NOTES FROM AN AMATEUR WRITER #51 - Some Of The Books That I Am Reading

in #writing6 years ago

enter image description here


Notes From an Amateur Writer #51

This Blog series is an exercise in creative writing. Sometimes expressed in short story form, sometimes as a journal, or just my thoughts written down. It is a nursery of sorts for the stories that are on their way, or yet to be written.

This is post 22 in @dragosroua's January 30 day writing challenge.



Some of the Books That I am Reading

I finished last year strongly in terms of my reading commitment. I had set a challenge of 25 books for the year, and having not really started the challenge until about May, I completed the 25th book in the final week of the year. I upped the challenge to 50 for this year. Almost one book a week, which will be difficult judging by one of the current novels I am reading. However fortunately this one is the exception when it comes to length, as it is almost three novels in one, I believe. So all up so far this year I have completed three books, and am currently reading through several more.


Completed Books 2018

  • The Girl Who Played With Fire – Steig Larrson
  • The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest – Steig Larrson
  • The Courage to be Disliked – Ichiro Kishimi and Fumitake Koga

Currently Reading

  • 1Q84 – Haruki Murakami (as suggested by @dailyrunner )
  • All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr
  • A Collapse of Horses – Brian Evenson (also suggested by someone at Steemit, but I've lost the name)
  • The Novel Writing Blueprint – Jill Harris
  • The First 20 Hours – How to Learn Anything Fast – Josh Kaufman
  • The Switch – Elmore Leonard
  • The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson
  • Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell

Coming Up

  • The Writer's Guide to Beginnings – Paula Munier
  • Infinite Jest – David Foster Wallace (as suggested by @rarebooksleuth )
  • How to Write a Damn Good Thriller – James N. Frey
  • Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern
  • Reading a Writer's Mind – Exploring Short Fiction – Linda Acaster
  • Creating Imaginary Worlds – The 12 Rules – Charles Christian

There is a lot of reading on that list, with both novels and writing-skills related books in there also. I tend to go through spurts, so perhaps I will struggle at times, but mostly I think I should get through the above, plus perhaps a few new ones that I add along the way in the next few months. The one I am currently reading – 1Q84 – is the challenge, as it is a large novel. But thoroughly intriguing. I love the idea, and the further I get into the story the more I struggle to put it down. Proof to me that I am onto a winner with this one. Very happy to have received this recommendation. You can expect a book review post from me on this one (and possible all the above – at least the novels) at some point after I complete it.

The challenge for me is allocating time to write more stories. I have plenty of ideas, but so far I have been spending my writing time mostly on the posts I create here. I love to do that, so it isn't a burden, but at each step in this journey I am learning the importance of planning my time a little bit better than I used to. I don't always like to be rigidly structured, but some form of time management wouldn't hurt, especially if it means I get more time to be creative.



Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya



Links to earlier works

- Fiction

My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks

- Blog Posts

Notes #1 - #39 - Notes From An Amateur Writer Collection
Notes #40 - Read, Write, and Face the Future
Notes #41 - What Are Some Of Your Favourite Books?
Notes #42 - Website Review: Fiction University
Notes #43 - Seeking a Community Of Writers
Notes #44 - What Are Some of Your Favourite Characters?
Notes #45 - When Madness Came Knocking
Notes #46 - Why Do I Write?

-Ramble On (Humour based travel blog)

Introducing My New Travel Blog
Making a Deal With the Devil

-Poetry

My Poetry Collection



Sort:  

Wow, 50 books a year? I think i could only manage that with audible ;)

Here are some books you might like (i love every one of them):

  • Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert (i wrote about it here)
  • Creating Unforgettable Characters by Linda Seger
  • Stranger than Fiction by Chuck Palahniuk (this is NOT the movie. It is about how Palahniuk get's his ideas for stories)
  • The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner by Alan Sillitoe (short but absolutely wonderful)

Also i want to invite you to take part in the BookChain Challenge by @nobyeni, if you didn't already: start here

Well I haven't managed it yet, so i don't wish to get ahead of myself. I'm still on track , but given it is only the fourth week of the year that is not such a major achievement.

Thank you for the book suggestions. I'm going to look into these when I get the chance. As well as the BookChain Challenge, as I wasn't aware of that.

