THE LIBRARY #3 (part 1 of 2) - A Curation Post for Readers and Writers: Including an Audio First

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

enter image description here



The Library - For Writers and Readers.

Welcome to the third edition of The Library. A brand new, writing focused curation post. Coming out of the ideas and discussions generated in the Seeking a Community of Writers post, I wanted to be able to pursue that idea even further. I know there are writing communities on Discord (of which I am also a member), and there are also curator blogs on Steemit. So this idea is nothing new. But I want for The Library to be a curator post focused solely upon writers, and the world of writing.

I intend to dedicate this space for other writers out there who are writing stories, blogs about writing, even blogs about books and reading. The more I explore Steemit, the more I come to realise that there is still so many bloggers out there who I have not encountered yet. People producing quality material, but not always finding the audience they deserve.

This idea is founded with those principles in mind. It's to help share the often disconnected writing worlds here at Steemit with each other, in the spirit of support and creative encouragement.

This is in no way meant to indicate the best (or worst, by omission) posts on Steemit. These are the ones that I saw - and that I liked - during the previous week, taking several factors into consideration, such as number of days since it was published, whether it is a series or not, and the overall quality of the writer's other material.

I can be contacted via DM on Discord if you see a writer who you believe needs to be brought to my attention for future editions of The Library (it may be yours, but I will give more weight to those who recommend other writers).



There is a bumper crop of selections this week, and try as I might, I couldn't cut them down any further than the numbers I ended up with. So this will be a double edition of THE LIBRARY this week.



Now I did have it as my intention with this project to not have it be about me and my own writing. And here I am violating that in only the third edition. However, I recorded my first audiobook during the week and would really love to hear your thoughts and feedback on it. Do you like it, are there volume problems, do you have further suggestions? Please feel free to let me know in the comments section of that post: Lessons Learned From a Dying Man - Written and Audio Versions.

I do want to give credit to @tinypaleokitchen who has also branched out in this area, and has now recorded two of her stories. Please check these links to follow up with these also: Meet Jasmine Arch and TinyReads #2: When The Tables Are Turned.



To start with, the writing groups on Discord that I frequent are:

- The Writer's Block - how to join. Their Steemit address is @thewritersblock
- The Isle of Write - how to join. Their Steemit address is @isleofwrite

If you know of any others then feel free to mention them in the comments section.



Character Profile Questionnaire [Writing Tool]

@anikekirsten has produced an extremely useful tool for all of us writers out there. A very detailed list of character traits, profiles, and interests. Keep this one handy for then next time you sit down to write and develop a character.

Also, please note that this post is near to its 7 day limit. If you find this post useful to you then feel free to share the upvote love on another of her posts if this one has expired already.



enter image description here



Seriously, If You Read Just One Nonfiction...

@artibeus has written an incredible review for the book Man’s Search for Meaning, how he came upon the book, and what it has meant to him. Well worth taking a look, and possibly even discovering a new book to add to your own reading list.



Sorcery - 18

@not-a-bird was a new name to me until last week when I discovered part 17 in their long running series called Sorcery. I have linked to part 18 as the previous one has gone beyond the 7 day payment window.

Despite my lack of knowledge of the story preceding it, the episode I read stood out for its readability and interesting story line. An author worth following up with, and keeping an eye on, especially if the subject matter is of interest to you.



Drone

@jrhughes has written a clever little twist on the hive-mind concept. A short story that I believe is really worth a few minutes of your time. This one stands out for several reasons; quality writing and unique storytelling being some of them.



enter image description here



Ursula K. Le Guin 1929-2018

@didic has written a moving piece in memory of the Science Fiction author Ursula K. Le Guin, who passed away recently. She was a pioneering author, and an outspoken advocate for many causes, often well ahead of the trend. If you aren't familiar with her work @didic has provided a link at the end of his post for further reading.

This post has also slipped out of the payment window, so again if it resonates with you please consider passing the upvote to a more recent post of his.



