My Advent Calendar – 20 Dec – Stop hurrying about, breathe and take a moment to review

in #christmas6 years ago

Workwise, things are winding down. Tomorrow will be my last trip into town (ie the central city) till the new year, so an opportunity for some last minute errands.

Today’s Xmas activity was to sit down quietly with a pad and a pen and review where things are at.

• What Xmas tasks still need to be done?
• What gifts need to be bought?
• Any more e-cards I need to send?
• What food prep still needs to happen?
• What groceries still need to be bought?
• When will I do each of these things?

Now I have a list, and a plan for the next few days. And a shopping list to take to town tomorrow.

What about you guys? How are your plans coming along?

breathe.jpg

I can’t help with what you have to do, but if you’re still stressing about what to cook, I always have ideas up my sleeve. Sometimes too many. Remember how I was toying with the idea of turkey patties for Xmas Day with Mama Frot? My mind kept tossing up a new idea, and before too long I had a list of possibilities written in my kitchen journal.

• Turkey patties with cranberry sauce on the side
• Turkey patties with cranberries inside
• Turkey meatloaf with cranberry sauce
• Turkey meatloaf stuffed with cranberry sauce
• A roulade, with, you guessed it, turkey, mozzarella and cranberry sauce inside
• Little pies with an almond cheese crust, turkey mince inside and of course, cranberry sauce on top
• A pizza with … oh by now you know what would be on top – or maybe it would be a meatza with turkey as the crust

You’re starting to get a glimpse into the sad anal, workings of my mind. Frot is my polar opposite, which is sometimes a good thing and sometimes not so much.

But my final decision is little mini meatloafs, cooked in my new star shaped silicon molds, with keto cranberry sauce on the side. Yes, it can be made keto, or so I’m told. Anyway, that’s enough about that for now – but a trial run is in order, so you’ll see how it turned out in a couple of days time.

What other ideas do I have for you? OK, we already did Xmas morning possibilities here. You probably have the main meal already organised. So let’s recap some of my recent and not-so-recent recipes for before and afters.

cheese-stars8.jpg

If you want to avoid chippies (crisps) or wheat based crackers, my almond based cheesy Xmas stars make a nice alternative. I like them with pâté, and they also go well with hummus, guacamole or a sour cream or feta dip.

I also posted a while back about some finger food I put together for a family gathering. Check it out, it may give you some ideas.

Spiced nuts are another healthier option – I posted those here

This time last year, I was trialling a low carb cream cheese cookie. It was nice, but now that I’ve discovered lakanto, I would use that as a sweetener instead.

I’ve recently posted my easy Xmas cake, and keto brownies and yesterday was all about the gingerbread.

chocs.jpg

Or try something from my range of homemade chocolates and fudges made from creamed coconut.

Ok, that’s me for the day

But if there is a particular favourite that you want to swap to low carb, low sugar or whatever you need, feel free to ask below, in case I’ve already had a crack at it.

See you tomorrow!

Advent-Calendar-Day20.jpg

Day 1 – Carol singing with the NZ Symphony Orchestra
Day 2 – Kilbirnie Santa Parade
Day 3 – Posting overseas Xmas cards & a Xmas themed exercise class
Day 4 – Last minute book buying
Day 5 – Last choir rehearsal for the year
Day 6 – Choosing gifts for the Xmas game
Day 7 – Xmas lunch with my exercise class
Day 8 – Xmas spiced nuts
Day 9 – Xmas tree time
Day 10 – Last arthritis class for the year, and a sugar free brownie recipe
Day 11 – A choir performance
Day 12 – Taking marinated chicken wings to the choir Xmas party
Day 13 – The NZ local xmas cards & some e-cards
Day 14 – Planning the Xmas menus and best dessert ever
Day 15 – Making gluten & sugar free Xmas cakes
Day 16 – Xmas dinner with the Possums
Day 17 – Cranberry smoothie & other nourishing Festive breakfasts
Day 18 – Green Eggs & Ham
Day 19 – Gingerbread men

Thanks for reading

Top image from Pixabay (before the text). Other photos by me.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

LOL - and I just stuff my face with all these treats while I'm doing pictures and reading about conspiracies.

How about smoked chicken with fish?

I think I'd rather have gingerbread.

Pants on fire! - you live on chicken and fish!

Not mixed together and smoked though!

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Oh! You are just brilliant... Although I was looking forward to Turkey meatloaf with cranberry sauce but little mini meatloafs will do for today!
I guess they will sure miss you at the supermarket/mall/store...
Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year to you and the family!

And you have a lovely festive season too. :-)

'Sometimes not so much' haha!

Have you bookmarked all of your posts? That's the only way I can get to any of mine from before nine months ago in seems. The creamed coconut tip in your fudge is a perfect one for me right now, as I've been trying to find ways to cut a lot of sugar out :)

Oops, I might be a bit behind if we can only get to 9 months worth. I had all of my links in a Word doc, sorted by category, at least up to the end of last year. But I might not have much of this year's done. Though I do them in word first, so I can always google anything that's missing.

All of my recent posts that are keto friendly are low sugar. The gingerbread recipe came out really nice and is very high in good fats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85