NOTES FROM AN AMATEUR WRITER #53 - Finding the Right Character For the Job

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

enter image description here


Notes From an Amateur Writer #53

This Blog series is an exercise in creative writing. Sometimes expressed in short story form, sometimes as a journal, or just my thoughts written down. It is a nursery of sorts for the stories that are on their way, or yet to be written.

This is post 28 in @dragosroua's January 30 day writing challenge.



Finding the Right Character For the Job

"Next applicant please." I poked my head out of the office door, holding it just slightly ajar. I quickly took in the scene in front of me. A room full of anxious and eager individuals, patiently awaiting their turn. My reception space was not an ideal location for such a crowd. I hadn't anticipated doing anything quite like this. I guess it had been a spur of the moment decision. I was used to just sitting in my office, quietly tapping away at my laptop, minding my own business. And my characters evolved from my mind, from the time I spent moulding and shaping them. But this time I decided to mix that all up. I decided to interview applicants for the role of lead character. What could possibly go wrong?

A young man stepped forward towards the door, "that'll be me." He smiled slightly and looked me firmly in the eye. Confident, relaxed, straight posture – was this what I was looking for? I opened the door further and invited him in. He followed me in, before stopping in the centre of the room and scanning his environment. He seemed to be breathing in his surroundings, not so much taking them on board, as making them a part of his DNA. Interesting, not quite what I had in mind, but maybe if I make some changes to the story. Or plan a completely new story.

"My name is Connor." He held out his hand to me. Taking control already. I reciprocated and completed the gesture. His grip was firm, bit not overly so. Just enough to let me know he was there, centred and paying attention.

"Pleased to meet you Connor," I said. "My name is Scott. Take a seat." I pointed to a second chair I had placed in the room for the applicants to use. I sat at my regular seat and faced him, casually, ready to have an informal, but important chat.

"I'm writing a story," I said, starting to explain the same spiel I had already given several times. And I think I had many more to go. Unless Connor was what I was looking for. I proceeded to tell him more of my idea. He listened carefully, watching me as I explained just what his role would entail. He nodded at the correct spots, scratched his ear a couple of times, but mostly sat still and received the information without hesitation.

I had already interviewed many applicants, and none were what I was looking for. Too tall, too short, too awkward, too smelly – I knew exactly what type of character I was trying to write, but how do I breath life into him. Make him become real. Leap out onto the page, merge with the story that I wish to write. Claim ownership of the page and invite the reader into a relationship of value.

"Explain the character arc to me. Tell me more about him." Character arc? None of the previous applicants had mentioned those two words. Not together. He's done his homework. I had mapped out the basics of who the lead character is as he enters the frame. Obviously he gets knocked about by something. And bingo, we have a story. He has to be pushed enough to grow. Win the day or not, who he is at the end determines to a large degree whether my story will be worth spending time with. I'm an author, I should know these things.

I proceeded to explain what I had already developed with regards to the lead character. Was I being interviewed by my character? Had the roles been reversed?

Connor shook his head. "You're missing some vital moments. Something is a bit flat."

"Really?" He knows about character arcs, and he's judging mine as somewhat lacking.

Connor explained to me his thoughts. Threw in some suggestions for leading the character astray. "Add some intrigue, suspense, challenge him," he said. "Challenge me."

I want to write a complex story. Sit down and tap away until my fingers bleed. Make the actors leap of the page. Connor had given me some tips. My search for a better lead character had delivered in ways I never expected. Would he want the job? I had to find out.

"So you've seen what I have in mind so far. Obviously, as you have rightly pointed out, there is still some work to do. But having said that, are you interested in taking the job?"

"I think it was written for me," he said. I think it had almost been written by him, but I kept that to myself.

I think I heard it said once that a good character will almost write themselves. Either that or I made that up somewhere along the way. I've often wondered if it was true or not. Seems Connor had arrived on the scene to teach me that perhaps there just was some truth in it. Now all I had to do was get to know him better. He has an important role to play, and I have an important story to write.



Images sources from unsplash.com and used with permission.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya




Links to earlier works
Who is Naquoya

- Fiction
My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks
Reality Fading

- Blog Posts
Notes #1 - #39 - Notes From An Amateur Writer Collection
Notes #40 - Read, Write, and Face the Future
Notes #41 - What Are Some Of Your Favourite Books?
Notes #42 - Website Review: Fiction University
Notes #43 - Seeking a Community Of Writers
Notes #44 - What Are Some of Your Favourite Characters?
Notes #45 - When Madness Came Knocking
Notes #46 - Why Do I Write?
Notes #47 - Books vs Movies: Who Wore it Better?
Notes #48 - Google Seems to Know Me too Well
Notes #49 - Conversation With My Multiple Selves
Notes #50 - Revisiting Childhood With Storm Boy and Mr Percival
Notes #51 - Some Of The Books That I Am Reading

-Ramble On (Humour based fictional travel blog)
#1 - Introducing My New Travel Blog
#2 - Making a Deal With the Devil
#3 - Getting Arrested, For Resisting Arrest

Reviews
Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larrson
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K. Dick
American Gods - Neil Gaiman
Fight Club - Chuck Palahniuk
Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian

-Poetry
My Poetry Collection



Sort:  

Oh man, I love your character selection process. Mine involves me picking blindly and shaping the story based on the characters, most of the time. I can't believe how you're candidly telling the characters your story. Aren't you afraid that they're going to steal your ideas and run away with it?? As your self-appointed legal counsel, I advice you to only divulge arcs that is pertinent to the character you're interviewing.

I was half-expecting that you would take Connor's ideas then turn him down, since the character has evolved in a way that it's not befitting him anymore haha!

There were several directions that I could take this in. But ultimately I wanted to show how knowing your character intensely helps determine the quality of the material itself. I guess it was a metaphor of the author writing the character and thinking deeply on who he really is.

As for the legal protection - I thank thee for looking out for me. Next story I write that involves a criminal I will call you first. Can't be too careful.

Oh for sure. That totally translated well here. I really like how you explored the idea, as with all your other writing.

I'd tell you to not trust anyone because I could very well be said criminal. But, trust me. Trust me completely.

You sound like the voice of reason, so I will trust you. Trust you to keep helping and supporting :)

Oh you can definitely trust me with those two things! That's what a Lead Naquer does! It's literally in the job title.

I often hear authors talk about their characters "writing themselves." I would read a story featuring Connor. Sounds like an interesting man. Nice story of how your writing process works. I love reading fiction but don't write fiction myself. Tried to as a kid but didn't expore it further.

Yes, Connor was starting to take on actual personality. Which characters should. I figure that rather than write about Character Arcs in the normal fashion, i would turn my own learning/teaching into a little story. More interesting, I hope.

Certainly is interesting!

My kids still ask for for a new bedtime story every day. As long as I grab a character the whole story falls into place. Thanks for giving us Conner.

Yes, a key element of good storytelling is the right character. And having to come up with a new story every night couldn't be easy. Feel free to work with Connor.

Thanks. I will.

I have not yet met such a version of stories) Quite interesting, thank you)

Well thank you :)
My blog is full of such stories. I appreciate your visit.

A story about the process of story telling!!!

The things writers do to amuse themselves.

I wish I could write as well as you....

I'm glad you think I can write well :)

Very knowledgeable image_search_1517123920932.jpg

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54