NAQUOYA'S BOOK REVIEWS - American Gods - Neil Gaiman

in #writing6 years ago

enter image description here


Some good news today - my Steemit short story The End of the World has been chosen as one of the selections for the Isle of Write's soon to be published Steemit anthology book.

This is post 23 in @dragosroua's January 30 day writing challenge.



BOOK REVIEW – American Gods – Neil Gaiman

When I purchase ebooks for my Kindle Amazon makes suggestions for me based either on previous purchases from myself, or other people who have also bought that particular ebook. I have found some stories of interest, or even writing 'how to' books through this means. I usually give a quick scan to see if anything grabs my attention initially, and if something does then follow up on it. This makes good business sense for Amazon, but works for me also. This is a key way in which I have expanded my knowledge of new or unknown (to me) authors, and their novels.

But this is not unique to Amazon, and I remember shopping at Borders bookshop, in their real world bricks and mortar establishment, where I made many purchases over the years before they went the way of so many non-Amazon book sellers. And it was upon their book shelves that I saw the recommendation for Neil Gaiman's American Gods as I perused their Science Fiction and Fantasy selections. I tended to avoid Fantasy as I was used to seeing mostly High Fantasy amongst the many choices. Until I saw American Gods. It seemed to cross genre boundaries, but perhaps fit into a style of Fantasy that was unlike what I was used to. Magical, mysterious, horrific, speculative and so much more. And that's just what I determined from the blurb and quick scan. I remember thinking clearly at the time that I would probably really like this book. I bought it there and then, and started reading it immediately.


It is the story of Shadow, who has just been released from prison slightly early after having served nearly three years in prison. His wife has died in a car accident, and he is being granted early release to attend the funeral. He had been looking forward to resuming his old life with his wife, and had been counting down the days, trying to stay sane within the prison environment until he had served his time. That whole dream was wiped out and taken from him within days of becoming a reality again.

On his flight back to his home he sits next to a man calling himself Mr Wednesday. This mysterious stranger offers Shadow a job, but he isn't interested. He tries to distance himself, and seeking other transportation to complete the journey decides to hire a car. Still he runs into Mr Wednesday on the road.

The job offer is still on the table, and eventually Shadow reluctantly agrees to the deal. They seal the deal with three drinks of a foul mead alcoholic drink at a bar where Shadow is introduced to Mad Sweeny, who just so happens to be a Leprechaun. Having learned to do coin tricks whilst in prison, Shadow watches mesmerised as Mad Sweeny performs a seemingly impossible coin trick. Not willing to accept the explanation – it is pulled directly from the aether via belief - Shadow mulls it over in his mind for a long time determined to work it out. There is a rational explanation for all things mysterious. There always is.


Shadow travels around America as Mr Wednesday's bodyguard, and is pulled into situations that constantly challenge his preconceived notions about how the world works. He watches as the moon is plucked from the sky and turned into a magical coin; as he is confronted by a dead wife returned from the grave – despite being very dead - all the while being pursued by mysterious men in black as they make their way through rural America.

Shadow is shown the 'backstage' section of life, where reality is altered, and they can hide from the characters who pursue them. Slowly but surely Shadow's eyes are opened to a deeper reality at work. Televisions talk to him by name, ancient gods meet to plan battle, and the old life he once knew seems a distant memory.

As Shadow starts to believe that Mr Wednesday is no ordinary individual, a deeper mystery presents itself. He has been embroiled in Mr Wednesday's plans for a reason. But why? He has been introduced to people referring to themselves as the old gods, he has been ambushed by those referring to themselves as the new gods – the future, who Shadow should actually align himself with, and somehow all of this involves Shadow at a personal level.

The story takes us to a culmination point of a clash between the old and the new, the past and the future. But who are the good guys, and who should Shadow be trusting. And just why is he so important to all of this? Just when he thought he had a good grasp on reality, Mr Wednesday has managed to flip all of that on its head. So who really is this Mr Wednesday?


American Gods is based on the premise that gods exist because we believe in them. We make them real. Over the many years of American immigration, gods followed those who held them in their belief and faith. They were brought to the new lands. But eventually the old ways died out, the old beliefs were lost, as new generations, unaffected by the old world, made their own way in this new land. Having been given life through belief, the gods were then left to wander America and make their own way, as best they could.

