RAMBLE ON #2 - Making a Deal With the Devil

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

enter image description here



Ramble On #2

Welcome to my new blog series - Ramble On. It is a travel based blog, created for the sole purpose of exploring new creative writing opportunities. It's bent is deliberately humorous. The stories are predominantly fiction.

Today's episode is based on the song Travelling Riverside Blues by Led Zeppelin, based on material from blues legend Robert Johnson.

This is post 11 in @dragosroua's January 30 day writing challenge.



Making a Deal With the Devil

I had set out in search of the legendary Rosedale. The place where soul contracts are made. Well they were once upon a time. That time being when the blues man Robert Johnson met the Devil at the crossroads. A deal was made, and the Devil got Robert's soul and Robert became a successful blues musician.

Why Rosedale I had often wondered. I had never found a satisfactory answer, but I'm sure there had to be one. All I know is it was down at the crossroads, as he was going to Rosedale. He had his rider by his side – was that the Devil? Would certainly make for an interesting travel partner.

One clue I did have when it came to locating Rosedale was lemons. Seems Robert Johnson had a thing about squeezing them, so Rosedale must have been a lemon growing area.

Led Zeppelin had placed this story within my consciousness. Their version of Robert Johnson's song Travelling Riverside Blues has been a favourite of mine for some time. I thought about the lyrics, looked for clues, eager to unravel this mystery, and get some travel experience at the same time. I took out my note book and pen, and hit the road.

After much searching and fruitless wanderings I finally happened upon the very town itself – ROSEDALE. Just like my town it even had its own sign. That was a good start. The bus took me past it, but I noticed the sign as we drove down the main road and towards the bus station. Right into the heart of Rosedale.

I was on the lookout for the crossroads. Unfortunately it seem this town was full of them. Which one would be more favourable to the Devil? Perhaps there was a Satan Street around here. Would it be that obvious?

When I was off the bus I went to the information desk and asked about the legend himself Robert Johnson. The woman behind the desk just looked at me blankly. Did she not know about the Devil and the crossroads? Should I educate her?

"This is Rosedale, right?" I asked her

"It is."

"And Robert Johnson was on his way to Rosedale when he encountered the Devil. They met at a crossroads around these parts and made a deal. Do you know where that would be?"

"I don't even know who Robert Johnson is."

"Really? You've heard of the Devil, right?"

"Sure. Haven't met him though."

"Okay, well we've got half a mystery still to solve. So you don't know anything about Robert Johnson?"

"No, sorry. Are you sure you have the correct Rosedale?"

I thought about her question. It struck me like a bolt. "How many Rosedales are there?"

She turned to her computer and typed in something. I could see her eyes over the top of the monitor. There was no noticeable expression as she scanned the screen. I couldn't see what she was looking at.

"Robert Johnson you say?" she asked as she looked back at me.

"Yes."

"Rosedale you say?"

"Yes."

She hesitated for a moment as she studied me. I couldn't ascertain exactly what she may have been thinking in that moment. But I was anxious to discover the whereabouts of the crossroads at the heart of the Robert Johnson story. Perhaps I could meet the Devil too. Get my travel blogging career off to a devilish start. Only time would tell.

"Seems you have the wrong Rosedale."

I thought about her words for a moment. "How far am I from the correct Rosedale?''

"About 15,000 kilometres. You're in the wrong Rosedale. In the wrong country. On the wrong side of the planet. At least you are on the right planet." She looked at me with menacing eyes. Boring right through me and slapping my insides around. "And I do wonder about that last one also," she added.

"Do you grow lemons here?" I finally asked her. Perhaps I could still salvage this trip somehow.

"No, we don't."

Now I really had the blues.



Images from unsplash.com and used with permission.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya



Links to earlier works

- Fiction

My Fiction Writing Collection

Writing Myself Out of Existence

- Blog Posts

Notes #1 - #39 Notes From An Amateur Writer Collection

Notes #40 Read, Write, and Face the Future

Notes #41 What Are Some Of Your Favourite Books?

Notes #42 Website Review: Fiction University

Notes #43 - Seeking a Community Of Writers

-Poetry

My Poetry Collection


Sort:  

Very clever story! This was great fun to read.

By the way, I think it would be best if you remove the square brackets in your titles, since brackets mean something in xml. I don’t see your post titles in my feed; instead I just see lines. 😊

Glad you liked it. Was a lot of fun to write also.

And a very big thank you for alerting me to that square bracket issue. I had no idea. Been messing that up for a while, it would seem.

You’re welcome! They look fine now. I believe post title links are permanent, but your new posts going forward will have nice URLs!

You know what they say, when life gives you lemons... Oh, wait. It didn't give you lemons. But it did give you directions to where you could find some. So, hop to it! 15,000 kilometers isn't going to cover itself. The journey of a thousand miles begin with a single step, so by process of estimation, a journey of 9,320.568 miles (approximately) would begin with 9.320 steps. That's not so bad, isn't it?

Although... The Devil is known for throwing people off the scent. Could she be the Devil and this the correct Rosedale? Weigh your choices before you book that bus ticket, mate!

When life gives you lemons - write a travel blog about nonsense. It's a form of lemonade. This hapless traveller could hardly tie his shoelace, not sure how he is going to figure out how to travel 15,000 kms. Like you say, perhaps - one step at a time. Would make for an interesting blog post...

Maybe she is the devil. You too good at this. Maybe a regular to appear again down the line. Stop giving me idea :)

Enjoy the vote and reward!

I would enjoy your reward even more :)

Excellent and very entertaining piece of writing! I like the twist in the story, and the photos you chose to accompany it are excellent! Best post I've seen all day! Definitely worthy of a 100% upvote! Kudos for a wonderful read! 😊

#steemitbloggers

Thank you so much for your comment. That's very high praise given the quality of posts out there :) Received with thanks.
It's just a new project, but one I will be doing each Thursday - unless I run out of material, and that's not going to happen as it's very big world out there. Lots to write about.

No crossroads, and no lemons... so definitely no lemonade either. I would say CHEERS, but...

I'll drink to thank. Oh wait...
Oh well, off for my next adventure.

Right planet though... right? ;)

Sometimes I wonder.

Oh wait, who were we talking about?

Bahahahahaa poor novice travel blogger, guess it can be confusing learning that people keep naming places after other places resulting in a mess of places that need more names tacked on to make sure you have the right one 😆

Also did they not read what happens to people who make deals with devils? 🤔

Oh if only our poorly informed traveller had the foresight to use Google.

And deals with the Devil result in something along the lines of soul confiscation. Sounds nasty. Like a bad rash. That never ends.

As it happens, we had to call a second train into service to handle your tour ... and you were one of the lucky ones. You got a ticket to ride in here. The seat cushions are extra comfy. The scenery first rate. The atmosphere is smoke-free and quieter. You may even find a little time to write. The company is refined. The rewards are comparable. What's not to like? Maybe you'll even travel with us again sometime. Stranger things have happened. In time, you might also rack up some mileage as a frequent rider. I'd call this a win-win all around.

Thank you for keeping a seat for me. Would it be cheeky of me to inquire as to whether it is in first class? Just messing, happy to have a place on your awesome Steem Engine :)

I like your googling info lady....! This story feels like a first chapter....

Yes, I liked writing her. I could feel her watching me intensely as I wrote her lines. Had to get them right.

It's kind of a chapter in a very long saga involving our hapless traveller. Perhaps we will meet her again...

the story was fun to read , i will be visiting your blog for more stories ,. thank you so much for sharing

Glad you enjoyed the story. Would love to see you around, you're always welcome :)

Never make a deal with the devil. ;)

Now you tell me...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54