THE LIBRARY #3 (part 2 of 2) - A Curation Post for Readers and Writers

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

enter image description here



The Library - For Writers and Readers.

This is part two of this weeks edition. Part one can be found here


Welcome to the third edition of The Library. A brand new, writing focused curation post. Coming out of the ideas and discussions generated in the Seeking a Community of Writers post, I wanted to be able to pursue that idea even further. I know there are writing communities on Discord (of which I am also a member), and there are also curator blogs on Steemit. So this idea is nothing new. But I want for The Library to be a curator post focused solely upon writers, and the world of writing.

I intend to dedicate this space for other writers out there who are writing stories, blogs about writing, even blogs about books and reading. The more I explore Steemit, the more I come to realise that there is still so many bloggers out there who I have not encountered yet. People producing quality material, but not always finding the audience they deserve.

This idea is founded with those principles in mind. It's to help share the often disconnected writing worlds here at Steemit with each other, in the spirit of support and creative encouragement.

This is in no way meant to indicate the best (or worst, by omission) posts on Steemit. These are the ones that I saw - and that I liked - during the previous week, taking several factors into consideration, such as number of days since it was published, whether it is a series or not, and the overall quality of the writer's other material.

I can be contacted via DM on Discord if you see a writer who you believe needs to be brought to my attention for future editions of The Library (it may be yours, but I will give more weight to those who recommend other writers).



To start with, the writing groups on Discord that I frequent are:

- The Writer's Block - how to join. Their Steemit address is @thewritersblock
- The Isle of Write - how to join. Their Steemit address is @isleofwrite

If you know of any others then feel free to mention them in the comments section.



I love the smell of books. Am I weird? I blame authors like Michael Crichton

@karencarrens has written an engaging post about the love of books, and the lessons learned from within their pages. It is part of a series she has produced, all of which are worthy of some of your time.



enter image description here



SAYA Is Offline. (Unusual Short Story)

@ahmadmanga's story is truly inventive, taking a novel approach to storytelling in this digital age of ours. A clever short story, take a look and see what you think.



The Write Process

@jeffreymartin's latest post is an incredibly well written and diverse analysis on the varying writing processes he has learned about along his travels. Using many authors as examples to help dissect these methods, you will gain great insight in to the writer's mind, and possibly learn a new trick or two.



An Amateur's Guide To The Pulp Revolution: Or, Why You Should Devote All Your Writing Time To The Glorious Cause

@t2tang has shared a writing initiative with us here at Steemit. Called PulpRev it is a reminder to us all about what writing is really all about - entertainment. Just like in Pulp's heyday where authors churned out words in their thousands, producing stories by the dozens. The indie publishing revolution appears to be fuelled by similar concepts. Take a look and see if it is something that is of interest to you.



Introducing the Writers’ Block Book Club (TWBBookClub): Where writers read

@thewritersblock has a created a new book club. Reading the material of other author's can be a core part of a writer's training, and being able to analyse a piece of writing and learn from it is central to our on going education. Having a group to help facilitate such an idea is even more beneficial. I personally think this idea is welcome addition to the writing scene here at Steemit.



enter image description here



Archie's Little Golden Orb

@therealpaul story is a delightful tale of magic and mystique, detailing the interaction between Archie and a Golden Orb he encounters.



Want to be a Successful Author? Burn Any Rule Book You Find

@winstonalden has written a great post of interest to many budding authors who are struggling to understand the publishing landscape in today's day and age. The rules have all changed. They no longer apply the way they once did. The publishing industry has gone through upheavals, and the writing world is filling up with emerging authors in record numbers. So what is one to do? Take a read, and see if any ideas emerge.



Conversations with Authors - Yahia Lababidi

@isleofwrite has published an interview with the poet @yahialababidi. Read through it to see why this is a big deal for our fledgling writer's community here at Steemit. Having had the pleasure of a few brief interactions with Yahia, I am intrigued with the beauty and quality of his writing and depth of his knowledge. I personally am looking forward to delving deeper into his own material, both here at Steemit and published material.

enter image description here



*Thank you for reading the second part of this bumper edition of The Library. Please feel free to leave comments, suggestions, ideas, etc.