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 6 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Thank you for that. I haven't had the chance to listen to your podcast as yet, but now that I'm in it :D
I do appreciate you highlighting my work - now I'm going to take the time to listen to your hard work.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow, that is a lot of books you're reading right now! I have a few that I'm reading as well thanks to reading to my kids for their school... ;) On my own, I'm reading one! :)

It is a lot, I agree. Since taking my writing education more seriously I have launched myself into the challenge of reading as much as possible. Writing about it here helps solidify the knowledge, as well as share the challenge experience. If it was purely for reading pleasure I may tone that number down somewhat, although I do tend to be a fickle reader, and flip between several books at once.

Nice - you're putting to use what my kids do for school. It is called narration in our curriculum. They read something and then tell me about it in their own words. It helps put it firmly in their minds. :)

Yes, I suppose it really is a learning tool. I hadn't looked at it quite like that, but I like it. We should never stop learning new things.

Wow, you really put a lot of work in the reading part. I visited your posts with the fiction writing list, will look through it asap.

Thanks for your comment. It can seem like a lot of work, but I do enjoy it, so it's more like fun than work :)

1Q84 is great. But, the thing I admire most about Murakami is how he goes about his day. Such a fascinating routine he has. Wait until you get to Cloud Atlas haha! That's going to be a mammoth of a read!

The Courage to be Disliked

Also the title of my memoir haha!

As usual you seem to be one step ahead of me with regards these great books. Glad you approve though.

The Courage to be Disliked

I saw the title to that book and new I had to read it. And it would make an awesome memoir title. I can see that :)

Wow. I like to read 2 or three books at the most at one time. When and where do you usually read and through which medium, paper or digital? I'm very curious because I put aside reading for some years. I still read mostly for pleasure.

I usually read with a Kindle these days. That's how I have access to multiple books at once. This is how I have managed to up my reading rate enormously over the last 12 months.

I can be a slower reader than a lot of avid readers, so having a Kindle, and keeping it close by, has helped enormously.

Thank makes sense. Then you can read the kindle any time. I will keep that in mind. I think a time will come we can use Steem to purchase books on kindle directly.

To be able to use to Steem to make Kindle purchases would be cool. I look forward to that day.

I love this! I keep track of my reading on paper, in the back of a journal...but I like holding myself accountable on places like steemit (not a goodreads user personally!). I'm curious: when you say "currently reading", how do you divide your time? Do you just dip in and out of those books as you feel it? Or do you read a bit of each of them each day? Keep one by the bed and one by the toilet?? Personally, I never have more than three going at a time. One in audiobook format, usually one big hefty thing that's taking me around a month, and one shorter novel which I'm flying through.

I have only started using Goodreads, so I find it helpful now, but I like to keep track of my reading in other ways too. Journal, especially, with notes, ideas, etc inspired from my reading.

As for current reading, this can be broken up between a few books I read everyday, and some I read weekly. At the moment 1Q84 is taking th bulk of my reading attention, as it is a long and time consuming read. And enthralling as well. Occasionally I will dip into some of the others. My reading attention span can seem a little scattered to some, but I generally flip between books often.

I do most of my reading on a Kindle these days, due to its ease of transportation, and storage. It took me a long time to embrace this technological shift, but once i did my reading rate actually almost doubled. I think because I need to have access to multiple books at once, to satisfy my often temperamental reading moods!

Thanks for the thoughtful answer! I'm always fascinated by different people's reading habits, especially people who actually have a reading habit ;)

I have the same fascination. I try to learn what I can from other avid readers also, as there is so much about this topic I have yet to learn.

Maintaining a balance between reading, writing and steemit posting is daunting, especially when you factor in other daily chores. I have short story ideas I just can’t get to. Thankfully poetry, although still time consuming, allows me to combine writing and steemit posting.

It is daunting. You are right there. I am constantly re-evaluating the use of my spare time, of which I do have more of than in the past. That is why I have been able to write more over this past month. But to do all of that, read, and work full time, and be with friends and family - wow, now that is not easy.

It is teaching me good time management skills though. And discipline in terms of writing when I have the chance.

Night Circus is on my list. Glad you reminded me of it.

I have made a start, but need to go back and read it again. What I did read previously was brilliant. Fantastic magical story. Definite read it if you get the chance. We'll compare notes after it all :)

So many books. So little time!

A motto for life :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86