THE LIBRARY #4 - A Curation Post for Readers and Writers

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

enter image description here


The Library #1 | The Library #2 | The Library #3 part 1 | The Library #3 part 2


The Library - For Writers and Readers.

Welcome to the fourth edition of The Library. A brand new, writing focused curation post. Coming out of the ideas and discussions generated in the Seeking a Community of Writers post, I wanted to be able to pursue that idea even further. I know there are writing communities on Discord (of which I am also a member), and there are also curator blogs on Steemit. So this idea is nothing new. But I want for The Library to be a curator post focused solely upon writers, and the world of writing.

I intend to dedicate this space for other writers out there who are writing stories, blogs about writing, even blogs about books and reading. The more I explore Steemit, the more I come to realise that there is still so many bloggers out there who I have not encountered yet. People producing quality material, but not always finding the audience they deserve.

This idea is founded with those principles in mind. It's to help share the often disconnected writing worlds here at Steemit with each other, in the spirit of support and creative encouragement.

This is in no way meant to indicate the best (or worst, by omission) posts on Steemit. These are the ones that I saw - and that I liked - during the previous week, taking several factors into consideration, such as number of days since it was published, whether it is a series or not, and the overall quality of the writer's other material.

I can be contacted via DM on Discord if you see a writer who you believe needs to be brought to my attention for future editions of The Library (it may be yours, but I will give more weight to those who recommend other writers).



To start with, the writing groups on Discord that I recommend are:

- The Writer's Block - how to join. Their Steemit address is @thewritersblock
- The Isle of Write - how to join. Their Steemit address is @isleofwrite

If you know of any others then feel free to mention them in the comments section.



Confessions of a Writer, For Anyone Interested in Publishing a Book (15 years of experience)

@yahialababidi has shared his experience as a published author, and the path he has had to travel to reach that milestone. The task of becoming a published author is not an easy one, so I'm always appreciative of anyone willing to share anecdotes, and lessons learned along the way. Definitely one for the budding authors out there to have a read of.



enter image description here



The Emperor's Liar (Excerpt)

@jeffstoner has shared some exciting news with us this week - he is now a published SFF author. The online magazine Planet Scumm has published his story The Emporer's Liar, and you can get more details at the link above or a follow up article - Now Hear This.



The Stories She Gave Me: On books and the death of my grandmother

@shawnamawna shares a beautiful and heartwarming story of the role her grandmother played in her life, and especially their shared love of books and the stories they hold.

I believe that our connections to our loved ones do not die when they do. We have a choice: we can keep them alive by pursuing what was shared.

This is getting towards the payout cutoff date. If you find this is of value, then please consider giving an upvote to one of her more recent posts.



| t h e • c l i c h é | In Abraham's bosom

@szuri has an engaging voice, a style that lends itself to delving in and exploring further into her work. This short piece explores the nature of death, dreams, and the emotions that lurk within.



The Eye of the Beholder: Different POV's in Writing

One of the most valuable articles I have seen on Steemit, @tinypaleokitchen has delivered a post of great value to all writers. POV issues is a big one to get your head around, and the need to understand the nuances of each style, and what works and doesn't work is a big part of stepping out onto the writer's stage and creating work of ones own.

Definitely take some time to go through this article and take consideration of its lessons.



enter image description here



The Search for Snow (Part 1 of 9)

@jedau has written a story with a twist. Except the twist is not in the story itself. Confused? Don't be, just read through The Search For Snow, then maybe (if you're like me) read it again. You'll understand why.



Hook, Line and Sinker -- Story Openings (Part 1)

Another valuable article has arrived in The Library this week. @thinknzombie has written a great post that should be of interest to all writers, detailing the onerous task of how to begin our stories. Also known as The Hook, it is our one and only chance to secure a reader's attention and lead them further into their reading commitment.



enter image description here



Thank you for reading the fourth edition edition of The Library. Please feel free to leave comments, suggestions, ideas, etc.

As always, I appreciate your time and attention, and hope you enjoyed your library visit.