Memories pt 1: The Florist and the Bookseller

@donovanpage's recent post caught my eye this week. It is a beautifully told story of a time in her past. Having grown up around a bookseller father, and a florist mother, she has weaved a magical little memoir around words and photos in a stirring and thoughtful manner.



enter image description here



Thank you for reading the first part of this bumper edition of The Library. Please feel free to leave comments, suggestions, ideas, etc. And again, I would love to hear your thoughts on my first audiobook.

As always, I appreciate your time and attention, and hope you enjoyed your library visit.

PART 2



Images sources from unsplash.com and used with permission.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya



Links to earlier works
Who is Naquoya

- Fiction
My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks
Reality Fading

- Blog Posts

-Notes From an Amateur Writer
Notes #49 - Conversation With My Multiple Selves
Notes #50 - Revisiting Childhood With Storm Boy and Mr Percival
Notes #51 - Some Of The Books That I Am Reading

-Ramble On (Humour based fictional travel blog)
#1 - Introducing My New Travel Blog
#2 - Making a Deal With the Devil
#3 - Getting Arrested, For Resisting Arrest

Book Reviews
Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larrson
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K. Dick
American Gods - Neil Gaiman
Fight Club - Chuck Palahniuk
Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian



Sort:  

Writing is a passion of mine. It is putting your mark on the world you leave behind.

Nicely said. I agree with you.

I didn’t realize you did these curation posts! Awesome, found a few folks to follow and a few names I knew. Will scope out others in this series, too. Neat idea--thanks for making these! I’m totally in love with @anikekirsten and her work. I’ll do anything to support that account...sci fi, myth, stories, social justice...so awesome.

This is a relatively new project of mine. I like curating work, so this is one way to make the most of that. @anikekirsten is at The Writers Block Discord channel, you can find the links in the post.

Thanks for your visit :)

I still haven't gotten the chance to explore previous Library entries, but I'm saving them all for a later read. Why is this split into two parts though? Wait, don't tell me. I'll read the second part in a bit. No spoilers.

There is a bumper crop of selections this week, and try as I might, I couldn't cut them down any further than the numbers I ended up with. So this will be a double edition of THE LIBRARY this week.

I didn't want the post to be so overwhelmingly long that people skipped some selections.

No, no, no. That's not it. There's a deeper, more philosophical reason behind it. I can't quite put my finger on it...

Thank you the efforts @naquoya! I see some missed gems.

Thanks, glad I could share some more wonderful posts with you.

Wow! You are doing a lot for writers now. When did you start this kind of curating?

This is the third week of this particular project. I used to do a lot of manual curating a year ago. Was quite successful at it. Stopped for a while until i find something I wished to curate again - now i have it: reading and writing material.

Oh, I'm speechless. Thank-you, Naq! <3

It was a worthy inclusion. One of the few Steemit posts I have actually bookmarked for future reference.

Information for me and everyone

That is correct. The Library belongs to us all :)

Thank you for including me!

Thanks for dropping by. I was going to let you know, but you're here already :)
You're more than welcome. i enjoyed the piece you wrote and felt it deserved it's inclusion. All the best.

Gina, being the awesome bot that she is, let me know!

We have a mutual friend. Good to hear.

You’re back! And this is such a wonderful post. If course I know many but not all of your curated talents, and I’m very much looking forward to reading the rest. I love this idea, and look forward to more. I’ll read part two tomorrow.

This is last weeks edition, but certainly look through the links. I try to choose posts that I feel will stand the test of time, and hopefully lead people to check out some of the author's other works.

And yes I am back - posted a new book review yesterday. I have a new edition of The Library ready to go very soon. And thanks for your concerns :)

Oh yes, I need to look at dates. I followed a link back from the later post to make sure I started this series at the beginning. I love your Library series!

No problem. Glad you are appreciating the series.

Oh thank you for this kind inclusion @naquoya! I'm so sorry I missed it until now, I have GOT to get that Gina bot thing happening, lol :D

Glad I could include your work. And yes GINA is a life saver. Do set it up if you can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87