But just as old gods were given life through the faith of those who believed in them, so too has new technology, new ways of living and being created it's own beliefs amongst the modern generations. And thus new gods have emerged, ready to challenge the old ones.

The idea of gods existing because we believe in them intrigued me from the moment I started to read this book. That they become like us, in a way, granted human form, but still different. Unknown to humanity, but walking amongst us, these gods have power relative to the degree of belief they receive. But time has changed so much. For mere humans, as well as for the gods.

And America has become the central focal point, through its role as a melting pot of mixed cultures, and mass immigration. America has become the point where the old clashes with the new.

I love the idea. The story that plays out, giving form to Neil Gaiman's concept is a brilliant one. Well written, with many interweaving plot lines, all heading in the one direction overall, yet filling out the story with colourful characters, and historical intrigue. There are countless side trips along the way, into the god's own stories, how they came to be, and how they ended up in America. A lot of life has been breathed into their development, giving depth to this magical story.

Shadow's progression from annoyed traveller, to confused witness, to uncertain believer, and finally into a conqueror of his own disbelief is laid out in a very readable, and enjoyable tale. The storytelling and imagination in this worked for me. It was a trip into fantasy land that I am glad I took that first time, and I have since made it that trip again. I will no doubt make it more times in the future.


American Gods has been made into a television series, but I only made it through the first few episodes. It is well produced, and probably is worth a view, but I found it threw me too much, given how much the book means to me. Perhaps I will try it again soon, but I am still unsure of that. The book to me take precedence over the show, and my recent re-read of it hasn't changed that.

In 2002, American Gods won the Hugo, Nebula, Locus, SFX Magazine and Bram Stoker Awards, all for Best Novel.



Image Source unsplash.com

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya



Links to earlier works

- Fiction

My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks

- Blog Posts

Notes #1 - #39 - Notes From An Amateur Writer Collection
Notes #40 - Read, Write, and Face the Future
Notes #41 - What Are Some Of Your Favourite Books?
Notes #42 - Website Review: Fiction University
Notes #43 - Seeking a Community Of Writers
Notes #44 - What Are Some of Your Favourite Characters?
Notes #45 - When Madness Came Knocking
Notes #46 - Why Do I Write?

-Ramble On (Humour based travel blog)

Introducing My New Travel Blog
Making a Deal With the Devil

-Poetry

My Poetry Collection



Sort:  

i have watched the series and i quite like both how they made it and the concept but judging from what you mentioned the book worth way more, so now that i know a few things about the plot i may check it out!

The show is certainly well produced, and visually stunning. For my money though, it's still the book first. But then there's no reason why you can't do both.

American Gods is one of my favorite books @naquoya. I love the character of Wednesday as Odin. Have you read Neil Gaiman's book Anansi Boys? If not, it's well worth a read. Nice review :-)

Anansi Boys is on my list, but I have yet to get to it. Thanks for the recommendation. Perhaps I'll bump it up the list. Thanks for your comment, glad you liked the review.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 29 (1/27/18)6

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Thank you :)

I read American Gods a bazillion years ago, and adored it (as I do all things Gaiman). I started to reread it before the series aired, but after the first few chapters, I decided I'd rather look at the show with fresh-ish eyes.

I think they did a remarkable job with Shadow's journey, and I enjoyed i in the same kind of way I appreciate Stardust the movie and Stardust the book. Excellent review, by the way.

Congrats as well on the anthology inclusion - very cool!

It was similar for me also. I read it a long time back. I started to watch the series, but was thrown by some plot changes, so decided to go back and re-read the novel. Glad that I did. I may now go and finish the show.

Stardust was great also. I liked Coraline. But I need to read the rest of his work.

Thanks for your comment.

You're very welcome. And yes, you do - he has some awesome stuff. 😊

I'll get right to it :)

I just knew that this book would pique your interest, I just didn't know you haven't read it before. Had I known, I would've suggested it to you months ago! I read this back in college at the suggestion of a classmate. I really liked how they depicted the gods and how they fed off faith. The TV series has done a good job capturing its essence so far, but it has lost key figureheads, so I don't know what would become of the series.

