My Advent Calendar – 4 Dec – Last minute book bargains

in #christmas6 years ago

Hmm, still a few Christmas presents that need to be bought. Is there anything for us (or you) in the Book Depository 15% off specials bin?

books.jpg

I believe there is something important that children get from reading real books, that’s different from digital ones. So I like giving books as gifts to the children in the family. Out of our eight nieces and nephews, only one is still at school, and I’m sure she’d prefer to choose her own books now. But luckily @andysantics48 has three grandchildren for me to have fun choosing books for.

I already have a selection on its way to me from Book Depository UK

For her 8 year old grandson, I chose:

The Incredible Adventures of Professor Branestawm, by Norman Hunter
• and The 65-Storey Treehouse, by Andy Griffiths

cave-baby.jpg

Her granddaughter will be 3 on the 1st January, so I picked four books to cover both occasions:

Cave Baby, by Julia Donaldson
Runaway Tractor, by S. Cartwright
The Hungry Donkey, by Heather Amery
Come on, Baby Duck!, by Nick Ward

Her youngest grandchild will only be 4 months old at Xmas, but I was not deterred. I managed to find a Baby Touch: Snuggle Cloth Book

Just as well I did my shopping early, as some of them are now unavailable!

Tomorrow is the last day for ordering to get books before Xmas

So when an email arrived this morning with some last minute 15% off bargains, I had to check them out, didn’t I? Here’s the link, if you want to check them out, too.

art-of-happiness.jpg

There was a lot of interesting looking stuff, including lots more kids books. But a handful particularly caught my eye. Maybe not suitable for anyone I still have to buy for, but all seemed worthy of a mention:

The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k : The bestselling book everyone is talking about, by Sarah Knight – I think there are a lot of people now who would be a lot happier for not giving a f**k
Chocolate, Chocolate, Chocolate, by Jean-Pierre Wybauw – what chocoholic could resist this?
The Art of Happiness - 10th Anniversary Edition, by Dalai Lama XIV and Howard C. Cutler – words of wisdom from Mr Serenity himself
Raising Boys in the 21st Century, by Steve Biddulph – I’ve heard good things about this one

Advent-Calendar-Day4.jpg

Day 1 – Carol singing with the NZ Symphony Orchestra
Day 2 – Kilbirnie Santa Parade
Day 3 – Posting overseas Xmas cards & a Xmas themed exercise class

What will I get up to on Day 5?

Thanks for reading and listening

Top photo from Pixabay, others from Amazon.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

You're the best :) books are awesome!!!

I know, right? I do love my tablet, but there is still nothing like holding a real book.

Good job giving the kids books. Can't learn unless you read and starting them early to enjoy it is a very worthwhile endeavor.

Never too young to learn to love reading, I reckon.

A great idea to gift books as Christmas presents for the younger ones. A lot of people like to hold a physical book in their hand rather than a digital one. 📖

It took me a long time before I could get as engrossed in a book on my tablet as much as a physical book. But I still love a real book best.


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

But kids want video games :)

There's what they want, and then there's what they need ;-)

I totally agree about kids having real books- I've been going a bit book crazy for Nora Bell haha, and her second birthday is coming up, more opportunities :)

Oh my gosh, is it her second birthday already? Yay, more buying fun.

It is! Actually, check out my facebook- not the top thing which is my friend picking on my driving LOL, but right under that I shared a video my bro posted of her doing her 'baby c's' hee, it's so cute, she's so freaking smart!

Heading over there now...

Hahaha, I love her 'lmno'!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44