The Emperor's Liar (Excerpt)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Planet_Scumm_Cover_Final-rgb-700x850.png

As of today, I am a published SFF author. My story The Emperor's Liar appears in the latest issue of Planet Scumm!

Want a taste?

His drink was almost gone when delicate hands alighted on his shoulders. “Here you are,” trilled a voice like warm honey, and soft lips nibbled his earlobe. A gorgeous platinum blonde in a black nanodress flowed past to find a seat opposite him at the table. She was accompanied by two scantily-clad women, one a local Rift girl, and the other a Midworlder, judging by her functional cat ears and tail. These companions settled in close beside her. Almost in unison, they gasped. The blonde’s silver eyes twinkled mischievously, and Cutshanks noticed that her hands were nowhere in sight. They were unquestionably highly skilled.

Another observer might mistake Cutshanks’ guest for a Freya-class professional dominatrix, but he knew different. This creature was an ancient entity, a shape-shifting posthuman who’d been many things—scientist, explorer, mass murderer, and once, under the style Jørgen Pangloss, the Emperor of the Galaxy. Conveniently for him–the Emperor was usually male–he was universally believed to be dead. Again, Cutshanks knew different. “Nice meat suit, boss,” he said. “I like it better than your ordinary one. Easier on the eyes.”

Still hungry? I hope so! The rest is available only from Planet Scumm!

Sort:  

Congratulations on your achievement. I mentioned this post and its follow up in this week edition of The Library

Thank you very much! I hope for many more like it!

I wish you the best of luck :)

Congratulations @jeffstoner!
I just found your blog and started reading. Immediately felt at home!

Thank you very much! I'm happy that my howling madness is comforting to some. ;-)

not enough howling madness on this planet, in my humble opinion ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71