Also, congratulations about The End of the World! See! And here you are saying you never win anything. That's a win, mate! I mean, I would never have any posts of mine picked for that, and I know that you're very deserving of the inclusion! Happy to see your talents being recognized :D

I actually first read it about ten years ago (before all the Borders books went broke). I re-read it late last year. But your suggestion would have spot on.

Yes, I saw the post about their search for stories, so I made a suggestion for them to take a look at that one, and it was approved. So technically I will be having one of my stories published this year. And thanks for the congrats. I am happy that I wasn't overlooked this time. That link above is to the post that explains how to get in touch with them if you want to suggest one of your own.

Oh I thought it was a recent thing!

Nah, thanks for the suggestion though. While it goes against my resiliency credo, I feel like none of my stories would make the cut. Besides, there are tons of other stories more deserving than any of mine. I'm just happy that yours made the cut, and I'm surprised that they didn't just make an anthology out of all your stories!

An anthology of my work is a great idea. I am hoping to do something like that this year, in ebook format. But if they (or some one else) wants to publish a hard copy version then I won't stop them :)

Using Amazon's digital-to-paperback partner feature, you can easily make that a reality everytime you publish an ebook.

I have started to look into that as a possible option to use. Thanks for the suggestion.

I've been a fan of Gaiman since his Sandman graphic novels years ago. I never got to read this book before I saw the TV series. I'd still like to read it even though I know the story now - mainly because I love Gaiman's writing.

Yes, the Sandman graphic novels are classics, and his storytelling skills have continued through to his many novels. Yes, if you have the chance, do read American Gods. There are some differences with the show, and if I am not incorrect, I think the show still has another season to be made.

Yeah just read today that there is another season of it.

The concept of gods existing because we believe in them was introduced to me by Terry Pratchett in Small Gods. It kinda makes sense. Now I need to find a copy of American Gods that runs on linux. Amazon stopped doing Kindle for linux.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Trust Terry Pratchett to be in on the concept. I will have to read Small Gods, as it's not one I have come across yet. I'm sure it's great though.

Can you ePub format on Linux?

Small Gods is one of my favourite Discworld books - one can have 41 favourites, right?

ePub is no problem. There is an excellent cross-platform ebook reader called Calibre which handles pretty much everything. It may even handle Kindle, but obtaining them without software or a device is a problem.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Hi. Gave this a High upvote, as I can tell the #BOOK is really creative ♦♦ Kudos on your explanation of it.

You give an expose of the Tenets of the book.

I like the Paragraph, "The idea of gods existing because we believe in them intrigued me from the moment I started to read this book. That they become like us, in a way, granted human form, but still different."

It'd be INTERESTING to find more details out on these Gods (& the manner in which "different" ).

Danka, Gracias --

Hello and thank you. Yes I saw your generous upvote. I do appreciate it, however, it came after the 7 day payment window so it doesn't actually count, sorry to say. But it warms my heart, none-the-less :)

The way in which these gods are different is in the power they possess. Whilst in human form, they have access to something more than human. Perhaps through the specific beliefs of their followers. They don't lead ordinary lives, they live forever (potentially), and they know things about life that mere humans do not. They exist, in part at least, in a different world to us, whilst also appearing here amongst us.

That is my take on the situation, from having read the book several times.

Neil Gaiman is one of those authors where if I see a book I don't have and I have spare money I get it XD I've got this one and thoroughly enjoyed it, might have to read it again soon :)

Congratulations on being selected for the anthology :D

goatsig

He can write some amazing tales. I've only read a few of his books, but I have so many more awaiting their turn patiently. And thank you so much :)

@naquoya this is the second time I read your work and still feels the same you took me at that exact moment and you've written the preview as it was yours. Now I'm looking into finding an e-book on this one.

Thankies

Thank you, always a pleasure to hear from you. I'm glad you liked this review, and certainly, if you can you should read the book. A fantastic journey. Or watch the show - but I prefer the book.

There's a show even? That I missed to read. Yes, been up by tons of things but I'll surely find your post and check this out. :)

Yes, they released the show last year, season 1. I believe a second season is due out to complete the story.

Really, that's interesting then. This book I'm interested. if I go on vacation, this one I should include.

Good reason to take a vacation sometime soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97