot of icicles off the leaves of an old climbing rose. I laid them on a small tray in my big chest freezer. When I want to use the icicles, I knock a few off the tray.

SnapShot7-12edb0.jpg

SnapShot5-116f8e.jpg

SnapShot4-15e6c2.jpg

They make any drink more fun -- like this Wild Faux Pink Lemonade. I made it out of Wild Sumac and spearmint that I foraged, and honey from my bees. It's just like lemonade, only every bit of it is from my yard, including the icicles! :D

DSC04685-159488.jpg

DSC04686-1c7fea.jpg

A party toast -- To your health!



4. FOOD - Contest 2

Every party is better with some food and snacks. I'm making this party a potluck. I've put a comment down below, called "PUT YOUR PARTY FOOD HERE". Put a link to any food post that you have ever made on Steemit, that you think would be perfect for an ice storm. You can put up to three links in this contest. I'll give three prizes of $1 SBD each, to the ones I like best at the end of the party. When is that? Wednesday, 5 pm PST (UTC -8).



5. JOKES - Contest 3

We need some fun and laughter at our party. Tell me a good ice storm or icicle joke. I've put a comment down below, called "PUT YOUR JOKES HERE". Put your jokes as a reply to that comment. I'll give a prize of $2 SBD to the one I like best at the end of the party. When is that? Wednesday, 5 pm PST (UTC -8).



6. DRINKS - Wild Black Locust Gin and Tonic

An ice storm is cold, so it's nice to have a drink that will warm your toes, if you know what I mean. I'm a fan of Gin and Tonic. In the early summer, I use flowers from the Wild Black Locust tree (Robinia pseudoacacia) to flavor any old gin. I'll write a post about that sometime, but the important thing here is to get some icicles, add some ice-covered spearmint, pour the black locust gin, pour the tonic water, swizzle it, and drink up! It takes like summer! That's warms my heart and my toes! To your health!

SnapShot14-1-187ba6.jpg

SnapShot10-11a0f5.jpg

SnapShot8-1f99b9.jpg

SnapShot9-19c86f.md.jpg

SnapShot11-108e90.jpg

SnapShot12-199674.jpg

SnapShot13-12e98d.jpg

Thanks for looking at all my ice storm posts and coming to my Icicle Party! I hope you are having fun!



7. CARDS - Contest 4 - Make an Ice Storm Greeting Card

Maybe you play cards at your parties. I'm not very good at cards, though. Maybe you do crafts when you have a get-together. I'm pretty ham-fisted, so my crafts look like they were done by a second- or third-grader. But I'm sure you all can work wonders with your creativity and skills! I've made a comment down below, called "PUT YOUR GREETING CARDS HERE". Take any image from any of my Ice Storm photo series and make a postcard-style greeting card from it. It can be serious or funny. You can do anything with my image, but I should be able to tell that it did come from my image. I'll give a prize of $3 SBD to the one I like best at the end of the party. When is that? Wednesday, 5 pm PST (UTC -8).



8. POETRY - Contest 5 - Write a Poem about Icicles or Ice Storms

Now the party has been going for awhile, and everyone should be loose by now! I've made a comment down below, called "PUT YOUR POEMS HERE". Write a poem about icicles or ice storms. I'll accept three kinds of poems: a rhyming poem of 8 lines or more, a haiku, or a limerick. I'll give three prizes of $2 SBD each, to the poem I like best in each category, at the end of the party. When is that? Wednesday, 5 pm PST (UTC -8).


The End of the Party

All good things must come to an end. I hope you enjoyed my party! I appreciate each one of you who look at, upvote, or comment on my Steemit posts! I have enjoyed getting to know some of you through your comments on my posts. As you head off to other posts, be safe out there - and don't slip on the ice! :)

Other posts in this Ice Storm Series:

  1. The Great Willamette Valley Ice Storm of 2016
  2. Sequoia and Larch Trees
  3. Blue Spruce and Western Redcedar Trees
  4. Noble Fir, Grand Fir, and Eastern White Pine Trees
  5. Douglas-Firs 1
  6. Douglas Firs 2
  7. Ponderosa Pines
  8. Hazel, Walnut, Birch, Holly, and Elm Trees
  9. Garden Plants
  10. Fruit Trees
  11. House and Home


** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @haphazard-hstead,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Cocktail franks simmered in barbecue sauce - if the power is out, this can still be heated on a wood stove!

Thanks for coming to my party! Those franks sound pretty good for an ice storm, especially if the BBQ sauce is a little spicy. It would go well with that Sumac Lemonade! :D

That looks so good, especially for a cold night in an ice storm! Everyone should go read your post about how to make this soup. I sure would like to have some right now. And since it was your Sunday Cook, I know you made enough for a lot of people! That's good for a party! :D

Yes, I did a lot! it's great for a party and even without the chorizo it is a good soup! :)

Congratulations! Your Caldo Verde wins first prize for the food at my Icicle Party! I would like to have this at any ice storm or winter party! Check your wallet!

