Mentaiko Sushi

in #health7 years ago

Mentaiko is simply a marinated fish rowe, which is a popular accompaniment in Japanese food. It was my first time to try this particular dish which in my case saw it added to 5 pieces of assorted Nagiri Sushi..The Nigiru Sushi pieces are completed as each of the delicate meats and rowes are place over a hand-pressed piece of vinegarised rice.



My Flavours of Mentaiko Sushi

  • Hotate (Scallop)
  • Mushi Ebi (Shrimp)
  • Engawa (Fluke Fin)
  • Sake (salmon)
  • Toro Sake (Salmon Belly)


What are the orange bits on top?

Tobiko is flying fish rowe and are the small orange balls used decoratively on top of the larger Mentaiko rowe which usually comes from a type of cod.



What does is taste like?

The Mentaiko added a thick rich almost creamy texture to the top of the Sushi, and I must admit I'm not sure it was to my taste. As I like to lavish my sushi with wasabi and soy, i was beginning to get too many flavours and sauces. Although it was nice to try something new, I think I'll give this particular dish a miss next time.


Check out my other food posts on steemit:
Brothers Toffee Apple Cider
Squid Takayoki
Matcha Green Tea Shake
Tokyo Teppanyaki
Spanish Omelette
Hen and the Egg, Breakfast
Sunset Cocktail with a view
Korean Bingsu
Volcano Cocktail
Tartinettes
Wine Tasting
Peking Duck
Hamburger
Texas BBQ
Mexican
More Mexican
Thai Pork Larb
Foie Gras
Dessert



Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

I love sushi. Good post. Thanks for share. Cheers

looks divine!

that looks really really delicious :) mmmm

That on top is not Mentaiko.
That is Tobikko, kind of fish egg. 
What's your favorite Sushi?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95