As always, I appreciate your time and attention, and hope you enjoyed your library visit.*


PART 1


Images sources from unsplash.com and used with permission.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya



Links to earlier works
Who is Naquoya

- Fiction
My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks
Reality Fading

- Blog Posts

-Notes From an Amateur Writer
Notes #49 - Conversation With My Multiple Selves
Notes #50 - Revisiting Childhood With Storm Boy and Mr Percival
Notes #51 - Some Of The Books That I Am Reading

-Ramble On (Humour based fictional travel blog)
#1 - Introducing My New Travel Blog
#2 - Making a Deal With the Devil
#3 - Getting Arrested, For Resisting Arrest

Book Reviews
Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larrson
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K. Dick
American Gods - Neil Gaiman
Fight Club - Chuck Palahniuk
Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian



Sort:  

This is such a good initiative and you have provided me with a lot of food for thought- just don't know where to begin from.

Food for thought is a good thing, in my book. As for where to begin, that much is up to you. Or are you referring to something else? A mystery for me to solve? Thanks for dropping by :)

Hahaha no I just wanted you to give me a suggestion on which article to begin reading first. Wanted to find out your favorite haha jk ;)

No favourites from me :)
Although The Write Process grabbed me, as an author.

I still didn't get the answer why it had two parts, but it's great that @therealpaul made the list! Finally a Library entrant I've read haha!

I answered in the first section. And yes his was a great story, happy to include it.

@naquoya? I realized today that I hadn't seen a post from you for a while. This seems to be your most recent.... everything okay?

Thank you for your concern. It's been a rough week - physically, mentally. I'm planing on being back posting tomorrow. I have been focusing on writing (I have a new story 3 chapters down, more on the way), and reading - so more book reviews to come.

Glad you’re okay! Thinking of you.

This is some really great curation work.

Maybe I should come up with a more eloquent compliment, but I think that "great" speaks for itself!

💙

Great is an eloquent enough compliment for me :) And gratefully received. Glad that you liked it.

It always makes me happy to see any initiative that's about highlighting writing and writers; I personally stay within the realm of non-fiction, but I am an avid reader of pretty much all genres and most of the people I actively follow on Steemit are fellow writer/bloggers.

Thanks for your visit. I have noticed the growth of the writing community here at Steemit, and also that not all of it gets the attention it often deserves. As I am an avid reader and see so many posts I figured it was a good way to contribute. I hope to be able to include non-fiction material also when applicable. and there was actually one in the first part of this weeks post.

I think it takes a while for people to figure out how they are going to "approach" Steemit. In the beginning, everything is all "new and shiny" and many are too excited about getting rewards to have a specific direction.

I came here as a 20-year blogger, loosely hopeful that I could find a home to return to one of my favorite writing genres: Random commentary on psychology and the human condition; and a return to what we used to call social blogging. At first I thought Steemit might find me a little too "soft science," but I've found a fit and a following.

Yes, it took me a while also. I remember the feeling in those early days. But now mostly focused on creative writing. I have seen your name over my journey but don't know that I have had much chance to explore your work. But I'm glad you told me about what you do here - now I have a new (to me) blog to explore :)

Thanks for mentioning me here.

I checked some posts from here and liked @winstonalden's Bun Any Rule Book You Find.

Glad to hear you found something of interest to you. Thanks for letting me know :)

Is this for short stories only or for a series too? because i am writing "The passage of pages", which is a open end story

I have included a few series so far. Even if it's not the first one I see, others can follow up they like what they read. I'll keep an eye out for it when its ready.

What a great post @naquoya! I love finding new like-minded Steemian to follow! And, thank you so much for the mention... I'm honored.

Thank you very much for featuring my article on the PulpRev! A minor correction - the initiative is most definitely not mine. If anything, I'm one of the newer members. Still, the attention is very much appreciated. :)

Thank you for the correction. I have made a slight adjustment to the wording.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01