Uau, thank you so much!! :)

Congratulations! Your stuffed bread party platter won a prize at my Icicle Party! That stuffed bread would make any party better. Thanks for bringing it to my party! Check your wallet!

Geez, thanks again!! I must repeat this stuffed bread soon while is still (some) cold in here!

I had to give out the prizes one at a time -- it's hard enough to clean up after my party, so I have to stay organized! If you make the stuffed bread again, there's a reason for a party in your real life, lol! ; )

You're right! This stuffed bread and a bottle of red wine..great party indeed!! I love this pleasures of life, I do!! ;)

Yay! Chorizo, ham, ​and cheese inside of a bowl of homemade bread. That looks great! Like you say in your post, it's great for party! Can I put a picture of it here?

Yes, it's really great and so so tasty! I could have one right now!! Sure, you can use a picture!

Here's the great stuffed bread party platter, everyone! Dig in and enjoy! Thanks for bringing it to the party, @liliana.duarte!

I have not made a lot posts about food - but this is one I would recommend for a party starter:

https://steemit.com/deutsch/@uwelang/garnelen-pasta-und-schokotorte-pasta-with-prawns-and-chocolate-tart-deutsch-english

Pasta - Sea food - chocolate

And when we drank too much or even while drinking that bread might help to avoid headache :-)

https://steemit.com/food/@uwelang/baking-pitka-bread-a-bulgarian-tradition

Congratulations! Your pasta and chocolate tart was a winner at my Icicle Party! That was a lot of food to bring in one post, lol. But we had a lot of people at the party, so we needed plenty of food! Check your wallet!

Ohhhh - what a great surprise - thanks sooooooo much @haphazard-hstead

Haiku

Car is frozen shut.
Water pipes are frozen, too.
Move south next summer.

Your haiku, Car is Frozen Shut, won first prize in the haiku poem category at my Icicle Party! Congratulations and thanks for joining in on the party fun. Check your wallet!

Thanks! It was fun!

Nice beer haiku, too! A porter is great on a cold winter night -- perfect for an ice storm! Drink responsibly, indeed!

You are a Haiku master! I bet many folks have thought that, but with some heated words and no poetic structure, lol! : )

false serenity
masking my cabin fever
insanity reigns

Uh-oh... you better put on some warm clothes and get out for a walk! Just don't walk under any trees or around power lines. Or just have another drink of the Wild Black Locust Gin and Tonic!

Ode To A Future Puddle

Once upon a time there was an icicle,
as staid as a furry old mouse.
Who hung about all day on the chill-air eaves,
of a big old Wintertime house.
He lived stolid and clear as long as he could,
quite content in his froze-en ways.
But when the sun peeked out
to brighten up those eaves,
It marked the end of his cold-state days.
-dds

Poor icicle. : ( They are with us for so short a time, really. I hope you appreciated yours this winter -- in a cold drink or two! :D

🌬 ICICLES ON MY BICYCLE ! 🌬

THERES ICICLES ON MY BICYCLE
I GUESS IM STAYING HOME !
AN ICE STORMS COMING
WITHOUT WARNING !
NO NEED TO GO OUT AND ROAM.

SO INSIDE I'LL STAY
NICE AND WARM FOR THE DAY
MY BIKES FROZEN ANYWAYS !

That's a great icicle poem, @karenmckersie! There was no way to ride a bicycle during the ice storm here, that's for sure! Thanks for coming to my party. Your venison chili would be great food for our party, too!

Haha ! Thanks ,!👍😉

Your poem, Icicles on My Bicycle, won first prize for the rhyming poem at my Icicle Party! Congratulations and thanks for joining in on the party fun. Check your wallet!

Yes i just noticed The deposit in my wallet ! I replied to you but it ended up on someone elses post about your icicle party blog ! Lol ! I was in the process of putting it on one of ypur posts when i seen this message ! Haha ! Thanks so much for the 2.00 SD im really glad you liked it ! 😍😉👍

A new entry to the party scene. My first card, by dds.
tsuDSC03776WEB0e9d3234k90058a4c.jpg

P1190680148k9000dfb1.jpg

What a great card! We don't have any Chex-Mix at our party yet. And I think Stinky is a trouble-maker of some note! I like your Icicle Party Reporting that you posted about your card, too!

Thanks for being such a great supporter of my Icicle Party. I think you are an Icicle Enthusiast, for sure! Or maybe it's the Party-going that you like, lol! We better have another party sometime to find out, lol!

Congratulations! Your greeting card won first prize at my Icicle Party! What a great card! And you have also won a special prize for being an Enthusiastic Party Promoter and Reporter, too. I'm glad you had so much fun with my party! Check your wallet!

Edit - Ignore the following - I found it :-)!
Hello again - I was now starting to look for my party content - can o find the music post though as a passionate DJ - where is it? The link to your other post above directs me back to this post :-) - I am confused @haphazard-hstead

Thanks for being persistent in adding to my Icicle Party Music Playlist. You won a special Super DJ Party Award. Check your wallet!