Images sources from unsplash.com and used with permission.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya



Links to earlier works

- Fiction
My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks
Reality Fading
Lessons Learned From a Dying Man - includes audio version.

- Blog Posts

-Notes From an Amateur Writer
Notes #49 - Conversation With My Multiple Selves
Notes #50 - Revisiting Childhood With Storm Boy and Mr Percival
Notes #51 - Some Of The Books That I Am Reading
Notes #53 - Finding the Right Character For the Job
Notes #54 - But First Coffee

-Ramble On (Humour based fictional travel blog)
#1 - Introducing My New Travel Blog
#2 - Making a Deal With the Devil
#3 - Getting Arrested, For Resisting Arrest
#4 - Love, Sex, and Guru Powers

Book Reviews
Soon - Lois Murphy
Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larrson
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K. Dick
American Gods - Neil Gaiman
Fight Club - Chuck Palahniuk
Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian



Sort:  

Cool, thanks for the curation… I'll try and work my way through!

Thanks for taking a look. I do these weekly, so you have a few days to get through them before the next edition :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 44 (2/13/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Thank you :)

WOOHOO!!! I made it to the list! :'D When I posted it, I really was hoping I would get a shot to have my work immortalized in the ever-growing Library! I'm so happy that I succeeded with my goal. I have to say, this has got to be my favorite edition!

You came through with the goods when it counted, leaving me with little choice. I'm happy to have been able to include a @jedau story in this collection.

Haha! I'm glad that my little experiment was able to hold you up haha!

If by experiment you mean writing, then yes you got me :)

Very helpful. Luckily I have come across "the search for snow" which was brilliantly pulled off and "the eye of the beholder -POV"which is a must read for all aspiring writers. Nice work, these two. I'm checking out the others. Thanks.

Thank you for your comment. I'm glad I could provide you with a few new names and articles/stories. Hope you find something of interest.

You are welcome. I just checked out "Hook, line and sinker" and was instantly hooked. I should be thanking you.

Then I have succeeded in my job here, which is very good to know :)

I think any cause which helps good or great quality writer to bee seen on Steemit is a great cause. That is how we can rise above spammers and raise the quality of this platform. We need to encourage people with great content to keep writing. We need to reward them for their effort. :)

So my friend, keep up with this amazing idea you have. I am sure many people will appreciate it. Now I have to read some of these posts you are curating and see what these Steemians are all about. :)

Have a great day. :)

Very happy that you can see exactly where this is coming from. A lot of effort is put into these, and done right it is what makes Steemit great. So long as the spam and nonsense doesn't take over. As a niche curation endeavour I do believe this has merit and hopefully long term viability. My goal is to be able to help contribute to writers receiving new readers and followers on a weekly basis.

And in turn help the creative writing community at Steemit to flourish. Many thanks for your comment.

Thank you for this curation post, that stuff is definitely going on my to-read list :)
Looking forward to more of your suggestions.

Thank you, I try to include some of the great posts I find, per my interests. It's not always easy to see them all on ones own. Hope you find some posts to keep you busy.

Wow, really great what you're doing for literature here on steemit. 👍 I think your library should be the place for me when I want to read some good stories, you've sieved these ones out, at least I know I can trust em. 😁

@nevies the son of Aphrodite and brother to Eros, Eryx, Peitho ,
The Graces
Phobos , Deimos,
Harmonia , Pothos ,
Anteros , Himeros ,
Hermaphroditus, Rhodos, Priapus, and Aeneas

Yes you can trust these posts and the authors themselves. These are just some of the hardworking authors and writers that I have come across over the last week. Hope you find something of interest.

Thank you for featuring me!

You're welcome :)

Ow, this is a very excellent idea, a nice niche curation-trail that is exactly the kind of thing I like to read. Thank you for your efforts here... much appreciated! Nice to find out new gems in the steem-community!

Thanks @nobyeni, glad you can make use of this. I've only been going a few weeks now, so it's quite a new endeavour. But I'm enjoying putting it all together.

What a pleasant surprise. You just made my day! :)

Have a great and safe weekend.

Glad I could make your day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62532.98
ETH 3451.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53