My Advent Calendar – 18 Dec – Green Eggs & Ham

in #christmas5 years ago (edited)

I mentioned a couple of days ago that I was planning to make avocado stuffed eggs for our Boxing Day feast. @andysantics48 will be adding some sliced ham rollups to the platter, and my brother has some tomatoes growing, so it be a Green Eggs & Ham platter. Since I’ve never attempted such a thing before, a trial run was in order.

green-eggs0.jpg

I went online and compared a few avocado stuffed egg recipes. They were all a bit different, and I decided on the ingredients I wanted in mine. They were:

• A dozen eggs
• 2 avocados
• 2 Tablespoons of lemon juice
• ¼ tsp sea salt
• 2 Tablespoons finely diced red onion

For the trial run, I just made a half mix.

First things was to hard boil the eggs. Everybody had a different method, so I just stuck with my own tried and true method, which was different to everybody else. I put my eggs in a pan, run the tap water till it’s hot and add enough to cover the eggs. Onto an element on high, and when it comes to the boil, turn it down to medium and start the timer. After 8 minutes I poured off the hot water, and covered them with cold, and left them to sit for a few minutes.

Next – peeling them. I’ve found this tip really helpful. Tap the eggs against the bench, all over the shell, then roll each one between your palms. The shells come off quite easily.

All the ingredients are ready to go now.

green-eggs1.jpg

You will notice the yolks are very orange, which is great for nutrition, but maybe not so much for the aesthetics of the finished product, as you will see soon. Next time, I think I’ll cook them an extra minute, and they might be slightly lighter better cooked.

Into my mini food processor went the egg yolks, first ½ of the avocado, the onion, lemon juice and salt. I wasn’t sure if I’d need the whole avo, but once it was all pulverised, I could see I did and the other half went in.

green-eggs2.jpg

By this time it was after 8pm, and we hadn’t had dinner, so I hurried the last step somewhat, and just slopped the mix into the half eggs with a teaspoon. So they look less than picture perfect. And you can see that because of the bright yolks, the colour is less green and more khaki. But I was really happy with the flavour, and they got the @frot tick of approval too.

green-eggs3.jpg

As I looked at them, I was reminded of those pictures you sometimes see around of beautiful birthday cakes from a recipe site, vs the dog’s breakfast some less-than-ept home cook made. So I had to do a comparison pic for you of one of the original recipes I consulted vs my very rough output.

green-eggs4.jpg
The beautiful picture came from here

I will do better on Boxing Day though. I’ll put the mix in a plastic bag and cut the tip off a corner, and pipe the mix in more neatly. I have to confess to never having done that before either. But how hard can it be?

And I’ll jazz it up with some finely chopped herbs, or maybe a few fine slices of red capsicum. If the worse comes to worst and they look like shit, and nobody else will touch them, that just means more for me, @frot, and @andysantics48!

What dogs breakfast will I present tomorrow for your entertainment?

Advent-Calendar-Day18.jpg

Day 1 – Carol singing with the NZ Symphony Orchestra
Day 2 – Kilbirnie Santa Parade
Day 3 – Posting overseas Xmas cards & a Xmas themed exercise class
Day 4 – Last minute book buying
Day 5 – Last choir rehearsal for the year
Day 6 – Choosing gifts for the Xmas game
Day 7 – Xmas lunch with my exercise class
Day 8 – Xmas spiced nuts
Day 9 – Xmas tree time
Day 10 – Last arthritis class for the year, and a sugar free brownie recipe
Day 11 – A choir performance
Day 12 – Taking marinated chicken wings to the choir Xmas party
Day 13 – The NZ local xmas cards & some e-cards
Day 14 – Planning the Xmas menus and best dessert ever
Day 15 – Making gluten & sugar free Xmas cakes
Day 16 – Xmas dinner with the Possums
Day 17 – Cranberry smoothie & other nourishing Festive breakfasts

Thanks for reading

Before I completely Photoshopped it, the top pic was from Pixabay. Unless otherwise stated, other photos by me.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

I could go for a couple of those Deb. 🥚 😊

Feel free to come help yourself ;-)

Blimey - I hope that plastic bag works for ya lol

Do they really look that bad? You don't have an icing piping set by any chance, do you?

I do have one actually - brand new still in the box and never used lol - i shall be using the plastic bag method to fill the brandy snaps :)

Wouldn't the brand new, never been used piping set be easier for the brandy snaps?

Nah coz its hard plastic and the plastic bag is flexible and can get in better
well thats my best guess anyway

Oh hard plastic. I was envisaging soft plastic, more like the plastic bag, but with a more sturdy nozzle that would get in better.

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

They lol fine to me, i would def have a couple :)

You, me and Andy would be loading up our plates!

I think the 3 of us could clean that plate lol

This looks so nutritious and yummy! Still doing a great job with your cooking... regards!
Don't beat yourself about the appearance, I learnt those advertiser do a lot behind the scene to get those perfect pictures!

Thanks. Don't worry, I'm not really beating up on myself, more amused by mine looking a bit rough.

Finished product Looks Beautiful.. I love eggs and avocado.

Funnily enough, I don't actually like avocado. There are only two ways I can eat it. One is mushed up with soft boiled eggs, butter and salt, which is yummy and these are just a more fancy version of that. And the other is made into a chocolate pudding.

They look so good and will go down well
But of course I will have the story green eggs and ham in my head all day it’s a story I loved reading to the kids and grandchildren

Yeah, I've been popping up all evening saying those two lines...

Lol glad it’s not just me that it comes out with
Lol 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55