Oh - I love you! thanks thanks and thanks sooooooo much @haphazard-hstead

I enjoyed all your music that you put into the playlist. I'm glad that a real DJ was a Super DJ at my party! : )

Glad to hear - not considering me as SuperDJ but thanks so much :-)

that is a hot post even icy - lol - need to read again what i can do here :-)

Thanks for stopping by my party, @uwelang! I don't have any beer here, though. If you have some to bring, you can put your link and/or photo under the PARTY FOOD comment. There are other beer drinkers here at the party!

Sent here by ddschtein's post, haha, awesome! I will definitely try and join the party ;)

Thanks! I hope you get your party gear on and head on back! We need more snacks and there's never enough jokes or music! ; )

Sounds like a blast! Will there be homebrew? LOL

If you bring some! Otherwise, I can break out some dandelion wine. I'm looking forward to brewing some nettle beer and spruce beer this spring, though!

Dandelion wine!! Do you know how many hours I spent picking dandelions for my parents to make wine? Many!! Haha, that's awesome. I have never tried nettle beer...my cousins in Vermont have brewed what I'm pretty sure was spruce. Hm, when you do brew this beer, let me know, my brother and some of my friends participate in beer trading, it's awesome, we get to try beer from all around the country ;) My cousin lives near a brewery in Vermont that consistently has a line that you're in for two hours, and you can't get it anywhere else. (I'll have to look up the name) I myself live within five miles of four excellent breweries as well as so many wineries I've lost count (I'm in the Finger Lakes region of upstate NY). So perhaps we can set up a trade?

Haha -- it does take a lot of dandelions to make wine, that's for sure! Your parents were smart in having you do that. You are in a gorgeous area!

It's amazing how many great breweries are popping up all over. I'm in Oregon's Willamette Valley and we have so many local breweries. How can I try them all? I'll definitely let your know about the nettle and spruce beers. I'll post about them here on Steemit. Beer trading is an interesting idea. If my concoctions turn out, maybe a trade would be worth doing.

PUT YOUR JOKES HERE

What did the big icicle in the shade of the garage say to the little icicle, stuck out in the sun?

  • "You can't hang with me, you're too much of a drip"

What did the little icicle say to the big icicle in return?

  • "Chill Out." -dds

Congratulations! Your joke wins First Prize for the jokes at my Icicle Party! Thanks for adding to all the fun here! Enjoy your icicles! :D And check your wallet!

WOW! Thanks so much for picking me to win the contest. I sure do appreciate it. Very much fun being a part of the whole party. Any excuse to have a party, I always say..., ice, sun, rain or shine. Until the next one.

Whoa -- not tomorrow! I'm still cleaning up after this party, lol! ; )

You're welcome! I hope there are a lot more parties, lol!

Tomorrow?!! Ok, I get excited by parties.

Why did the beaver climb onto the roof of the house?

He wanted to check out the ice dams on the eaves.

haha -- My neighbor could have used a couple big beavers on her house, to chew off the limbs of the elm tree that crashed onto her roof! Check the ice dams and do a little reconstruction, lol! Thanks for the joke! :D

"Did you hear about the icicle that went into the gangster bar in Florida, and was never heard from again?"

  • "They think it was a hit by the mop." -dds

haha -- maybe that icicle went into the witness protection program. It just changed its identity into a wet spot! ; )

WITSEC, that's a classic. It's a rough world out there for those wee, cold chunks.

They are good at blending in, I think. ; )

The Indians asked their Chief in Autumn if the Winter was going to be cold or not. Not really knowing an answer, the chief replies that the Winter was going to be cold and that the members of the village were to collect wood to be prepared.

Being a good leader, he then went to the next phone booth and called the National Weather Service and asked, "Is this winter to be cold?" The man on the phone responded, "This Winter is going to be quite cold indeed."

So the Chief went back to speed up his people to collect even more wood to be prepared. A week later he called the National Weather Service again, "Is it going to be a very cold winter?" "Yes", the man replied, "it's going to be a very cold Winter."

So the Chief goes back to his people and orders them to go and find every scrap of wood they can find. Two weeks later he calls the National Weather Service again: "Are you absolutely sure that the Winter is going to be very cold?"

"Absolutely," the man replies, "the Indians are collecting wood like crazy!"

First of all, congratulation for the ending of the ice storm! Let's celebrate!!

I'm much surprised receiving your prize and really glad to learn that I "was the most consistent ice storm enthusiast, leaving comments in 5 consecutive posts!".... I highly appreciate it and thank you very much for your kindness! :-)

Thanks, @tangmo! I hope you can join some of the contests here, too. They are set up so you don't have to live in a cold place to enjoy the party! : )

You're welcome! Thank you very much for your kind invitation! It's very exciting and I'm much enjoy the party from here right now.... :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48