My Advent Calendar – 9 Dec – Xmas tree time

in #christmas6 years ago

Today we put up our Xmas tree and decorations. Come take a walk with me and see what we’ve done.

decorations0.jpg

Here’s our front door. Not just the front door to our house, but also to our business, hence the business cards and brochures on display. This is how it will look during the day. The little gold sleigh you might spot on the other side of the window will have some colourful chocolates in it within the next day or two.

decorations1.jpg

At night, the porch becomes more like a fairy grotto, with flashing coloured lights all around the walls. We often have people coming up to the house in the evening, as we’re a drop off point for raw milk and organic veges. So it’s nice to have it festive.

decorations2.jpg

We don’t have a lot of decorations in our hallway. There is the little sleigh on the window sill and once we have some more Xmas cards, they will be hanging on a string along one wall. But this picture painted by my dad gets some tinsel.

decorations3.jpg

Come on into the lounge. Our tree is probably the opposite end of the spectrum from @dreemit’s gorgeous traditional tree. It’s a small fibre optic tree which we just put together and plug in. There are no presents under it yet – I might start wrapping next weekend. Here’s a photo of it before it was turned on.

decorations4.jpg

And here it is in daylight with the lights on, and turning around.

decorations5.jpg

And here it is in the dark.

decorations6.jpg

My favourite Xmas owl is nearby.

decorations7.jpg

Come upstairs with me. The CD shelf at the top of the stairs has some little stockings decorating it.

decorations8.jpg

And I like to stick these festive miniature cards on the front of our printer.

decorations9.jpg

So that’s it – our decorations up for the next few weeks. We’re possibly a bit minimalist, but apart from the porch, nobody except ourselves will see most of it.

Day 1 – Carol singing with the NZ Symphony Orchestra
Day 2 – Kilbirnie Santa Parade
Day 3 – Posting overseas Xmas cards & a Xmas themed exercise class
Day 4 – Last minute book buying
Day 5 – Last choir rehearsal for the year
Day 6 – Choosing gifts for the Xmas game
Day 7 – Xmas lunch with my exercise class
Day 8 – Xmas spiced nuts

Stay tuned for tomorrow’s Xmas activity, and I might post that keto brownie recipe too…

Thanks for reading

Photos by me.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

That owl is precious. I haven’t gotten into putting much cheery things up for Christmas yet. Seeing all the colourful lights is what I like for decoration. That is a massive CD collection. 😊 🎅

Yes, I'm very fond of a colourful light or two as well. Well, a colourful anything really.

Have to give you credit for getting in the spirit. :--)

I'm not sure if I'm being spirited, or obsessive. By the 24th, you'll all be glad to see the back of my Xmas posts.

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

And now I know why you were rushing around taking photos of everything !

I'm looking forward to your Xmas recipes...

I believe you've already eaten all the brownies, before I've even got the recipe posted...

You make me sound like a pig!

I'm most impressed by the massive CD collection lol

We're old school, not from the digital generation ;-)

Well, cd's are sort of digital aren't they? lol :P ;)

Maybe digital isn't quite the right word, but I can't think for the moment what it would be.

You are being the early bird. 25 less 12 days = 13 th December.
Which of course means overtime

Mmm, overtime, that's always a bonus. Well, paid overtime, anyway. Yes, I did the sums and knew I was early, but next weekend would be late...

You are allowed to post through the week you know.

But we might not have time to put it up during the week...

You have to be dedicated you know, none this simple 60 hour weeks.

get your nose to the drive stone and di 18 hours a day, 8 days a week.

then you have the necessary time

Don't tell me, when you were young, you "used t' live int shoe box, int middle of road".

Always a classic

Congratulations @kiwideb! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52